We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, hospitable owner, friendly and helpful staff with good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality, hospitable owner, friendly and helpful staff with good location.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My experience from working as a tour guide made me be at a different places in the entire country. Every morning at the breakfast with a stunning view of the two rivers confluences and lovely green garden, You will see Mr.Urban with his smile to welcome and greet you. as the hotel slogan" Personal touch"
Hotel is located in the peak of the UNESCO sites, rooms are very nice and cleaned with the view of the Mekong river from balcony.
There is always snack, tea and coffee in which you could help your serve your self at the lobby lounge.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. however, i recommend you it's better to get upper floor room, because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lao Horizons Tr... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    113
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
425
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

...This is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in, and we travel a lot. From the warm and friendly greeting at the airport, Noi's (the manager) great introduction to Luang Prabang complete with excellent free Hobo map on arrival, the cheerful helpful attitude of all the staff without exception - to the important details such as very fluffy white towels, great beds, perfect showers - all the ingredients of a proper boutique hotel.

We enjoyed lounging on our balcony watching the Mekong drift by, strolling round the interesting streets and admiring the old colonial architecture and of course the wonderful Wats...it's the quiet season so no crowds to compete with either. Noi arranged outings for us to a waterfall, a river cruise and recommended restaurants which were all excellent. We also enjoyed proper english tea and home made cakes in the afternoons - all complimentary. This is a hotel which pays attention to everything...I cannot recomend it highly enough. We will be back...

Room Tip: first floor front overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nice-Nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I adored magical, languid Luang Prabang (go during the low season when there aren't a lot of tourists!), and I loved this hotel! We stayed for six nights, and it's truly perfect in every way. The rooms are spotlessly clean and they've paid so much attention to detail (comfy cloth bathrobes and slippers, paper covering the drinking glasses so they don't collect dirt, a huge safety box that can hold lots of your valuables, incredibly comfy Swedish beds, overhead fans on your private porch to keep you cool as you lounge, free bicycles to use, reception will drop you off anywhere on the peninsula for free, free airport transfers, all taxes included in rate, free delicious breakfast with a stunning view of the Mekong River). The staff was lovely and helpful, and location at the tip of the peninsula ideal. Stay at this wonderful hotel and enjoy beautiful LP - my favorite stop in SE Asia!

Room Tip: Choose one of the Junior Suite Riverviews on the second floor (huge, great view of river, above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciam2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 nights stay at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. As this little hotel is situated on the end of the peninsula where the Nam Khan River flows into the great Mekong River, the views from our hotel balcony are absolutely beautiful. While the location is a little off the main streets of Luang Prabang, the hotel provides golf carts which will take you anywhere within the old city area. Besides, the core area of Luang Prabang isn't very large (about 1.2km long and 400m across), so it is possible to walk to most places. Breakfast, a combination of american style and asian dishes, is served at the hotel's cafe overlooking the river. The service of the hotel staff was excellent. They were friendly, helpful and informative. Our departure flight was very early, before the cafe opens, so the staff arranged for sandwiches and yoghurt as take away for us. The only two downsides to our stay was the bed and the wifi. As it was an adjustable bed, it squeaked when you move around, and soft mattress didn't help. The wifi wasn't very stable. On our last day, we couldn't connect to it at all.
One point to note, do read the hotel information booklet in the room. It has lots of information on things to do and the culture of Laos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubinaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Hotel location a the end of the peninsula that ends in the confluence of the Mekong River and Nam Khan. It is perfectly located for the view alone and a short walk, bike or golf cart trip away from all that Luang Prabang has to offer. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive, albeit this kind person was to be found throughout the township. The area is a very welcome step back to a more laid back and friendly time, sortof like Thailand was in some places 30 years ago. The complementary breakfast menu was both varied and excellent as was everything else we sampled on their menu. Our bedroom was on the first floor overlooking the river, nicely sized, well appointed with a great bathroom. Unfortunately the timber floor squeaked whenever walked upon which detracted from what was otherwise a lovely room. The beds were also a bit soft for our tastes but may suit others. The electric adjustment on them was a novelty, great for reading or TV watching if that's your thing. I have only given a three star rating as I believe it was only average value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mekong Riverview for 3 nights while visiting Luang Prabang. Although the entire town is beautiful, the Mekong Riverview really takes things to the next level providing gorgeous accommodation with old world colonial touches and excellent service. If you are looking for a luxurious stay where you will feel pampered beyond belief, look no further!

Positioned right at the confluence of two rivers, the Mekong Riverview enjoys an excellent position, perfect for sightseeing... provided you can find the motivation to leave the property, which we found quite difficult to do because we loved our room so much. Spotlessly clean, a beautiful bathroom, minibar filled with complimentary sodas and a bed that was like sleeping on a marshmallow and felt like it had come straight from heaven, it was nearly impossible for us to get out of that bed! After nearly 2 years of traveling in Asia, I can safely say this bed was the best we have enjoyed on this side of the globe, possibly the best we have ever slept on. It's worth staying a night or two here just for the bed, I promise!

Second only to the beds is the incredible breakfast buffet that guest enjoy every morning. Dining right by the river, the views are impeccable and the food almost better. Wonderful croissants, cheeses, meats and jams are on offer, along with fresh juices, tea and coffee. You can order off the à la carte menu as well, where eggs are cooked to order and sausage, bacon and ham are offered as well. We really enjoyed the "special" breakfast option of grilled banana and pineapple soaked in honey; along with a pancake with vanilla sauce, it was like having dessert for breakfast and incredibly good. If you'd like to go local, there are also three Asian breakfast options that you can order, preferably the night before. I admit, we were too busy stuffing ourselves on the continental options to bother with the Asian bits. If you do the same, this would not be a mistake!

Outside of the bedroom & the breakfast, the Mekong Riverview offers many little touches that make your stay truly special. They offer free pickup and dropoff from the airport and also have several golfcarts that they will shuttle you around to destinations in town if you ask. You can also see the sights by the complimentary bicycles they provide. Free tea & coffee and cake are offered in the reception building in the afternoon. Staff are attentive and friendly and really make sure you are taken care of and feel at home.

The only thing missing from the property that I would expect in hotel of this caliber is a pool, but because it is located in the UNESCO heritage area, a pool is not permitted. Bad news on hot days, but the location does mean you are just a convenient 10 or 15-minute walk from all the major sites. Another small thing worth noting is that although we could access the wifi from our room, we found the connection was quite slow and unstable. Could just be a problem in Luang Prabang in general, but we were surprised connectivity wasn't a bit better (it was perfectly usable for emails and basic trip planning, but not for any intensive use).

All in all, an excellent dose of luxurious elegance in a town the overflows with upscale options. Mekong Riverview gets the big things right, but perhaps more importantly, also pays attention to the small details that make a good stay into a great stay. If you're looking for the best place to stay in Luang Prabang, this is it.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit extra to secure a room on one of the higher floors—we had a room on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is not situated in the heart of the city, but just a little beyond. That is what makes it perfect: everything is within easy walking distance, but it is also quiet. Our room was located on the first floor and our balcony overlooked the Mekong River. The perfect spot to sit, drink a complimentary Coke and read a book. Life is good! The room had a comfortable bed, which could be adjusted electronically (!), and the bathroom and toilet were separate. As usual, the bathroom had some inconveniences: in this case the taps of the sink were located in a way that they were very hard to operate. The room itself was not very large, but cosy. Standing on our balcony, we noticed that the neighboring bathhouse burnt wood to heat up the baths. Initially we wanted to move and the hotel was very willing to accommodate us, but in the end we preferred our first room and changed back. Again, no problem for the very helpful staff! Breakfast was a highlight: the terrace where breakfast was served is located on the other side of the road, overlooking the joining of the Nam Khan (river) with the Mekong River. The breakfast itself was good and the staff was ready to make for you whatever you wanted. A beautiful place to stay, although fairly pricey. And don't forget to enjoy terrific Laotian food at Tamarind!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing