We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Small Hotel with probably best view in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
phuket
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delightful Small Hotel with probably best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a Junior suite river view back in March and only just got around to writing a review.
Friendly efficient staff and room was excellent. Some issues with internet but these were sorted eventually. Beautiful views of the rivers and the separate restaurant a few yards down the road probably has the best view in town. We were there during Chinese new year and probably not the best time to visit as town extremely busy with Chinese tourists who were noisy in the extreme.

Room Tip: We had a river view junior suite and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    110
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
105
413
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location: There is no better Hotel in Luang Prabang when it comes to its location. At the tip of the peninsula from the old town (Unesco world heritage site) just where the Mekong and the Nam Khan
River are joining together. Beautiful views from the riverside rooms and the Viewpoint Cafe.
Just walking distance from major sightseeing spots (especially temples) an the street where every morning the famous Morning Alms from the monks of Luang Prapang takes place.
Rooms: Make sure to book a riverside room. It is worth to go for the Superior category with lovely balconies overlooking the Mekong and Nam Khan River. Rooms furbished with modern amenities in old Lao style. Minibar and coffee making facilities free of charge!!
Room-Rates: Might be slightly more expensive than other comparative hotels in Luang Prabang. But be assured the price is worth every single dollar. No hidden taxes or service charges - all included. No additional charge if you pay with your credit Card. Breakfast included. You can also make use of an one way free transport to any spot within the old center of the city by the Hotels own Electrocars. At the small lobby you get all day free coffee/tea with small selection of patisserie.
Bikes at your disposal free of charge!
Restaurant-Riverview Café: Nice, small buffet breakfast. You can order eggs or Lao breakfast to your likings. Stunning views. Lunch or Dinner: very good food with high quality if it comes to products used. Weekly welcome cocktail offered by the management.
Staff: very friendly and helpful. They will assist you in making reservations for trips around Luang Prapang - the prices for this might be slightly higher then taking any Travel Agency (there are hundreds of them located in the city center) but you can be certain that the quality of the car/boat and the guide/driver is guaranteed and at is best.
The front office staff will even make reservations for you in other Restaurants (free of charge) and they even take you there (one way) by their electrocars.
Management: Mr. Urban Paulsson is the owner and Manager of the Mekong Riverside Hotel. He is always around and ready to please each single guest. Any questions, any problems - he will be there for his guests and ready to assist. He also provides you with an detailed map of Luang Prapang and gives detailed and very helpful tipps about the area. He is very caring and very helpful and friendly.
Final conclusion: don't think twice - go ahead and stay at the Mekong Riverside Hotel you will not be disappointed. Do not forget:: you are staying at a small beautiful hotel and not at the RITZ CARLTON. If keeping this in mind you are going to have a great time in Luang Pragang.

Room Tip: Superior Mekong Riverview rooms with balcony / upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ursula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Super hotel in a great spot with very attentive staff. Lovely breakfast overlooking the river confluence and all the old town in easy reach. Staff really helpful - even found me somewhere to get my haircut! Only downside - which applies to all hotels in the old town area - is the lack of a swimming pool. But all the other inclusives such as the chance to be ferried to other parts of town by golf cart and cake for afternoon tea on return help to compensate

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrUrbanPaulsson, Owner at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear, Sir

Thank you very much for review.

Regarding a swimming pool as we are located on prime location on the historic peninsula and Due to UNESCO World Heritage regulations no pools are allowed in this area.

Best regards,
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have traveled a lot and stayed in hundreds of hotels, and the Mekong Riverview Hotel is one of the very best. It is very comfortable, well-appointed, and tastefully decorated, but what makes the hotel truly outstanding is the staff. Everyone I dealt with at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful, not just in response to my requests but also in anticipation of my needs. They arranged transportation for me to the Kouangxi Waterfalls, a boat ride on the Mekong, and even delivered me to the guest house where I spent my last night in Luang Prabang. I left some important items behind in the hotel safe when I checked out, and the hotel staff when out of their way to make sure that my belongings were shipped to me promptly.

The hotel's name is an accurate description of its location - across a quite road from the confluence of the Mekong and Nam Khan, rivers, at the peaceful northern end of the old art of Luang Prabang. The hotel's open air restaurant is across the road, on the river side, with a spectacular view of the both rivers.

Most of the main attractions of the UNESCO World Heritage site are within easy walking distance of the hotel; if you don't feel like walking, though, you can use one of the bicycles available for loan from the hotel, or ask to be taken to your destination.

The only problem I had was not the fault of the hotel; internet access in Luang Prabang is poor everywhere, and although access at the Mekong Riverview is better than that in the two other hotels I have stayed in the town, it isn't great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I have been to LP many times and have stayed at several different hotels and guest houses. We choose this hotel as it was rated #1 on TA and also because of its close proximity to the area where the monks receive their alms in the early morning – and in spite of the hotel being expensive for LP. We stayed for 4 nights.

The Pros: Location, location, location! The hotel was situated on and overlooks the bank of the Mekong River while the restaurant is a short walk away and was easily the best located of any restaurant in LP. It was situated at the junction of the Nam Khan and Mekong Rivers. The combination of the mountains and rivers was spectacular as boats were moving up and down the Mekong and small fishing boats were dragging their nets in front of the Nam Khan River and directly in front of the restaurant. The breakfast selection was very similar to that served by other hotels and guest houses and not outstanding. However, the ambiance was extremely nice and serene.

Hotel Room: The hotel room we had was a Superior Mekong Riverview on the 2nd floor and for some unexplained reason we were charge the high season rate rather than the lower season rate quoted on the hotel’s WEB page. The room overlooked the Mekong River with the main road in between the hotel and the bank and thus it was a bit noisy at times due to the flow of traffic and certainly more noisy that the other places we have stayed at in LP. The room was nothing spectacular. It was spacious with a large king bed, large bathroom with a big shower and a small porch for sitting. Compared to other hotels and guest houses that we have previously stayed in LP it was not much different. However, we were made to feel at home by the rooster that was close by and who would wake us each morning. The room was equipped with a/c which was in fact extremely noisy. The room was cleaned nicely and efficiently each morning however, the instant coffee and Milo drinks were not back-filled on any of the days that we stayed. I would have to say that the value for the amount of money paid per night was not high and certainly less that many of the places we have stayed at in LP previously.

Staff: Staff were very delightful and helpful, but not much different than with the other hotels we have stayed at in LP. We had free, one-way transport to town via a golf cart and similar again to what the other hotels and guest houses in LP provide. Transport to and from the airport was complimentary.

Added: Immediately located adjacent to the hotel was a small restaurant that was frequented by locals and was crowded at each lunch time service that we noticed. We decided to give it a try and were extremely happy that we did. The menu was basic with two main meals – hot spicy fish curry and a spicy fish salad, although fired chicken and other basics were listed, including various cold veggies such as cucumbers. The fish curry was excellent with large chunks of fresh water fish and an amazing and very tasty broth cooked with ginger, kaffer lime leaves and other spices. The fish salad was likewise very tasty and a bit spicy and eaten with lettuce leaves and other fresh green. The beer Lao was nice and cold and went well with the food. Prices were rather inexpensive with the curry and salad being priced at 35,000 Kip each and large beers for 10,000 Kip. Servings were large and service quick and efficient. We enjoyed the food so much that we returned another day and found the quality to once again being excellent. The restaurant is run by a family and mainly frequented for lunch and dinner however, towards the end of the week we noticed the restaurant to be filled once again …and with local people and at both lunch and dinner. Dress was totally informal with shorts and t-shirts acceptable.

Would we stay at this hotel again – probably not.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the Mekong are most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrUrbanPaulsson, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Regarding our room rate, we have two types of room as Superior and Junior Suite. You stayed in Junior Suite room and the price you paid is correct. The price for Superior room in high season is the same as summer price for Junior Suite. This should be misunderstanding of the price.
All categories of our rooms and prices are on our WEB site
www.mekongriverview.com

Best regards,

Mekong Riverview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights recently and it is very well located with views from our room where the Mekong and Nam Pham rivers meet. The restaurant is across the road form the hotel built on a deck with totally uninterrupted of both rivers and the activities that they bring being both locals going about their daily lives or Mekong cruises. The owner is very astute and they market this hotel well, as mentioned in many earlier reviews with a wine evening with him, free tea and coffee and cake in the afternoon, and they will drop you anywhere in town in one of their electric carts for free, you have to find your own way back. The team at reception are very friendly and helpful and add to the outstanding service that they provide. We had a late flight out and they gave us another room to use and told us to help ourselves to anything in the room that we wanted.
The couple of negatives were the squeaky floor boards in our room, they were noisy and the toilet was the smallest I have ever experienced. You wouldn't want to be a big person or you physically would not fit in the toilet.
That aside they really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable even making recommendations for competing restaurants. The are smart in what they do and that is why the are number one in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room to enjoy views over the Mekong from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Germany, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Love this place. The food is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. Staff are friendly and lovely.
Rooms are lovely. Beautiful big bathroom, comfy king size bed. We stayed in a suite.
The building are French colonial style and there is a lively bar.
Would definitely recommend and will visit again when next in Laos.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlue457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing