We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I visited L'Elephant at the end of October and found the food of a high standard though nothing to rave about. What rankled though was the restaurant's interpretation of what a glass means. We decided on a four glass pichet which turned out to be an earthenware jug not a glass carafe as we had experienced at other French restaurants in Lao. I thought what the waiter poured was a 'tasting' but it turned out to be their idea of a glass. At the price charged it was a very expensive mistake. Buying by the bottle is by far the better choice but be prepared to pay premium prices for so so South American wines.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldhand1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    411
    148
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“pretentious and overrated”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Arrogant service - that's saying something for Laos - and overpriced. Meowing cat on the patio, for me not a sign of a clean place. Don't waste your time OR money. So many more deserving restaurants in LP

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best French meal and service”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My travel companion wasn't feeling well so I ended up going to L'Elephant alone. This was unpretentious fine dining at its best. My waiter spoke amazing English and explained the menu beautifully. I kept it really simple with a bottle of San Pellegrino, fresh green salad, and the best cooked duck breast I have ever had. It was the most expensive meal I had in Luang Prabang but it was worth the whole $25 spent. Highly recommend you treat yourself to an amazing dinner at L'Elephant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very switched on place to eat with plants of choice”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place has got the more upmarket tourist trade and caters very well for it. The service is incredibly slick for Laos and food comes swiftly and efficiently. It's in a side street so hasn't got a lot of noise and pollution unlike some other places. Eating outside on the terrace has a bit more of an ambience than indoors . The food was plentiful and good quality. We had the lamb shank which was as good as anything you'd get in the uk, and local fish which was delicious... Good for when you've had enough of Lao sticky rice and spicy dips!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This restaurant had been recommended by friends of ours who were in Luang Prabang the week before we were. They are foodies so they always have great recommendations and this was another one of them! We had a wonderful evening. We made a reservation which was a good thing because I saw other people who tried to drop-in and the restaurant was full. We had a delicious dinner and the staff was wonderful. I ordered the mushroom soup and the duck. Both were excellent. If we were fortunate enough to return to Luang Prabang, this would be my first stop!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing