We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Luangprabang”
Review of Amantaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amantaka
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really love this hotel and decoration are the fabulous even hotel are use to be old building since French Era...but food is ok not too good as should be by the way I really enjoy atmosphere and take a pictures there. Moreover staff are very welcoming as on that day I reach there no guests occupied so they show us around and take a pictures for me and my friends. That is really touch and you are the best -*- Look forward to be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_fabbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We also very much enjoyed our stay at Amantaka and for the same reasons as already so often mentioned by other reviewers. The room, food, location and, most of all, the staff, are terrific. I don’t feel a need to go into detail about these items as so many other reviewers have done such a nice job of that.

It is such an easy place to stay. There are no specific times for meals - just come when you are hungry. If you need laundry done just toss it in the hamper - no forms required. Housekeeping just knows when you are away to tend to your room. We wanted to send some purchases home to avoid carrying them - no problem, just drop them off and they shipped them back. For us everything was effortless. I'm sure it isn't effortless to create this environment but we sure enjoyed the fruits of their work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Amantaka is a great hotel if you are looking for a sanctuary of luxury and quietness in Luang Prabang. The hotel is in the center of the city, and most other restaurants and city attractions are walking distance. The restaurant is very good, with a choice of Western and Laotian food. The service is excellent, and the spa is highly recommended as well. No TV in rooms, but wifi available everywhere. Note that the hotel offers several excursions with your own private guide and car, and these are very well organized and planned. We will definitely return there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois-Serge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at the aman for 3 nights recently and the service truly lives up to the Aman standards. Every single details is looked into. Turndown service includes them moving that glass and preparing a new bottle of water to be by your bedside. Ice is refreshed in your bucket daily. Rooms are big and beautiful. and every night before you sleep, a little gift is left on the bed for you.

The local surrounding is tranquil and pretty so the grounds and hotel reflects this perfectly.

Food was amazing, from local beef noodles to the breakfast french toast with caramelized bananas. We couldn't stop eating.

Service was also personal and the best as I never once had to tell anyone what room number i'm in to bill to or where to take my bag to but they knew! and did not get a single detail wrong.

The resort also helped organise a boat trip to the caves. The boat ride itself was pleasant but the cave wasn't much to shout about.

The perfect quiet getaway!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayhayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have just enjoyed a most salubrious, but all top short a stay in this haven of "cool": my second "heritage" Aman experience. Fabulous to see such a stately colonial era building reincarnated from an old French hospital into gorgeous impeccably appointed suites attended by unpretentious, knowledgeable and caring staff and enhanced by really lovely food. Korn the Spa manager, a great enthusiast and Berenice in the front office a soul of kindness. Highlights included the moving Buddhist monk images created by Hans Georg Berger; scholar and photographer extraordinaire displayed throughout the hotel and rooms, the exquisite, innovative, hand-woven, naturally dyed clothing designed by Sachiko Kobayashi in the boutique; the pre dawn giving of rice to the monks that was so sensitively and respectfully led by their impressive cultural + artistic ambassador, Tiao David Somsanith; but mostly the visit to the Living Land project that Amantaka support. Managed by 2 inspiring brothers, Lautlee and Sialee, this wonderful organic farm supports 7 families, feeds rice to many more, is used as a venue for cooking classes, and sells their produce to the hotel and a few other enlightened chefs in Luang Prabang. I was touched by Luang Prabang, its people and this gem of a very fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights in the beginning of October in a Kahn Pool Suite.

Pre arrival and arrival
The team at Amantaka was really great before our arrival, assisting us with everything we needed in order to plan our stay. Always quick, helpful and friendly answers – and upon arrival we found that everything was done exactly according to our wishes.

We were met at the airport by a representative from Amantaka collected our suitcases while we took care of the visa application. The new airport is open and everything went smoothly. The car was waiting outside and the drive to Amantaka took just a bit more than 10 minutes. Cold towels and water available, just like we are used to. Upon arrival at Amantaka we were met by Gary the GM and other members of the team. We were served a very nice welcome drink while Gary sat with us to tell us about the resort and Luang Prabang. We were then showed to our suite where the quick paperwork was done. They also had a wonderful little booklet with our program for outings, spa treatments and special dinners in it. Everything perfect.

Accommodation
We loved our Khan pool suite, very spacious, plenty of places to put all our things, a really comfortable bed (with mattress topper!) for us in the main bedroom and an extra bed for our son in the living room. Very large bathroom and wardrobe area, a nice freestanding bath tub and a separate shower room. Outside we had a lovely private, walled garden with lots of sun where we found comfortable loungers, a table for three and our own private pool. The first two days it was not extremely hot, actually a bit chilly at night, so we asked for the pool heating to be put on. This turned out to be extremely efficient, so we asked for it to be turned off again later during the stay, as it was almost too hot in there. Good to know for visits when the climate is colder.

Service
Service was very good, warm, personal and friendly. The GM Gary was always around to greet us and have a little chat when we went out for or arrived back from activities. Other senior management also came by regularly to take very well care of us. All requests answered and taken care of quickly, no problems with language, nothing to complain about at all – and that is the way it should be. We really felt at home at Amantaka.

Food
All meals are served in the main restaurant, poolside or in your own suite. There are fixed menus with plenty of choices for breakfast and lunch, and a new dinner menu every night where one can choose between Lao or international food. We preferred the Lao food, though after a couple of days we sort of felt like something else since there is not as much variation in the Lao kitchen as in for example the Thai or Chinese kitchen.
We had two private dinners during our stay, one Lao menu and one international, both really delicious. The private dinners were set up in our suite’s garden, complete with lots of candles, a private waiter and one day even our own musician.
Room service is extremely efficient, of course partly because there is no long walk or drive between kitchen and suites like in other Amans. I had my morning coffee in less than 3 minutes no matter when I called for it and also drinks, lunch and snacks came in almost no time after we ordered it – no mistakes either.

Activities
The highlights of our trip, were all the activities.

We started the first day with a walk/tuk tuk drive around the Luang Prabang town to see a number of the beautiful temples. Our very knowledgeable guide also showed us the morning market and the former royal palace. A good way to get to know the town before further exploration on our own.

In the evening we visited the night market where we had the chance to buy a number of lovely and very cheap souvenirs. Quite touristy compared to the morning market, but still a nice visit. It is close enough to walk there or Amantaka will send their tuk tuk to take you there and/or to pick you up.

On day 2 we went to cruise the Mekong river with the beautiful Aman boat. We truly enjoyed the boat, the picnic lunch Aman style with cold white wine, the scenery and also the cave with all the Buddha statues.
In the evening we had a private baci ceremony. A lovely and beautiful ritual.

Next day it was time for the visit to the bear sanctuary and the nearby waterfall. Our son (especially) really enjoyed hiding food for the bears and watching them find it, and the nice woman working there showed us around and gave us a lot of information. The waterfall was beautiful but relatively full of tourists.

We had our first of two private dinners this evening after seeing a traditional dance performance by the Amantaka pool. Lovely set up of the dinner outside our suite with lots of candles, our own musician and tasty Lao food.

Day 4 started with an early morning market together with a chef from Amantaka who was able to explain everything about the different ingreients. It is a very friendly and clean market compared to similar markets in other Asian cities, and we very much enjoyed it. We ended this by a visit to a local coffee shop to try the Lao coffee and local “donuts”. We went to a traditional coffee place where we would never have sat down alone and liked it a lot. After breakfast in the hotel, we went for a short private visit to a temple currently under restoration where we were shown and told about the work in progress. From there we went on to Amantakas wonderful organic farm where we enjoyed a cooking class in a beautiful open traditional house with views to the sticky rice fields. Following the instructions from one of the Amantakas chefs, we were able to make a very tasty meal of four or five traditional dishes which we enjoyed later on in a beautiful private bale.

On our last full day, we started with a very early morning wake up call to give alms to the monks passing by just before sunrise. As this day was Amantakas 4th birthday, the hotel management had invited the monks to enter the walls surrounding Amantaka and to pass by just in front of the main entrance where we and other guests plus a number of employees were waiting with sticky rice, cookies, fruits and other alms to the monks passing by. A very memorable experience.

After breakfast we went by car with a driver and a guide to visit three remote villages in the mountains 45 hours drive from Luang Prabang. The primitive houses and the lives and every day routines of the people living there was shown and explained to us and we were able to take loads of pictures of everything.

Another great private meal in the evening, another night in the comfortable beds and we were packing our suitcases and on our way to Amansara on the 2 o’clock afternoon flight.

Others
Beginning of October was a beautiful time of year to visit Amantaka. The rain had more or less stopped (some rain at night two or three times), and we had beautiful sunshine most days, maybe a bit cloudy in the morning, but clear later on.

Conclusion
A lovely resort with lots of varied and interesting things to see close by. Wonderful rooms, service and food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August 2013 and had a truly amazing experience! Our only complaint is that we could not stay longer! All aspects of the hotel were spectacular. Service at Aman properties seems to be the key differentiating factor. Every single staff member was wonderful. The highlight of the trip was the surprise birthday party for my partner in our private pool courtyard--so sweet, so touching!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWarriorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 70 in Luang Prabang
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 70 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 70 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £708 - £1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a large garden estate, Amantaka is housed in graceful French colonial buildings in the UNESCO protected town of Luang Prabang. Airy and elegant throughout, the décor and furnishings reflect the town's French colonial history. Situated just south of Phousi Hill, the resort is within strolling distance of the boutiques, bakeries and restaurants lining the town's main street. The fabled night market, the picturesque banks of the Mekong River and the former Royal Palace are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing