We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Was attracted to this property thru Trip Advisor so when we decided to visit Luang Prabang this was the place to stay, one of the best decisions made. Stayed for 4 nights in a lovely upstairs Junior Suite (room 29). Just great, all timber, the best bed, nice bathroom with 3ply loo paper and urinal as well as conventional toilet, and a balcony with comfy furniture to watch the river drift by. Combine that with a great selection of staff both reception, waiting, kitchen and cleaning and complimentary champers on Xmas Eve and you have all the makings for one of the best holidays you could have. Needed to get a jumper as there was a cold snap, and off we went in the golf cart with Mr Vee at the helm, money first then to various stores until he found one with big enough clothing. Did the negotiating for us and we were set. Organised our boat trip anything else we wanted. This place is just so good, the limitless coffee in reception complete with afternoon cake, great restaurant with the best croissants & baguettes for breakfast. If Luang Prabang is on your itinerary (and it should be), then stay here.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the best view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here two nights with two very good friends, one who will readily admit is very tough on any property and i can be pretty tough too. This place is flawless. Rooms are huge and welcoming, staff is super proactive and nice, always fresh coffee in the lobby, wifi is fast, breakfast is good, beds are comfortable….even better was that they arranged for a local boat tour which also went super smooth and wasn't even part of the hotel. We did manage to use all the hot water amongst the three of us showering…but from picking us up at the airport to dropping us off really enjoyed it. If you want a great experience just book a room here.

Room Tip: the side suite comfortably sleeps 3, it's a huge room and they will add a bed for $50 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Beyond the unbeatable location, Urban and his gracious professional staff of the Mekong Riverview Hotel did everything they possibly could to make our stay extraordinary. We actually stayed with them for two nights and then for another three when we returned from adventures in the north which they helped us plan. They even were able to rearrange our flight without hassle or charge by the airline! Our room was an unexpected treasure awash with richly polished teak and a balcony overlooking the Mekong. We even had the most amazingly comfortable Swedish bed that electrically adjusted for head and feet comfort! The managers steered us in the direction of terrific restaurants and the best massage my wife and I have ever had. Thank you Urban and Ted - you know how to offer the absolute best!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor facing the river with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

At the end of the peninsula so nice and quiet. The hotel will take you anywhere in a golf buggy and it is a lovely stroll back from all the main sites. I suspect the view from the top floor is better but we had a bottom suite which was still nice. The staff and owner ( who opens champagne with a saber ) couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed 3 full days but 4 would have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for four nights and the stay could not have been better. From the welcome we received at the start to the goodbye before we left. We were greeted with a welcome drink and a beautifully annotated tourist map with some recommendations marked on. Our room was a junior suite on the first floor (that's the top floor, I think it would be better on that floor rather than the ground) that overlooked the river, it was spacious with unique (for us) remote controlled beds that get into various positions; personally after a play I stuck with the flat position! Although it overlooks the river you actually don't get that much of a view because there is a (quiet) road and some trees in-between so it's a broken view. What sets this apart from other places we stayed in Laos we the attentiveness and professionalism of all their staff; they simply could not do enough to make your stay a pleasant and hassle free one. The breakfasts are wonderful and taken in the restaurant overlooking the Mekong; the food is well prepared and in addition to the buffet there is a good choice including fruit sharks, eggs, pancakes, and cooked fruit dishes that are cooked to order. They also have a golf cart to ferry you anywhere in town, it's a small place so not essential but handy, the hotel itself is not right in the centre but about a 5 minutes walk to the start of the main street. On our final morning we left before breakfast but they said goodbye and gave us a bag of munchies for our boat trip. Final tip, there is a traditional steam and massage place next door where you can get a good professional massage (although not in a particularly private room) and a hot sauna, good to undo any of your over indulgences.

Room Tip: First (top) floor lets you leave your doors open as the group floor is at street level, but the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My top tip for this hotel right here: book direct through their web site, it's easy and prompt. For some reason I was totally unable to book this hotel through the usual internet agencies even months ahead.

At this time this is the number one hotel on TripAdvisor in this town and deservedly so. From the time you step out of the airport terminal to the time you step back in, the hotel will take care of you. Many other reviewers have said how good the rooms and the location are so I won't repeat them here. What is truly outstanding is the service. The airport pick up and drop off, sight-seeing recommendations, zero commission sight-seeing bookings, golf cart to cart you around town, in-room wifi, free minibar, bicycles, umbrellas the list goes on and all for free. Everyone from the owner to the wait staff make you feel very welcome. This hotel will make your stay in this beautiful little town very special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwiptix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stay at the Mekong Riverview was too short. It is an excellent quiet hotel within 5 minutes walking of the old town. The best temple is next door. The view across the Mekong river is lovely. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. The service was excellent and the restaurant deserves to be better known. The hotel is a new building but built in the colonial French style in keeiping with its surroundings. In our view, this must be the best place to stay in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have river views, but, ask for one on the first floor - the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Joyce50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
795 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 70 in Luang Prabang
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 70 in Luang Prabang
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £108 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing