We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of Villa Le Tam Tam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Le Tam Tam
Ranked #56 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a good hotel if you don't want to spend too much. It's very well located and the staff is very helpful If you need them. You could book tours at the hotel, and the staff are willing to arrange bus or flight tickets. The room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in villa le tam tam on two separate occasions and found it nice to return to the friendly staff and great location. Wi-fi was available and staff knowledge helpful. We had one morning with breakfast.. Nice, simple. But if you prefer to wander for more choice.. Everything is close by. Recommend the early rise to see Monks at 6am.. And the Laos coffee is fab!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are on the ground floor, doubles on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on 2 separate visits to Laos. It is centrally located, well priced and the rooms are very good indeed. We chose to take a room without breakfast, rather preferring to go out instead.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in this 2 storey hotel. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximus765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed there for a few nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Since it was low season, we had a big room with a private balcony for 20$. The room was clean and the bathroom too. However, the employees were rude and we did not feel welcomed in the guesthouse anymore, I think it's because they wanted us to leave so they could book the room for more money than what we paid, since it was full at the end of our stay. So you should go there but don't book on the internet, because the other people were paying 25$ for a less nice room than ours (during low season).
And you should consider booking your tours or bus tickets with them cause they are the cheapest in town.

Room Tip: The room we had was B4 with a private balcony and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlibrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

DO NOT TOUCH IT! Our experience at Villa Le TamTam so NEARLY ruined our stay in Luang Prabang; in Laos, and even Indochina itself. 1st night - my family had had a hot dusty day and needed warm water to shower - none available in the disgustingly dirty bathroom! Yes, we could have used cold water but the sheets were not clean so... going down to ask for any warm water available and clean sheets - we would change them ourselves - we were met by a VERY rude employee who after several discussions finished the conversation with .. if you want clean sheets - then go up the road and pay $500/night!!! His aggressive attitude, disregard for customer service, rudeness .. even after speaking to the manager on the phone meant - as we couldnt leave there and then (after midnight etc) we spent the night with chairs behind the doors as protection - looking for another villa. We were due to stay 2 plus one night.. we got out 7am next morning without breakfast and - with agreement with the manager - without paying for that horrendous night. Luckily our next 2 villas and our stay with the elephants put Laos where it belongs: as one of the friendliest courteous countries on the planet... pity TAMTAM is not of the same world!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normansfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

To put this review in context, I have been in South East Asia for over a year, and have stayed in many hotels in that time. I would have to say that this was probably my favourite because it does all the things that a good hotel should. The one small negative (which I will cover before moving on to the overwhelming positives) is that the wifi is not that strong unless you are near the lobby. This wasn't a problem for us because, when we did want to use our computer, the lobby was a nice place to sit. I really only mention this because some people seem to need to have perfect wifi so they can sit in their rooms on the internet all day even when they're in a place like Luang Prabang. Each to their own I guess.
The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and a private balcony. The rooms were pretty big for a hotel in this price range and there was more than enough storage space for all of our luggage. Furthermore, they are cleaned everyday.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the night market and definitely in walking or cycling distance to all of the main attractions. However, as it is down a small road it is still nice and peaceful.
When we did have a small problem, the staff were able to rectify it immediately. On our first night, we found that the air conditioning unit had some water leaking out of. When I mentioned this to the charming lady at the reception, she came to the room, took one look at the water on the floor, apologised profusely and said she would like to move us to another room which we accepted and found to be even bigger and nicer than our initial room.
Finally, and to reconfirm, the staff are absolutely excellent. They have a huge smile permanently on their faces, and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. We were lucky enough to be in Luang Prabang for the festival marking the end of Buddhist lent, and the staff invited us to join them for the evening. We went with them to the river where there were hundreds of people putting floats into the water and setting off fireworks. After that, they took us to Wat Xieng Thong where there were thousands of people milling around, with lights and incredible paper floats everywhere. The atmosphere was electric and I don't think we would have ended up seeing it if it hadn't been for the staff from Vila le Tamtam.
All in all, a wonderful stay and a very comfortable base from which to discover the magic of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jyu73j46j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

We've moved out of 2 different hotels before finding this one. Luang Prabang is not as cheap as you'd think, and for that - this hotel is probably one of the better bargains around. We've stayed 3 nights there.
Location is excellent - quiet, short walk from the main street, night market and the Mekong river. Rooms are spacious and comfortable though a little dark. Breakfast was quite big and very good (optional; costs 2$). Upper rooms are better and costs around 2$ extra, worth upgrading.
Laundry's expansive and can be found by 8000 kip everywhere around.
Staff is young and loose, going out together a few times a week, playing the guittar, bedminton on the street and generally very fun, though not English fluent. Trips can be organized easily and for better prices at the travel agencies on the main street. Also to mention Bee who helped us a lot with finding a hotel in Thailand and for ordering us Flight tickets for the same price as the website.
Tip for the hotel: try to add some stronger light to the rooms, and also fix some better solution for the hot water opening in room #B1.
A warm recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tsafrir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
#81 of 142 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Tam Tam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Tam Tam

Property: Villa Le Tam Tam
Address: Ban Houaxieng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Le Tam Tam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a quiet street, just off Luang Prabang's main road, Villa Le Tam Tam offers offers a unique experience in Luang Prabang.You will enjoy a calm and relaxing stay, while remaining within walking distance from the city's main attractions.This family owned guest house will guarantee you warm hospitality and comfortable accommodation.All rooms are light and spacious, and provide both the comfort of a modern fitting and the enjoyment of traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Le Tam Tam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing