We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sokdee Residence”
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sokdee Residence
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Upon descending from the slow boat from Houai Sai, Laos, you will be greeted by a horde of hotel representatives who will whisk you away in their tuk tuks for a look of their properties. There is little to worry about should you not have any reservations as there are ample choices to make with only your budget and personal choices setting the limits.

Sokdee is conveniently located about 2 blocks from the main commercial district of the old town where the night market is held and where most of the visitors congregate.

It is a simple and well furnished guesthouse. Clean bathroom although there was a gigantic hole in the shower in my room. Good, cool a/c, quiet and reasonably priced at about $25 per night without breakfast. While nothing special, it is a place to hang your hat without worrying about much else. There are many, many places to choose from and if so, stay a night and do a better search in the morning after you have rested after the two day boat ride.

I shopped around for another place for the next four nights, but not before doing a search on trip advisor to see what others had to say. My review on the Chang Inn will be posted shortly.

It is a five minute walk to the commercial center where restaurants and shops are plentiful.

Your stay in Luang Prabang may well be the highlight of your visit to Laos, finding a great place to stay will make your visit even more memorable.

Room Tip: Always try to choose the upper level so you will not be under the footsteps of "heavy walkers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very nicely located walking, within a couple minutes stroll of central town. Very reasonably priced rooms (low season) with hotel quality and service to match. The new manager is very personable and eager to please. Big potential for Sokdee to be standout accommodation once the restaurant/bar and dinning area are complete. that said there is still a massive abundance of places to wine and dine close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place is very small and has got 8 rooms with 2star rating . The rooms are very nice and clean ,wifi is working well , the staff are not to good on English but the manager Surinda speaks it sufficently .Sokdee is very well located near the centre and 100 m away from the river , where you find all the restaurants along the Mekong . They also have Sokdee guesthouse which is not so comfortable but it is very very cheap. www.sokdeeresidence.com I stayed there one night and it was fine . The bed was good and the shower was even beter than in the more expensive room ( also totaly resonable)
I have seen bad revieuws on this hotel but the place has now got this new manager and he is really going for it . Nice young man . They are all trying very hard , but this is Laos , sometimes you must have some patience . In all this is a real good choise if you like it Original .

Room Tip: It depends on what you want to pay but after that all the rooms have the same quality for the more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I accidentally walked into this recidence, its very close to the night market and Main Street. The residence has recently been improved, rooms have been renovated and that certainly pays off. The rooms range from low to higher prices but even the cheapest rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated. Personnel is friendly and I decided today to extend my stay with 2 more nights. I certainly recommend it here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya198511k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Location is good. Quiet back streeta minutes walk from the night market. No wifi. American breakfast-does anyone know what that means? Appearently-no fresh vegetables /cornflakes/fresh milk/second cup of coffee! Every shower ended in overflow. Staff not too friendly. Price too high for what you get. A shame.
at that means? No vegetables or fresh milk, apparently.
Every shower ended in an overflow. Not too friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Sokdee Residence as a premise is quite good. The rooms are decent, clean and its centrally located on a nice humble and quite street.

What so bad about it is the people managing it. Service is poor, no smiles and warmth, and it seems that as if you're at their mercy once you checked in. And its also apparent from the way they maintain the premises. Several items are in need of a good repair. In our case it was the shower door, the broken shower floor, cabinet door etc etc.

We had 5 nights in LP but only stayed 2 nights after they banged on our doors (not a polite knock mind you but a serious banging at 9am in the morning) just to confirm whether we would want to extend our stay. Naturally, that's a sign of their poor service and poorly trained staff, so we left and easily found better guesthouse elsewhere.

We paid US$50 per night ... and they don't even provide free hot water and tea/coffee making facility like most guesthouse do.

Room Tip: Balcony room facing the main road allows good view of the morning alms giving to the monks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Footsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The room was big, and it has nice wooden walls, but the bathrooms was pretty horrible and the window net was badly tapped up when we arrived and we had to re do it when we got there. The over head fan was wobbling ominously, it looked a little bit like it might fall out of the ceiling on us so we didn't use it. Our room was out outside of the main building down some shabby concrete steps which wasn't great. They let us use the computer for free which was good, but the staff didn't seem to care about anything once you had checked in. We stayed for one night then left and found lots of much better accommodation just out of town on Phomathat round which is a much nicer, less touristy area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#38 of 68 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 68 in Luang Prabang
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#42 of 68 in Luang Prabang
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rama
Rama
#58 of 68 in Luang Prabang
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the beautiful surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing