We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice change of pace in Luang Prabang”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 202 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace in Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were in Luang Prabang for 5 days and our 4th night we went here. It was a great change of pace and a tasty meal.
I am all for eating locally, but sometimes, it is nice to have something "else"
We were a large group, and the servers checked back a couple of time to make sure our orders were accurate, which I appreciate!
We had a set menu. My chicken was a bit dry, but the pork and fish that i tasted were yummy. The wine list was ok...also nice b/c much of the week we had some pretty bad wine.

I would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notsochubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    405
    147
    43
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really enjoyed coming to the Elephant restaurant. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was very good Laotian dishes. There was a good wine selection as well. I had been there once before and remembered it immediately upon entering the restaurant. It is one not to forget. During the season reservations are a must!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I visited L'Elephant at the end of October and found the food of a high standard though nothing to rave about. What rankled though was the restaurant's interpretation of what a glass means. We decided on a four glass pichet which turned out to be an earthenware jug not a glass carafe as we had experienced at other French restaurants in Lao. I thought what the waiter poured was a 'tasting' but it turned out to be their idea of a glass. At the price charged it was a very expensive mistake. Buying by the bottle is by far the better choice but be prepared to pay premium prices for so so South American wines.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldhand1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“pretentious and overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Arrogant service - that's saying something for Laos - and overpriced. Meowing cat on the patio, for me not a sign of a clean place. Don't waste your time OR money. So many more deserving restaurants in LP

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best French meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My travel companion wasn't feeling well so I ended up going to L'Elephant alone. This was unpretentious fine dining at its best. My waiter spoke amazing English and explained the menu beautifully. I kept it really simple with a bottle of San Pellegrino, fresh green salad, and the best cooked duck breast I have ever had. It was the most expensive meal I had in Luang Prabang but it was worth the whole $25 spent. Highly recommend you treat yourself to an amazing dinner at L'Elephant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing