We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Great room, delicious food, friendly unassuming service””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Love this place. The food is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. Staff are friendly and lovely.
Rooms are lovely. Beautiful big bathroom, comfy king size bed. We stayed in a suite.
The building are French colonial style and there is a lively bar.
Would definitely recommend and will visit again when next in Laos.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBlue457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We came because we heard that this place was authentic- it is!
If feel like a B&B with resort amenities!
They picked up from the airport- it's complimentary- just email them in advance!
The front desk staffer walked us to our room and said "You can drink anything in this fridge"! (It's True)

The owner was there onsite and said hello to us at breakfast one morning and we spotted him in town the next day on bike. We also hosts little chats from time to time! They hotel has a little guide you can reach with what they personalize what to do around Laos. (We had questions about the Alms giving and they answered them. Along with restaurant suggestions and tips on the best place to ride an elephant- we took their advice!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pros:
On tip of delta, great view from restaurant
food is decent
staff, service is great
room is clean, updated

Cons:
if you have a street view, you may be looking at a line-up of tuk-tuks and private buses instead of the Mekong delta. This is my only minor complaint. Seems a lot of them line up on this street for some reason. it detracts from your river view.


I had planned to stay for 3 nights then move on in Laos. Unfortunately, had to get back state-side due to personal matter. The short stay was nice regardless. The staff, service, rooms, food are are good. No complaints or issues there. My only gripe is the one mentioned in cons, regarding the street you are on gets busy with people waiting in buses, tuk-tuks, motorbikes and cars. I would have picked an upper floor knowing this.

Staff was friendly. Mr. Xay, who seemed be running the restaurant solo, was friendly to talk with. We shared info about fishing and other cultural things. The guys in the lobby (usually 2-4) were all nice. I made a point of flipping them some crap every time I walked in for fun. Not sure if they enjoyed the break in monotony or maybe just thought I was a goofball, probably the latter. Anyways, nice place to stay in LP. I'd score it a 5, but in my personal opinion it's a bit too overpriced for what you get, compared to all the other choices in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjpcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's all been said below but such a wonderful place deserves to be praised over and over again! Location is stunning, and in my opinion the best in town with views of both rivers and a lovely breakfast patio overlooking this, what a way to begin the morning. Rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. Was a little dubious about the Swedish remote control beds (thought it was a bit of an old person thing) but my goodness they are great for reading and lounging about, very comfy!

Yes it isn't cheap, but then neither is anywhere else in Luang Prabang of any sort of standard, and at this hotel there are lots of included bonuses such as free airport transfers, complimentary soft drinks in the room minibar, afternoon tea, and free one way trips into town in the golf cart (it's only 10 minutes walk but sometimes it's nice to be lazy!).

Yet what is really outstanding here is Urban, the owner, and his staff. They make you feel like family guests, and really make an effort to have a chat and get to know you. Lovely touch is Urban often has 6.30 complimentary wine over at the eating area by the river for all his guests, really nice to talk and have the opportunity to meet other guests if you wish.

Being slightly out of the town centre means it's quieter too.

If I ever return to LP I'll be staying here and not even bothering to check out anywhere else (we tried the 3 Nagas too on this trip, see separate review). I think it epitomises what LP is all about.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a first floor room...better views, more private and you won't have anyone abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I really can't add much to the reviews praising this hotel. The little touches, from the wonderful welcome you get at the airport to the homemade cake in the afternoons to the stunning breakfasts outside watching the mists list off the Mekong, and the monks crossing the bamboo footbridge below you whilst you drink your coffee! 'However, it's the staff (and owner) that really make this place.

Room Tip: I had a superior double room upstairs which was wonderful and spacious, apart from the fact that whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I had a twin room.

The outstanding parts of this hotel extends from the personal touch of the owner.

The service here is perfect, there is nothing they won't do if they can do it for you and even then, they'll try without complaint.

The owner is a real amazing character who really cares for the hotel as more than just a business.

Unique parts extend from the free soft drinks (free flow), free chaffeur service everywhere, and the complimentary wine to meet other guests and the owner!

Every detail in this hotel is cared for and it is by far, the ABSOLUTE best hotel I have ever been in. The fans imported from ChiangMai due to their unique design and efficiency, the beds which are the most comfortable beds are shipped all the way from Sweden and the wine sourced by the owner himself.

There will be no regrets staying in this hotel but even the troublesome doors in my room do not make me to begin questioning the quality of this beautiful hotel with an amazing location!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stan Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My experience from working as a tour guide made me be at a different places in the entire country. Every morning at the breakfast with a stunning view of the two rivers confluences and lovely green garden, You will see Mr.Urban with his smile to welcome and greet you. as the hotel slogan" Personal touch"
Hotel is located in the peak of the UNESCO sites, rooms are very nice and cleaned with the view of the Mekong river from balcony.
There is always snack, tea and coffee in which you could help your serve your self at the lobby lounge.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. however, i recommend you it's better to get upper floor room, because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lao Horizons Tr... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £96 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing