We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fails in important small details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is the sort of cute property you want to like but then there are gotchas.

My room - #103 – had no effective lock on the front door and the lock on the back door could have been picked with a paperclip.

Ignoring the security aspects, there were huge gaps around the door for bugs to come through. (I had a huge roach. So did my friend next door. Mosquitoes were everywhere .) I had to use furniture to jam the two sliding doors together to keep out the bugs.

The only “safe” on the property was a filing cabinet drawer in the office.

The A/C was not strong enough to cool a room in a reasonable amount of time in the very high heat of April so the hotel did let us leave the key in the power slot while we were out. (I was there with a tour group. An individual traveler might not have that offered.)

Wifi in room 103 was good. There is one computer in the main office –their official office computer—that they let us use too.

Read the reviews below for the good descriptions of the odd room configuration.

The price for the room seem high for the situation. I do wonder if the owner is investing properly on upkeep and maintenance. Next time I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

This is a very nice and quiet place to relax. The rooms are nice, the suroundings are nice and quiet, almost no traffic noise. The location is excellent with restaurants, markets and massage parlours in the close vicinity.
The lower road parallel to the river is just one block away.
Pagodas, Budha sachool and The Royal Ballèt Theater within waliking distances.
Missed a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower building are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kystfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The location on the quiet end of the main street is excellent, neighbouring a good french-style cafe and decent massage/spa place. The deluxe rooms on the top floor have a nice mountain view.
Otherwise there is not much positive to say about this place. The owner clearly knows very little about hotel design and management. The lower level staff are friendly and do their best, but the management staff is not very service minded.
The wifi router is placed in the owners house neighbouring the hotel, so the signal is weak at best.
Overall the hotel is terribly overpriced, especially if you don't get a deluxe room. There are far better options nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Quiet location however in walking distance to the little center of LP. We stayed on 2nd floor, room is nice but nothing special. The bathtub in the room is ridiculous, would be better to have more space or even better 2 more chairs and a small table. Only one reading lamp on bedside table which is definitely a big minus.
The shower is Asian style, has no tub and the drainage didn't work properly, after 3 minutes, the whole bathroom was under water. Hand-shower wasn't working, only the rain-shower. Breakfast was poor, right next door is one of the best cafes in LP, better go there. No bicycles on offer.
Nevertheless with all the downsides, I liked the balcony with the comfy chairs, great view over the mountain range, could sit there for hours and relax. One day before we left, the hotel below re-opened and their ACs are noisy and can be disturbing if sleeping with open windows.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - to enjoy the mountain view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank good4pandaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 days over New Year - and overall, really enjoyed it.

The location is convenient, down at the quieter end of the main tourist street, opposite two beautiful wats.

The room: came here directly from the Santi Resort and although it's definitely a couple of notches below the Santi in terms of comfort it's more than adequate. The layout of the room is a bit silly though with an enormous bath tub in the bedroom - wonder how many people really use it? Beds are very hard too. We were downstairs and had a nice little terrace outside the room.

The young staff were friendly and although they don't all have great English they were definitely trying hard to please. Nice little touches like evening snacks and water refills and the cute towel arranging thing that others have mentioned here.

Breakfast is on the balcony of the front building overlooking the street - no big buffet here but you can choose from a simple menu - chicken noodle soup and banana pancakes both good, the coffee and orange 'juice' less so!

For $90 a night (in high season) we thought it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The View Pavilion is at the far end of the peninsula on Sakkarine Road, within easy walking distance of the main shopping and eating areas, but far enough removed to be quiet and relaxing. We loved walking back to hotel at the end of the evening, knowing that we would find peace and quiet. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, with firm beds and adequate storage for clothes. The young staff were very friendly and engaging, although it was a struggle for some to express themselves clearly in english. It took patience to have a long conversation. The breakfast choice was somewhat limited, but it was so enjoyable eating on the balcony overlooking the street and the temples. The balcony is also a good place to watch the almsgiving ceremony that takes place every morning just across the street. The wi-fi was generally good although inconsistent (as in other parts of Laos). As others have noted, the bathroom floor does get wet when you use the shower, but - to us- this was a minor factor and no great inconvenience. Overall, we were very happy that we stayed in the View Pavilion - even though we were on the lower level so did not have the mountain view.

Room Tip: The four rooms on the upper level have the mountain view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel on a main but essentially quiet street, pleasant staff on duty at reception, sited at the rear; their English was limited but they were very willing. I did have the feeling that school leavers were ‘playing’ at running a hotel.

The garden is small but well kept with attractive flower arrangements, small trees and plants.

Our ground floor was approached by six fairly steep steps. Access is via a small verandah there are two heavy chairs (with cushions) and a coffee table, these were heavy to move and I had a bad foot so need to put it up a lot!
The only real ‘view’ from this floor is of the neighbouring Chang Guesthouse roofs, which was being renovated at the time so they started before 7am and finished later sometimes evening, so trying to relax after a busy day out was out of the question.

Our bedrooom was clean and was arranged but a little impractical. The fairly large space is dominated by a very large Jacuzzi-style bath,
Each morning, these are artistically folded and presented on the large twin beds, which are firm but very comfortable and with good quality linen, duvet and pillows. As we find so often in Asia, although there are several pieces of new teak furniture, storage and wardrobe space is limited, and there are no drawers. There is a coat stand (most useful), chair, fridge, kettle and complimentary beverages, and hunting for a convenient electric point can be amusing. After some time the staff was able to establish the complimentary and sometimes reluctant wifi connection.

Unbelievably, the toilet contains a modern rain and hand-held shower; there is no cubicle — just a plastic curtain to prevent water splashing the WC! Which soaks everywhere and using if afterwards was a mean feet, Inside the bedroom there is a modern and attractive basin on teak base, with good plumbing — the hot water supply needs much patience and waste of a precious resource, and the pressure is limited.

The hotel is quiet, although at around 4 in the morning, discreet temple bells and drums can be heard. Some afternoons at around 5, there is also a small ‘school’ for Laotian folk music and dancing just above the reception, but we were not warned so was quite noisy at times!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 68 in Luang Prabang
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#28 of 267 in Luang Prabang
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 267 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Khili, Sakkarine Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £33 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View Pavilion is a small boutique hotel ideally located in the Eastern penninsula area of Luang Prabang which is closed to all beautiful temples, Khan and Mekong River, night market and business center. The peaceful surroundings plus the scenic views of mountains and Khan River from the private balcony and the restaurant of The View Pavilion are the most outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Pavilion Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing