We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for an AMAN hotel”
Review of Amantaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amantaka
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

There was nobody else staying as it is low season now, the place was totally soulless but as a result we were very well attended to (as there was nobody else around!)
Really great pool, very refreshing and great location but seriously lacking character.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank InspectorCluso2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Amantaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Fifth Aman experience and I'd say the best so far!
Nothing about this place can be criticised from the moment you're met of the aircraft at Luang Prabang Airport, the the moment you leave. As with every Aman I've stayed at, they somehow manage to read your mind as to what will make your stay perfect and to the details they put into your excursions to make sure you get an authentic experience without crowds of other tourists around you! It almost seems like you have the place to yourself.
The food was excellent - at least the Lao food was as we stayed away from the Western varieties! The room was top specification and extremely comfortable.
There is nothing to criticise - can't wait for my next Aman experience!
Thanks....

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect - some are more luxurious than others - we were upgraded to a room with our ow...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

One of the best hotels in south east asia! We enjoeyd every minute. Amazing service and estetically perfect in every way. Aman is universe made better.

Try riding bikes in Luang Prabang and go on a river cruise in the hotels own nice boat.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restlesshedonist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It all starts at the front desk. A highly trained, professional staff - and a personable front desk manager - greet you when you arrive, all of whom speak fluent English. Whatever your particular needs - have problems with your camera? - staff will lean over backwards to try and take care of any problem you might experience. A beautiful, historic location, the rooms are specious and clean. Conveniently located, it's just a short walk to Luang Prabang's famous Night Market, a block away from the Mekong River. A unique resort. It's worth your time to visit their web site.

Room Tip: Ask to speak to the front desk manager and seek her recommendation.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

A very well run, top class establishment. Rooms are clean, the buildings are well maintained. The staff is very attentive to all your needs. From a wet cold napkin handed to you when you walk in from the outside, to coming in at 5.30 am to serve us breakfast before we left. To offering us a bottle of wine at dinner.
Food could be improved, not in taste or quality, but in value of ingredients. A little less profit on F&B would be in line with prices charged for room and board.
But overall a very nice experience. Very expensive, but worth every penny. Mr Z. thanks for bending the rule and installing wi-fi. When is the TV coming?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalthierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It's quite hard to describe a property like Amantaka cause it's unique, exceptional and marvelllous so the best way would be to say that Amantaka is our home in Luang Prabang. We definitively feel like at home in this historical and wonderfully renovated building and this second stay we've just spent has confirmed than Taka is really one of the three best Amans.
Everything in this magnificent property is immaculate and truly impressive. If you stay one day at Amantaka, you'll understand what means "space". We stayed again in the massive and ultra comfortable Amantaka Suite which is a delight of estheticism and elegance. More than 600 sq. meters of pure indulgence where everything has been designed for you to feel like a king. At the rear of the suite is a secret garden with its huge private heated pool, a "plus" of you want to enjoy it during the cool mornings in Luang Prabang. This suite is so great we almost didn't want to leave it but it would be a shame cause Luang Prabang has so much to offer and with the new compulsory board charge including one excursion per day, you'll discover "in style" this small town I consider as the "gem" of Asia. Walking in this adorable town along the Mekong or near the Khan river which is even more charming and in the afternoon, coming back at Taka is the best treat you can offer to yourself.
In the afternoon, the library is the place to be to enjoy some delicious cakes with a cup of tea and later on, the spa will bring you right to the Nirvana. Following the best treatment you can expect, don't miss the spectacular "wet room" where you'll find different pools, a steam and a sauna in the great elegance of this superb property.
I was justly talking about discretion and elegance about the property. These two words are totally appropriate to describe the Amantaka family, a team of people working with heart and providing the ultimate service the most discerned traveller can expect. Lao people are quite shy but they always have a real smile on the face and at Taka, they will really do their best for you to have an unforgettable stay. On his side, Gary, the very efficient GM will ensure you'll keep a lifetime memory of your stay at Amantaka and we've been so happy to see how this young Aman is better and better and now absolutely ready to rivalize with the firstly created properties where the standard of service is at its top.
Amantaka is a discreet and serene Aman in the heart of the magical Luang Prabang. We even love to hear the laughs of kids leaving school at the back of our private garden and the sound of the life around is a part of the charm of this Aman we sincerely love more and more.
We truly enjoyed every second spent at Amantaka starting with the generous smile of the waiter delivering the breakfast in our suite to the fantastic professionalism of the therapist at the spa; from the very attentive staff in the entrance always bringing you a cold towel when you come back from an excursion to the management team so implicated in the guest satisfaction and again, what a beautiful property.
We already plan to go back in september this year cause rarely a place charmed us so much...

Room Tip: Prefer the Amantaka Suite if you like space and luxury but Khan Suite is a great alternative with mo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The setting of this rare in-town Aman is breathtakingly beautiful, especially when lit by hundreds of paper lanterns in the evenings. Unlike the remote Amans you do hear sounds from the local neighbors just outside of the resort walls (rooster and music, sometimes school children as there's a school immediately adjacent to one side of the resort), but to me it adds charm to the whole experience. The hotel arranges a fantastic array of excursions and cultural experiences - the cooking class and river boat ride to the caves are two favorites. The cooking class was very well-planned: it's set at a scenic organic farm off-site, you get to visit a local morning market and do the prep yourselves, so you feel like you actually learned something. The boat ride on a private longtail fitted to Aman standards was simply a delight. I've seen similar scenery in Guilin, China, but there you'd have to share the river with countless other boats overloaded with tourists and blasting canned commentary from loudspeakers. Here in Luang Prabang you only occasionally run into another boat, and it's incredible to experience it all in privacy... Come visit soon though I hear they're extending the airport and will be offering lots more flights soon.

Even though we visited during high season and the hotel was quite full, the management very graciously accomodated our request for a room change. Speaking of rooms, here there are two types of pool villas so be sure to book the Khan pool villa which is much superior to the regular one. Of course if you're lucky enough to book or be upgraded to the Amantaka suite (the earlier rave reviews seem to be all about this room), don't say no...

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank teafortwosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 68 in Luang Prabang
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £561 - £975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a large garden estate, Amantaka is housed in graceful French colonial buildings in the UNESCO protected town of Luang Prabang. Airy and elegant throughout, the décor and furnishings reflect the town's French colonial history. Situated just south of Phousi Hill, the resort is within strolling distance of the boutiques, bakeries and restaurants lining the town's main street. The fabled night market, the picturesque banks of the Mekong River and the former Royal Palace are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing