We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect guesthouse at Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
Ranked #185 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Perfect guesthouse at Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is our 3rd day of our 8 days Laos trip after an 12 hours bus ride from Vientiane to Luang Prabang through a bumpy ride. When we reach Luang Prabang and we are so tire and I lucky I got TA advise to go to Jom’s café side lane where there are lots of backpacker and guesthouse. We found Xayana guesthouse where there are capsules and budget room that have 4 bedrooms for 120.000 kip.

Here is my review on Xayana Guesthouse:-
Hotel Environment: Beautiful guesthouse as we reach at night and the whole guesthouse are light up and the room are quite reasonable even than Vientiane. What a surprise!!

Around the hotel: There is an upscale parent hotel opposite the Xayana guesthouse with more expensive room and a restaurant attached to it. The whole lanes are full of guesthouse with a variety category room and type. The lane is between Jom’s cafe and the Pos office.

Hotel Service & Staff: The management is from Singapore and Malaysia which make us more comfortable. As usual the locals hardly speak English but the foreign management will make you feel more comfortable with the better hospitality.

Room Comfort: The room for 4 person is quite spacious and there are a balcony all belong to the our room. But the balcony is just for the 4 bedroom. There are double bedroom behind which is quite reasonable as well. Overall I found it to be good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
4
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Good place. Value for the money. It is not a party hostel but it is clean n close to things. It was a little disorganized by asking people to pay each day instead of a lump sum. Also they did not honour their 24hr cancellation policy. I booked the bed for three nights. I emailed them 24 hrs before check-in to let them know that I will arrive a day later but will still stay for three days. They charged me the full amount for the third night even though I paid the deposit. very disorganized

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasandra1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This place has a few rooms with shower and a/c and a dorm-type shared facility (the capsule part), which I didn't check out. It's near the head of the backpacker alley that starts near Cafe Joma. The same company owns a fancier hotel with restaurant across the street.

We got a room with two single beds for $15. There are both fans and a/c so you can choose whichever you prefer. The room was nothing special but clean, the beds were fine with sheets and blanket. Bathroom was clean too (shower and toilet together so floor gets wet) and hot water was sufficient. Soap and towel provided, no shampoo. No breakfast included, but there's plenty of cheap places to eat in the area.

The room had a shuttered windown with screen, it was cool enough at night to sleep without the a/c except the neighbors (another guesthouse) were having a loud party that kept one of us up. Late-night noise is not a huge issue in Luang Prabang, but the streets is almost all guesthouses packed close to each other, so you can get unlucky - as we did.

There's nothing spectacular about this place, but it's functional, clean and everything works. The room at the front has a king bed and two single beds plus a balcony overlooking the street, so it's brighter and can take a family or a small group. I think my friends got it for $18.

The guesthouse runs a small store on its ground floor that sells water, drinks (including beer), etc. so that's convenient. I think you can get toiletries too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laidback84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Xayana Guesthouse. We took a double room with fan. It's just 5 mins walk away from the night bazaar, a great location. There were basic amenities like hot shower, towels, and a clean room and bathroom, perfect for backpackers. There is also free internet at the reception office. However, the best part of the stay was that the staff could speak fluent English and were really helpful in answering our queries. There's also a really good restaurant across the road with great ambience in the evening. At the price of 80,000 kip per night, it was a good bargain. We'd definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
#81 of 146 in Luang Prabang
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somjith Guesthouse
Somjith Guesthouse
#54 of 146 in Luang Prabang
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#57 of 260 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#66 of 260 in Luang Prabang
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Chanthy Banchit Guest House
#151 of 260 in Luang Prabang
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#52 of 260 in Luang Prabang
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse

Property: MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
Address: Ban Hua Xieng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xayana Guesthouse is a Lao‐style Villa built on a UNESCO protected site, and in accordance with strict guidelines of an authentic heritage‐preserved building. Conveniently located just 3 minutes from the Mekong River, the night food bazaar, the Luang Prabang Night market, and the main road, Xayana Guesthouse is the best value guesthouse for all your travel needs in Luang Prabang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xayana Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing