We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, location, service ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here last time I came to Luang Prabang and was happy to return on my latest trip. The rooms are clean, modern and serviceable. The beds are however, very firm and so are the pillows. I find that after a week or so, I'm looking forward to my own not-so-firm bed! The view in the name is across roofs and tree tops towards the Nam Khan, but the outlook to the mountains is delightful – ask for one of the Mountain View Rooms, which are on the upper floor and have private balconies. There's free WiFi which is quite reliable and reasonably fast. Located in a quiet spot in the old part of town, along the ‘main’ road (Sisavangvong/Sakkaline) it's only a modest walk to where all the shops and restaurants are and, of course, the night markets. We stayed once before down by the river and, especially in peak season, it can be very noisy there at night.

There are only eight rooms and the staff are great, always happy to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is comfortable. Every morning, the housekeeping staff fold the fresh towels into clever arrangements – lotus flowers, swans, elephants – it’s fun to return to the room each day and discover the latest surprise! Every evening, at turndown, a snack (usually local sweet food) was left for me and this was a much appreciated gesture (and delicious too!) Breakfast is usually included in the tariff and while it’s basic it’s perfectly adequate and taken on the balcony, looking over to the temples across the road. We have found it to be good value and we’ll stay there again when we return to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room - the tariff is marginally higher but it's worth it for the balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Well-located at the main street, in a walking distance to the main attractions. Its location is very convenient to see the almsgiving ceremony at 6AM. It happens just across the street. We've got a nice, large, clean room on the second floor with a balcony facing backwards. The bathtub inside the room was a plus. The breakfast was so so, but there is a very nice French bakery/café just beside the hotel which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Tip: try to book a room on the 2nd floor to enjoy more privacy and a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. Very reasonably priced hotel/inn given prices in Luang Prabang tend to be quite expensive. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was excellent - right opposite a Wat and within minutes of Wat Xien Thong and Mt Phousi and nearby attractions. Only one street away from the river too.The hotel organised day trips on request.

Room Tip: Try to request a room on the upper floor for better views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel is well located across the street from temples where offerings are presented to monks at sunrise and also on the end of the street away from the busier and more touristy section of town. The upstairs rooms have winderful views of the river. The staff is friendly and helpful. The adjacent french bakery, banetton, is great for pastries, coffee, baguette sandwiches, etc. There are great restaurants a few blocks away along the water. The hotel also offers a great breakfast. Try the rice soup with chicken! Overall a great stay in a quaint city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Amazing rooms with awesome amenities. Staff were friendly and the meals were great. Its a close location to the morning Monks ( directly across the road, good cos it starts at 6 am) Is in between the two rivers and about a 10 minute walk to the night market. View was nothing to write about but the rooms were. Great bathroom, comfy bed. Looking through the glass doors you find a nice with some comfy deck lounges. Breakfast was adequate and catered for asian and western cuisine. Would recommend a stay there

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

View Pavillion's staff is TERRIFIC - they go out of their way to make your experience in Luang Prabang great. But the hotel needs attention and it's not the staff's fault. Because of our schedule, we were moved to 4 rooms (in this 8 room hotel): the airconditioning didn't work in one, 2 had no hot water and the 4th's water became hot after running it for 5 minutes (but never in the shower only the tub). In this city of lush gardens, the hotel's "courtyard" was paved for parking tour vans. Plastic orchids made up a large part of the "gardens." The free breakfast was adequate. But for $95 - $115/night I would not recommend the hotel. I now am aware of the many beautiful small hotels for half that price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank penandpalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Despite the big increase in Luang Prabang tourism, it is still possible to avoid the crowds by crossing bamboo footbridges and taking ferries. For our third visit to this magical city we stayed for a week at the View Pavilion, located in a more ‘select’ part of the town, very close to the Unesco Heritage Site. Recently-built, the hotel presents an agreeable facade on a main but essentially quiet street, and two young boys were on duty at reception, sited at the rear; their English was limited but they were very willing. One had the feeling that school leavers were ‘playing’ at running a hotel. If valuables are left in the safe, they are merely placed in an open envelope and no receipt is given.

The garden is small but well kept with attractive flower arrangements, small trees and plants. However if you read on you will learn that the design and planning of this guest house is eccentric to say the least.

Our ground floor room (one of a group of 4 in a block of two) is approached by six fairly steep steps. Access is via a small verandah (ours is facing East) where there are two heavy chairs (with cushions) and a coffee table, all in teak. The only real ‘view’ from this floor is of the neighbouring Chang Guesthouse roofs. Our French windows do have large shutters, but if these are closed you cannot then keep out the light from two smaller windows on each side. On this ‘ground floor, if you require privacy, blinds have to be permanently down, which is unfortunate. There is also a ‘normal’ door (described as a fire door) at the back of the room through which you can access the courtyard area.

Our bedroom is impeccably clean and has a teak floor; it is prettily arranged but a little impractical. The fairly large space is dominated by a very large Jacuzzi-style bath, complete with pivotal padded headrest — how “un-green” can you get — whose only use is for the draping of wet towels! Each morning, these are artistically folded and presented on the large twin beds, which are firm but very comfortable and with good quality linen, duvet and pillows. As we find so often in Asia, although there are several pieces of new teak furniture, storage and wardrobe space is limited, and there are no drawers. There was only one bedside table and reading lamp, and my request for another was forthcoming with little delay. The flat-screen television has many channels, including BBC World, CNN, TV5 and German and Thai stations. There is a coat stand (most useful), chair, fridge, kettle and complimentary beverages, and hunting for a convenient electric point can be amusing. After some time the staff was able to establish the complimentary and sometimes reluctant wifi connection.

Unbelievably, the toilet contains a modern rain and hand-held shower; there is no cubicle — just a plastic curtain to prevent water splashing the WC! Therefore, to use the toilet after your partner has taken a shower is challenging! Inside the bedroom there is a modern and attractive basin on teak base, with good plumbing — the hot water supply needs much patience and waste of a precious resource, and the pressure is limited. Some guests might dislike this lack of privacy for personal ablution.

The hotel is quiet, although at around 4 in the morning, discreet temple bells and drums can be heard. Some afternoons at around 5, there is also a small ‘school’ for Laotian folk music and dancing just above the reception area, and on one occasion we ‘gatecrashed’ the performance; it is quite charming and gratifying to know that local classical arts are being encouraged. However, some guests might find this ‘entertainment’ somewhat irritating. Walls are not particularly well insulated and you can hear chatter, neighbouring telephones and TV fairly early in the morning. Fortunately, most guests in LP are generally considerate.

Breakfast is taken on a pleasant terrace overlooking the quiet street opposite Wat Sop;
service is fairly quick from a menu offering orange juice, Lipton tea, good Lao coffee, milk, fresh French baguettes or white toast with butter and the usual oriental strawberry jam, fresh fruit, various egg dishes etc…

Summary: I very rarely like to leave a negative view, but at this mid-price range (quite expensive for the Far East) I would have expected a higher standard of room and general hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 68 in Luang Prabang
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#28 of 267 in Luang Prabang
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 267 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Khili, Sakkarine Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View Pavilion is a small boutique hotel ideally located in the Eastern penninsula area of Luang Prabang which is closed to all beautiful temples, Khan and Mekong River, night market and business center. The peaceful surroundings plus the scenic views of mountains and Khan River from the private balcony and the restaurant of The View Pavilion are the most outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Pavilion Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing