We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good value rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Guesthouse
Ranked #165 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
303 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great location and good value rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Refreshing to find a modest price ($30 - breadfast $3.50 extra). We had downstairs rooms on the side. good size rooms and bathrooms, good hot water, good beds. Breakfast on deck on Riverside very pleasant. Quiet location that many places in this delightful world heritage French colonial town. Excellent same day laundry service at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: top rooms upstairs have balcony looking across to the river. rooms with private bathroom are a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Luang Prabang and wished we stayed longer. The guesthouse is on the Nam Khan riverside in a very quiet part of Luang Prabang, but only a few minutes walk to many restaurants, and a few more mins to the night market area. I loved the tree lined street and view across the river.
We had the balcony room which had a lovely outlook to the river. The room was large and spacious with good air con, little fridge, TV etc. The wood panelling did make the room dark, but this didn’t bother us as we preferred to sit outside. The bed was very comfortable with fresh linen each day.
We did have problems with the bathroom. While it was large and in the ‘wet room’ style, the drain was blocked and we found the whole bathroom floor would get ‘flooded’ when showering. In fact, the area behind the toilet had a constant puddle. The sink’s plug device was not working so we had to pull it out to allow the water to drain. But despite these minor faults, the hot water was ample with good water pressure.
We had breakfast one day at the tables across the road which was OK but lacked variety and served stale thin sliced white bread (which is a shame given the beautiful breads and rolls available in LP). So we ate breakfast elsewhere even though it was included in our room rate.
Be warned about the steep steps up to the room from reception – we didn’t mind, but people who have any mobility issues would struggle and small children could easily take a tumble. Also, when you're catching a tuk-tuk, make sure you say the riverview guesthouse on the Nam Khan river as there are 2 other guesthouses with similar names - our poor tuk-tuk drove around for a while before finding someone who knew where it was to direct him.
All in all a comfortable stay at a lovely guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
733 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a small guesthouse that we found after we checked out of our reserved hotel which was way out of town. We had a small room without a balcony as the room with the balcony was not available. It is very clean and comfortable although the beds are quite hard. It is in a great location overlooking the river and very close to all the temples and attractions in town. The price is very good. The staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay here again but reserve the room with the balcony that is much larger.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed for 4-nights at the Villa Riverside Nam Khan in November as part of a tour of Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. Based on other reviews we had decided to book the upstairs ‘luxurious VIP’ room with full length balcony. We had arranged for taxi transfers from the airport at the time of booking.

The guesthouse is well-sited overlooking the Nam Khan river which joins the Mekong a few minutes walk away. The room was a good size and had WiFi internet connection although this was slow at times. The wood panelling certainly made the room quite dark and as we have found in other guest houses there was limited light to read by. Unfortunately the word ‘VIP’ is used a lot abroad and often with little cause. The bathroom was also a good size and although basic had plenty of hot water and was in a ‘wet room style’.

There is a house being built next to the guest house which unfortunately generated a lot of building noise from early in the morning although this will obviously only last as long as the building takes to complete. Although the small street was fairly quiet in terms of traffic the neighbours dogs were loudly barking for a lot of the time.

Breakfast was not included although food was served across the road next to the river. There are a number of eating places in Luang Prabang so we tended to eat a few minutes walk away. There are complimentary bottles of water supplied each day but you must remember to hand in the room key so that the room is made up and the supplies are replenished. The on-site manager was always helpful and on hand to answer any queries or questions that we had.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

A small hotel, a guest house in some countries. Immaculately clean and well kept large room. We did have the VIP balcony room which runs the width of the front of the property giving a good view of the Nam Kahn river opposite. It was a good size room with air conditioning, fridge, tv and a good size bath/wet room. A large breakfast is served outdoors on their small veranda restaurant on the opposite side of the very quiet road over the river. Breakfast was not expensive but included, a point perhaps to note if doing price comparisons with other hotels. On request they made us a large baguette sandwiches for a picnic lunch for a trip one day. Really helpful hosts, will answer any questions but not at all intrusive if you want a quiet time. A 2 min walk to the nearest temple which hosted several cultural events in the 4 days we were there and only 10 minutes walk to the main street for restaurants and night market. All sights in the town are within easy walking distance and you can hire bicycles cheaply here or elsewhere if you want to move a little quicker. Rooms downstairs would not have a view but are reasonable size and similarly well kept. I would definitely use again if in LP but I would want the balcony room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We had booked another Villa for our stay in Luang Prabang, but left after one night as it was so awful. Riverside happily gave us two rooms at slightly inflated prices, but it had just opened and everything was very clean and lovely. We stayed downstairs for two nights, and then in the river front room upstairs for our last night. Our friends stayed upstairs for the duration of our stay.
Definitely try and get rooms upstairs, as the light downstairs is poor, and rooms are dark most of the day. Rooms upstairs are dark too, due to the dark wood walls, but the bigger windows and elevation do bring in more light.
The main thing about Riverside was the lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were all eager to know more about us and practice their english.
Will definitely stay again when we go back

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

very nice guesthouse. convenient location. we made reservations and they took care of the rest.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valuesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#53 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nammavong Guesthouse
#200 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Symoungkoun Guest House
Symoungkoun Guest House
#109 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guesthouse

Property: Riverside Guesthouse
Address: Ban khili, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing