We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you could hang out here the whole day”

Dyen Sabai Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Barbecue, Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dyen Sabai offers Lao typical food. From November to August, we offer breakfast. We also have a nice selection of desert (foreigner sweet.. sorry the Laotians don't eat that much sweet!!) We also, have happy hour from noon to 7 pm, 2 cocktails for the price of one, on selected cocktails. You can reach us with a bamboo bridge (in dry season) (there is a fee for the bamboo bridge of 5,000 kips from 8 am to 8 pm, after this the bamboo bridge is free). We also do free boat from noon to closing when the bamboo bridge is not there (rainy season only)
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“you could hang out here the whole day”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Actually I wanted to get some pizza at the other side of the river, but the restaurant was closed so I stumbled across this little gem.
It's located across the river, accessible by the bamboo bridge that is charging 2k kip until 6pm. After 6pm it's free.
The restaurant has a lot of comfy lower tables with pillows to sit on. But they also have "normal" tables. The scenery is beautiful, dominated by a lot of bamboo, dark wood and the colorful pillows. There are not a lot of tables with a riverview but one or two.
They have a small menu with selected specialties. I went for the "Water Buffalo stew with rice".
The stew came in a awesome earthen jug and also tasted very good. It was cooked with the bamboo inside so you had to sort out a bit but that's due to the way of preparing and not a bad thing. It gives a unique flavor. If I remember right, the dishes was priced at around 60k.
I you take a book or your tablet to this place, you will certainly just hang around here the whole day.
Definite recommendation!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    365
    84
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We went there several times as we really enjoyed it! The atmosphere is wonderful and the food was one of the best I had in Luang Prabang. Try the fondue or the tasting plate, you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank VickySim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top class atmosphere, expensive”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We came here many times due to being ill from other places. We enjoyed the fusion style food, albeit quit expensive. The drink specials were nice, as were the regular fruit shakes.

Everything was a bit small, but made up for with the atmospheric covered exterior. A good place to stop for a few drinks, or late night dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious meal”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

this was just a short walk from our resort and on the "road" to the bamboo bridge... We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the food was delicious, the ambiance delightful and very reasonably priced. Definitely recommend this restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RogerinYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude waiters! ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my mum after reading about it in the Laos lonely planet guide.

As soon as we arrived- we were not greeted by staff at all, so we decided to find our own table.

A staff member then came and dumped some menus.
They only provided us the cheap drinks menu and not the food and full drinks which were distributed to everyone else.

I sensed a feeling if unwelcome - I admit we weren't looking too flash...We had been walking around town all day and it had been raining earlier so we didn't look our best by the time we made it there it was 6ish... But this was no excuse.

We ordered some drinks and watched and waited as others arrived. They were mainly couples who were shown to a table. They were waited on hand an foot! Even offered much needed mosquito repellent candles to burn during their dinner - but we weren't even though the same waiter had our area.

When our drinks came, I asked to have one of the complimentary board games to use- the waiter literally barked at me to go get them myself then waked off.

At that point, we decided to skull out drinks and eat dinner elsewhere!
Won't be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyen Sabai Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dyen Sabai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing