We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice. I hope to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Central location, exceedingly clean rooms with comfortable beds. Lovely family who attract lovely guests and who provide solid local advice. If you're looking for a guesthouse, you can't go wrong with Manichan. On a stroll I met a fellow traveller who remarked his guesthouse was a bit loud (think young backpacker party environment) and I invited him to join me for breakfast at Manichan. After enjoying a great meal and engaging conversation with guests from around the world, he thanks me for inviting him and inquired about availability...so think of that as "evidence" of my recommendation ;)

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
Thank cjigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

We loved the breakfasts here, and lingered over them to swap stories with other guests. Rooms are nice; wifi works (as best it does in L-P); staff went out of their way to be helpful. But? A neighbor had died a few days before and his large extended family were having a prolonged wake immediately next door! They started around 7pm and partied until dawn each night. Manichan staff apologized and offered earplugs but there wasn't anything they could do. However, for all of us, getting the explanation made the noise easier to deal with.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We had a different experience at Manichan Guesthouse to other reviewers, and were quite disappointed.

We paid $25 for our room with ensuite, which I booked by email. Perhaps the walk-in rate is $18 as quoted by others. For this price we got an extremely smelly bathroom - we could not even leave the door open a crack without the smell escaping. We had to remove the paintings from the walls as the fan (which only pointed in one direction) made them constantly rattle. And our room was never serviced (which for $25/night I felt it should have been), meaning we had to request toilet paper when we ran out.

On the upside the staff seemed lovely, which is probably the reason behind the good reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittensOfFez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manichanguesthouse, Owner-manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2010

Our room rate of 25$ for our rooms with ensuite bathroom includes the Breakfast buffet for 2 persons, just like we agreed in the e-mail. The room rate of 18 $ for walk-in guests is without the BB.
A smell in the bathroom has never been detected by ourselves, neither been reported by any other guest and also not by this guest during her 4 night-stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Located 1 minute from the Mekong, the day food market and the night tourist market but in a quiet part of town. Family run by Peter, a Belgian ex-chef, and Manichan, his Lao wife, this is a truly wonderful little home from home. We had a great double room, en suite for $18 a night, and enjoyed great breakfasts, a $3 extra. Not only did they look after us but also Manichan introduced me to a medicinal root that cured my stomach bug that had been with me for 8 days. Oh, and there is also WiFi free for guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Can't add much to the reviews thus far but the Manichan guesthouse offers clean, comfortable accommodation at terrific rates. We stayed upstairs in joining rooms, which was basically a 2-bedroom apartment that was perfectly OK for 2 adults and 2 children. Shared bathroom facilities with 2 other rooms wasn't ideal but we stayed for 10 days and were never inconvenienced that much. The big plus is that Peter, who owns and operates the guesthouse, is a retired cook and prepares excellent breakfasts in a small courtyard area where you dine at a large table and can chat and swap travel tales with other guests. The guesthouse is ideally located as well, with the Mekong river at one end of the street and a wonderful morning market, with all manner of fresh produces at the other. The main part of town is a short walk away. I can heartily recommend the Manichan guesthouse to all visitors and suggest family groups give it a go as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Our first night in Luang Prabang our guest house was a dump, second night we moved to a nice guesthouse where we found a bed bug crawling over the bed. Third night we found Manichan, thank god, we stayed there 4 nights.

We paid 18 dollars for a twin room with shared bathroom. The room was big and roomy and opened out onto a lovely patio balcony. The bathroom was imaculate and modern. The water pressure was poor but I doubt its the guesthouses fault. The owner is a nice honest guy who doesn't offer any tours or tickets ( a good thing as there's no pressure, just honest advise). The breakfasts are especially good. Only 25000 kip for all you can eat bread with homemade jam, fresh fruit, tea and coffee and a choice of egg or pancake etc made fresh. Try the curried lentle omelette, so good!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswolzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Really nice place to stay; rooms are clean and nicely decorated, bed is comfortable and the owner, Peter, is a friendly and helpful host. The freshly prepared breakfast in the courtyard with other guests is a fun way to start the day. Location is very convienient; Royal Palace and night market just around the corner, as is a local market.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frangipanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 265 in Luang Prabang
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 265 in Luang Prabang
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cold River
Cold River
#9 of 265 in Luang Prabang
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 265 in Luang Prabang
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 265 in Luang Prabang
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £22 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing