We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Thatsaphone Villa

Thatsaphone Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thatsaphone Villa
Ranked #111 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was a truly terrible to stay: smelly tiny bathroom, small cramped room with uncomfortable bed and incompetent night staff. Firstly, I spend like 1.5 walking around the town looking for this place because Agoda map was wrong. You'd think the proprietors would fix the map so people can find the place easier. After miraculous discovery of this place I had to spend 25 minutes proving to the night staff that I had a reservation. Wi-fi wasn't working and the staff computer wasn't working either. The bathroom had a shower head taped with duct tape. The only good thing was breakfast and the location.Even location was a liability because during the night main street leading to this place is packed to the gills with vendors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonVivant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Thatsaphone Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Recently stayed here, bathroom really smells, the toilet keeps filling for ages after you flush, the bed is damp and the smell is awful. The walls are dirty they also don't service the room every day ( no clean towels or toilet rolls provided)

The only good thing is the fact that the breakfast is good and the location is great

Room Tip: I believe the rooms upstairs here are marginally better
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Thatsaphone Villa was clean and quiet (there is some construction next door, but it's not intrusive). The staff did their job and the breakfast was good. Luang Prabang is beautiful, if sedate to the point of anesthesia. Thatsaphone Villa doesn't disturb this numbing tranquility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jartrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were surprised at the cost of staying in Luang Prabang, but found Thatsaphone a good option. It is basic, shower rooms small, but it is clean, comfortable and a good location in town. Staff were pleasant, don't speak much English, but one is an Arsenal supporter, so that is ok. There is a building site next door, but they didn't start work too early. We stayed a couple of nights and then came back for a night after our trip to Northern Laos.

Room Tip: If there is still a building site next door, get a room downstairs on the side away from the site.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were looking to spend between $30-40/night on a room in Luang Prabang, and I'm so glad we chose Thatsaphone. We paid $30/night in March 2011, and were completely satisfied. However, it should be said that if you're expecting super luxurious, 5-star service and details, you'd be disappointed. If you're an easy-going traveler who wants a place with a little character, a friendly welcome and some nice comforts, this place is ideal. As much as I enjoyed the air con, comfy beds with nice linens and friendly staff, the real knockout aspect for me was the location - down a tiny, quiet lane shaded with greenery and bougainvillea and other flowers. At one end of the lane is Th. Sisavangvong, the main drag in this part of town, and at the other is a wat with the most beautiful gardens in LPB. The leisurely stroll down from the wat to the hotel was a blissful part of each day.

Room Tip: See if you can arrange a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked for three nights but left after the first night. We paid $40 for a small upstairs bedroom. It was cleanish but very tatty. The bed was good. The main problem was the bathroom and plumbing. This hotel had the smallest en-suite i've ever seen. It was dingy and had many un-cleanable surfaces. The sit-out area needed a clean but it made little differance as it faced a noisy building site. Breakfast was OK and staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were a walk-in booking in the wet season, and the rates were very reasonable - $15 for the room - nice, comfy, mosquito nets, air-con. Perfect location in the middle of everything, but very quiet at night. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms upstairs that opens onto the nice verandah. I think they pricing is all the...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happycamper186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#57 of 266 in Luang Prabang
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#61 of 266 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#59 of 266 in Luang Prabang
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luang Prabang Residence
Luang Prabang Residence
#26 of 153 in Luang Prabang
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatsaphone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatsaphone Villa

Address: Ban Choumkong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatsaphone Villa is a fresh, new guest house in Luang Prapang, one of the prettiest and relaxing cities in South East Asia. Opened in 2008, we welcome guests from around the world with a traditional Laos smile and hospitality. Your pleasure is also our pleasure. We know that you will have an enjoyable stay at our well-furnished guest house. Thatsaphone Villa is owned and managed by a young Lao team and is perfectly situated in the city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thatsaphone Villa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing