We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place to stay in Luang Prabang!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best place to stay in Luang Prabang!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent three nights at the Mekong Riverview Hotel in February 2014. The hotel is beautifully appointed and maintained and perfectly located at the confluence of the two rivers. Urban, the owner/manager could not be more friendly or accommodating and he makes it a point to meet each guest. The hotel restaurant, located on terraced parkland next to the river is the perfect place to begin or end your day. The food and service are outstanding. The hotel's management makes every effort to support the staff and the community (one example being the donation and maintenance of the riverside park next to the restaurant). We especially enjoyed our balcony overlooking the riverfront and the beautiful sunsets across the Mekong. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony overlooking the Mekong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    114
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
426
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

stayed for 7 nights and loved it. great location at the confluence of the Mekong and nam rivers. lovely suite looking out on the river. fabulous staff especially the wonderful mr noi! exceptional check in service provided by noi - gave us a map with lots of recommendations based on what we wanted to do, and no hard selling of any one in particular. nothing was too much for them. the viewpoint cafe where we ate a very nice breakfast every morning was a lovely contemplative space looking out over the river and watching the mist lift as the sun got higher. the dinners we had were lovely with a nice selection of wines- tried a lot of the local dishes - yum! they made me a gorgeous cake and the boys even sang happy birthday (even if a bit off key which was very cute!). would definitely recommend as a choice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect --on the promontory overlooking the river. Our room was well appointed with rose wood furniture, adjustable Swedish beds, that were super comfy and down pillows. There is unlimited hot water. The balcony has a river view --but be sure to ask for a private balcony. Some of them are shared between 2 rooms, with just a part ion between them. Also, ask for a room on the 2nd floor, as people walk by your ground floor rooms ..The breakfast ,which ,is included is great. They have the best croissants we've had anywhere, including France. On the Saturday evening that we were there, the owner invited all the guests to a little get together and it was very nice to meet and visit with people from around the world. Also, it's a great location for the morning alms giving ceremony. The owner recommended a street parallel to the main street that had only local people and only one other tourist besides ourselves.

Room Tip: Second floor and with a "single balcony" or private balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Mekong Riverview Hotel is a five-star boutique property located in Luang Prabang, Laos, and serendipitously situated at the confluence of the Mekong and Khan rivers, We spent five nights in a junior suite, river view. Our suite was spacious and beautifully appointed-the bouquets of fresh roses in the living area and in the bathroom were a lovely surprise! We had a veranda with a stunning river view, a plush king-size bed, sofa, two arm chairs, coffee table, desk, closet with plenty of hangers, two robes, air conditioning, ceiling fan, coffee/tea set up and a mini-bar stocked with water & soft drinks (included in the room price).

Across the street is the Mekong Riverview Terrace restaurant which overlooks the Nam (river) Khan and a bamboo bridge. If you get down to breakfast early enough (7-7:30am), you may see young monks crossing the bridge to go to school. The breakfast buffet will leave you well-sated so that you will not go hungry while on your morning forays in and around Luang Prabang.

The Mekong Riverview is a ten-minute leisurely stroll to two great restaurants-Tamarind and Rosella Fusion. Another restaurant we really enjoyed was the Blue Lagoon-eclectic menu and impeccable service. And if you need a mid-morning or afternoon snack, stop at the French bakery for a pastry and a drink. If you're a chocolate lover (and I am), indulge yourself and have a pain au chocolat...magnifique!

It's a twenty-minute walk to the backpacker area which has some great shops with authentic Lao handicrafts-Kop Noi and Ma Te' Sai are my two favorites. The Aussie Sports Bar is right across the street from both shops-my husband enjoyed a couple of tall, cold Beer Lao's while I shopped! The night market is a twenty-minute walk as well.. I love night markets but they're generally filled with touristy stuff and Luang Prabang's is no exception. This is NOT the place to find authentic Lao goods as many of the night market treasures are Thai and Chinese imports. But it's fun to walk around, enjoying the sights.

Sorry, I digressed-back to the Mekong Riverview Hotel. As I said in the beginning of my review, it's a five-star property. But, due to Mr. Urban (owner/manager) and his friendly, highly-capable staff, we had a ten-star experience! They were thoughtful, caring and made us feel more like family than guests, which I think is the hallmark of a great hotel experience. One of the staff, lovely Mr. Vee, is even a mind-reader! He had booked us a car to go to the waterfall. I was walking into the Reception area to request two towels to take with us and I ran into Mr. Vee, coming out with two towels and two bottles of water! And our first morning, when we overslept, Mr. Vee immediately dropped what he was doing and gave us a ride in the hotel's Club Car (golf cart) so that we wouldn't miss the monks' morning alms procession.

Another really nice touch was Mr. Urban's wine gathering at the Terrace restaurant. He hosts 2-3 gatherings each week and invites his guests to have some wine and meet each other. We met some wonderful people from Singapore, Yangon, AND the American ambassador to Laos and his lovely wife!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a junior suite, river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertflower54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Will definitely stay here again. Location fabulous! Mr. Urban, owner, friendly and knows all the right things needed in a hotel: fresh roses in bedroom and bathroom; toilet and sinks/shower separate rooms; hairdryer beside full length mirror not in bathroom; robes, slippers, laundry service; beds with remote controls to put up head and feet!; free transportation to and from airport; sprays room for insects while we are out for dinner; free drinks in fridge (water and soda); free bikes; free rides in golf cart to town; breakfast unlimited orders from menu; and wine party bi-weekly so guests can meet each other! Really what more do you want?

Room Tip: All rooms are great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank work2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the airport pick-up, welcome drink and full review of sights along with a free map upon arrival.....this hotel sets itself apart from the usual. The owner, Urban hosted us to a glass of wine and conversation on the first night. The rooms are all well appointed with lots of comforts and beautiful rosewood furnishings. Fantastic location with a view of the Mekong River. Free bicycles for touring this lovely town. We have traveled a lot and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Breakfast is set in the restaurant just across the small road in front of the hotel, right on the river. What a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Without repeating the other praise lavished on this hotel my wife and I recently had the most wonderful time here.
It's position is unrivaled, the staff fantastic and the owner Urban friendly and attentive.
This must be one of the most laid back places in the world and the perfect destination for any stressed out individual wishing to unwind.
Sitting at the riverside restaurant at any time of day whether for breakfast, afternoon drinks or dinner was a pure joy.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing