We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful, low-key environment with a nice family as hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Manichan Guesthouse has a great location, just steps away from the market and to the action in Luang Prabang; nevertheless, it is quiet, and the a/c works like a charm. The guest house had a nice mix of overnight backpacker types and multi-day family visitors which allowed us to get to know some of them and the family as well. They do a good job will local foods for breakfast and the room was cleaned well daily too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry-tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

It's located on walking distance of the hotspots in Luang Prabang. The rooms are clean and nice to sleep in. It has a European standard! Peter is always around to help you plan your trip or awnsering questions.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Slightly disappointed with this guesthouse, considering the reviews. Spent a week here in the kingsized room, the standard rooms were very small. The breakfasts were ok, didn't realise we had a choice of room without breakfast for $6 less. The location was really good, right near the morning market street. Luang Prabang was a great place to finish up a 5 week asian holiday, very quiet and relaxing after the chaos of Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Down a quiet side street, this guesthouse has a prime location in Luang Prabang. The room was clean but very small- we could hardly walk around the bed. The fan was adequate (a/c cost extra) and the shared bathroom was ok. Though free wifi was advertised as being available, it worked for less than 1 hour of our entire stay, forcing us to go to an internet café and pay for wifi. Overall, this place was fine but over-priced considering the very small room, shared bathroom, and lack of wifi. This place would be ok if you could bargain the price down and don't need wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillerThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

One of the more impressive guesthouses I have been to in Southeast Asia. Peter and Manichan, the owners, are extremely helpful and forthcoming with advice on where to go, where/what you can miss, what to watch out for, how much to pay, that kind of thing.
The place is kept clean and comfortable. But the highlight of everyday was the breakfast that Peter would whip up in the morning - eggs any style, fruit salad, home made yogurt, fresh bread and home made jams. Yum!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
Thank kitchenconfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is a lovely spot. It's location is perfect. It is right by the river and so slose to town. You feel like you are tucked away from it all though. Lovely breakfast. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harygopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. It was in a great spot, close to everything and the room was very comfortable. We loved getting up to the outdoor breakfast every morning - the omelettes were delicious! They were very helpful with giving us ideas of things to do and places to eat. I would certainly recommend Guesthouse Manichan to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrigglespingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 271 in Luang Prabang
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 271 in Luang Prabang
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#11 of 271 in Luang Prabang
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 271 in Luang Prabang
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £23 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing