We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, service and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Laodeum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Laodeum
Ranked #86 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have stayed at Villa Laodeum for total of 7 nights, 6 in a row and then one more after a trip top Nong Khiaw. From the beginning the host was extra friendly and we had a very nice welcome to the villa. The location can not be better, one block away from the night market, 15 meters from the wall of the Royal Palace and within 5 minute walk to many restaurants, bars and cafes. The key is that it super close yet on a very quiet street. It is worth mentioning its at the end of the Monk walk, so it's very easy to arrange for alms and the host keeps a spot for you. The room itself is small but big enough for for two of us, our backpacks. The bed is comfortable, shower and bathroom very clean. The one complaint would be lack of a shower curtain but that seems to happen in quite a few places in Lao. The ham sandwich for breakfast is to die for!! One episode has made us love the place even more - our host and his wife+sun (who live at the villa as well so are super accessible) one day took us to hang out with their friends and other locals to the other side of the Mekong river, where we had beers, played cards and bocce. Super fun trip! I would highly recommend asking about it. I think for the price its a great value due to location, comfort and friendliness of the host!

Room Tip: Second floor probably better to have a bit less noise from generator next door, but not a major issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziowczarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    40
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
41
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed at the villa laodeum in december. The location can't be beat, its close to everything. Service was excellent, always drinks, hot tea ready for us when we got back. We even got a new years dinner! Request a room upstairs. Matresses need replacing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K00my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This guesthouse is in the best location - the monks walk right in front in the morning, 100m from the night market, next to the museum and the temples.

See my details:http://jerry-low.blogspot.com/2011/12/my-5-days-in-laos-vientiane-vang-vieng.html

Room Tip: See if you can a room with the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrylowyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Don't judge this hotel on the size of the rooms. Whilst they are small, they are clean and comfortable and, after all, what is your hotel but a place to sleep and shower.
The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, located as it is on a street between Phu Si and the Mekong, right next door to the Old Palace (Museum).
The staff are fabulous and do their all to ensure all of your needs are met.
This is the ideal spot for those wishing to view the Monks Alms Procession as they pass right by the door of the hotel. When watching the procession, please remain respectful of the Monks and those giving alms. For an unobstructed and unobtrusive viewing spot, walk a few steps from the hotel and sit on the steps of the small laundry just down the hill. If you want to participate in alms giving, ask the chap on the desk at nights. He can arrange you some good quality sticky rice and give you tips on the appropriate way to participate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaggAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The staff were so lovely like the majority of lao people, the breakfast was ok, but it could be better, the room was very clean, not much space though, a king size bed , tv, the bathroom was also ok, but I didn't like the shower, my single-bed room costed 35 USD...with lao standards it was a bit high, i mean i think i could find somewhere much cheaper than this hotel with the same quality, any way, the location of the hotel was perfect, next door to Blue lagoon restaurant and very close to night market, and one more thing i enjoyed very much was the Free Wifi in rainy nights of luang prabang, when you can't do anything else...ahhhhh, and also it's a perfect place to see the alm procession eraly in the morning from the terrace of the hotel....in general it is recommended, but maybe it's better to bargain when you arrive there!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Thanks to previous positive TA reviews I booked to stay here - and I'd especially like to thank the reviewer who recommended asking for a top floor room as the floors are all polished teak and if a light sleeper this could be a problem.
I stayed in room 8 which was cosy and spotlessly clean - about the only draw back was the views of not very much, but this is the case in many of the small guesthouses and didnt really matter as beautiful LP was just out the door!
Service was very friendly and manager Sayvahn would especially like to praise for his help in organising trips and making our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room if your a light sleeper as the wooden (teak) floors could diturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2K11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We pre-booked a room which was very small. I felt lying on bare springs on the mattress in our room and asked it to be changed, which was just slightly better than before. Apart from that, the excellent location, good selection of breakfast, quiet and clean.

The worst thing was that tak-bat. On arrival, the young staff suggested us to participate in tak-bat on the next morning because it was full moon day. We misunderstood tak-bat takes place only full moons and thought we were lucky, so we asked him to prepare some offerings. 3 packages of rice crackers, 2 of small sweet cakes and a full of rice in a basket were waiting for us on the next morning and we ended up paying 200,000 kip! for that. Yes, it's our fault not asking the cost beforehand and not knowing it's not a tourist attraction.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H3DMSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#35 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salakphet Guesthouse
Salakphet Guesthouse
#71 of 135 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#30 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Saykham
Villa Saykham
#12 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#17 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laodeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laodeum

Property: Villa Laodeum
Address: Ban Choumkhong, Ounheuan Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Laodeum 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Laodeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing