We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Welcome Haven”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was an amazing experience to stay in this wonderful boutique hotel with the best staff I have ever seen in over 30 years of regular travelling on both business and holidays. The rooms were very clean and functional with great bathrooms and the most comfortable beds. The location was perfect and the cafe accross the road where they serve breakfast gave a lovely view where the two rivers meet. They organised all our travel requirements and even prepared packed lunches for us. Luang Prabang has so much to offer with its beautiful buildings, great restaurants and cafes and shopping for local treasures. Urban and Jean Paul should be very proud of all their staff and this amazing hotel. It would be hard to single out any staff member as they were all fantastic, but I really appreciated to extra service given by Noy in ensuring we had English speaking guides and boatman as well as organising our food for the day trips. I have stayed in most of the 5 star chain hotels as well as Banyan Trees and other superior class hotels throughout Asia, America and Europe but they all can "take a leaf" out of the amazing staff at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. A wonderful experience and it will be so easy to come back to this hotel and unique town of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites were large and very comfortable but the standard rooms offer the same great qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    114
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
426
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was my first visit to Luang Prabang and from the moment I stepped into the Mekong Riverview it was a great experience. Great location, room very clean, no added extra charge for soft drinks in the minibar, afternoon tea in lobby and welcoming drinks with owner Urban.

All suggestions that they offered regarding sight seeing and restaurant's proved to be good and easily accessible from the Riverview if not just hop into the golf buggy and you will be dropped exactly where you would like to go.

Urban has done a wonderful job in selecting his staff - I'm sure that his is very proud of them and they should be very proud of themselves.

I will be highly recommend the Mekong Riverview to anyone that will listen.

Room Tip: If I wanted to be picky the beds were a little soft for my liking and if you do not like footsteps o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Undoubtedly the best hotel location in LP (we dropped by several other high end properties on our bike cruises around LP), but that was only part of it. We just stayed for 4 days and it is probably the best run bed & breakfast type hotel we've stayed at. Attention to every detail (complimentary bikes parked outside, coffee/tea all day, prompt pick up and drop off at the airport - no waiting), great staff, amazing breakfast at their own breakfast pavillion overlooking the rivers. Just a great stay all around and worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

From the minute we arrived and were invited to sit down on the porch with Urban the owner our stay here was flawless. The room was spacious, spotless and yes those Swedish beds are worth every cent. Urban gave us a great map and we followed a number of his suggestions for excursions and restaurants and they were all excellent.

I particularly like the way in which Urban gets all his guests together for an evening glass of wine every couple of days so they can meet and mingle. We used these opportuntiies to link up with others for a couple of day trips which added to our enjoyment of Luang Prabang.

From the thoughtful toiletry selection to the top notch service from all the staff I can truly say that this is one hotel that lives up to its reputation. We stayed for 4 nights but could have happily stayed on for another week.

Room Tip: We were at the top of the path to the back of the Xiang Xeng monastary and had a lovely wrap around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitnat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Urban is a perfect host and one feels like a privileged guest. The setting is lovely and once you have accustomed yourself to the most unusual Swedish beds, the sleep quality is excellent. lovely quiet rooms, except perhaps for the slightly creaking teakwood floors... very clean, lovely smiling and efficient staff. Breakfast is taken on a new terrace overlooking the two rivers and the quality is second to none. When informed that Fairtrade jams were available from Laos, the owner specially sought them out in a local 'epicerie'. The internet was rather slow and intermittent but this is currently being upgraded. We particularly appreciated the free bikes, free transportation to the town centre, mariyaafternoon tea and cakes and the offer of a DVD player. If only all hotels lived up to expectations as this one! Nothing is too much trouble and one has the impression that you are not really in a hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

would highly recommend this place, the rooms were clean and had a great view of the mekong, staff were fabulous and the breakfast spot is so pretty. Highly recommend it to people who want something a little luxurious with a great view and easy walk/ride into the main street.
AND... soft beds, not like other hotels and guesthouses!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level (only two levels), it has the best view and more privacy when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie_zed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Free wine reception, free afternoon cakes, free bicycles, great breakfast, great views, great staff...my girlfriend loved this hotel.

Breakfast was very good and we particularly enjoyed the vanilla pancakes and the french style bread. It was also great to finally get some muesli. We would have wished that they had gone one step further and prepared bircher muesli. In the afternoon you can also grab a slice of delicious (and free) cake that is available at reception. The hotel does not yet have it's own restaurant but we hear that they will soon have one. Nonetheless...they still offered an in-room food service.

Our room was spacious and we enjoyed spending some lazy hours sitting in our own veranda drinking tea. The bed was a bit too soft for our taste and it was one of those beds that you can adjust the position with a remote control...but if that is your thing you will love it.

The internet connection was intermittent in the room, then again, you are in the middle of Loas.

There was a good sized safe in the room and we also made use of the laundry service which was good.

The staff were great. They were very friendly and helped us organize a couple of tours. They also had some good recommendations for places to eat (Blue Lagoon was our favourite) and visit in town.

The hotel will drop you off to your restaurant/attraction off choice in their own golf-cart. We used their free bicycles a lot! Luang Prabang is a safe place to cycle and park your bicycle.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which we enjoyed but maybe try the rooms on the next floor (top floor) fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing