We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar, Amazing Food - Top Place in Luang Prabang”
Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Perth, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Bar, Amazing Food - Top Place in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We traveled to Luang Pranang during Low Season and had been recommended the Hive bar by other travelers. A little different from the usual bar in Laos but a great place to visit and relax. Well priced Drinks, and great food (Good selection of both local and western) The Hive has the Best Bacon I have eaten by a long way and this is shown in a lot of the good food they serve. The Owner (Troy) is friendly and can give some good advise on things to do in town, and the right people to speak organize things. Excellent Service in a great environment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmyBee0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Its nice to hear that other travelers are talking about hive and giving you a great recommendation. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Verden (Aller), Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST BACON”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Best bacon breakfast ever! Loved it! Friendly staff and the owner, Troy, takes time and chats with you over a beerlao - truly a great place :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiquita707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review and praise of our Ultimate Bacon Breakfast. Word is getting out ... Hive has the best bacon breakfast in Luang Prabang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing dancing!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We went in just to find out what the show was about. We were planning to come back to this Instead we ended up staying. We met the owner and he convinced us. The dancing was amazing. The kids who danced Hip Hop learned on their own. We also enjoyed local beer and food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anuka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you decided to spend the night at hive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tiny expensive pizza, nice place, good service, reasonably priced drinks”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Went during low season so it was pretty quiet, that is to me expects though. Found the portion sizes very small and the food expensive. Wouldn't recommend eating there, though drinks and well priced and it is a nice place to chill out. Hip hop show was good fun to watch. Can imagine it is a great place to go during high season for a few drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhys566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thanks for your review of hive. Your comment reminded me of the time I called a pizzeria and asked them if they had a two for the price of one special. They guy on the phone says, "Sure, I can make you two crappy pizzas or I can make you one really great pizza". Our pizzas are 9 inches, made with fresh homemade hand rolled dough, imported 100% mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. We could buy cheaper "pizza cheese" like some do but we think using a more expensive product makes our pizzas better. The meats we use are smoked on the premise and are very high quality. To get this quality takes time and work. For example, it takes over a week to make the bacon we use on our pizzas. Our prices are about the same as other pizzas in Luang Prabang ... but look what you are getting at hive. We have never had a complaint about portion sizes ... our monster Mekong rib and our 1/3 burgers are extremely generous and leave our customers stuffed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not much atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visited this as was recommended in the lp guide book but were disappointed. Pleasant enough but quiet ( but it was the rainy season) sound system was poor, service was good although the batman did forget to put the gin into my g and t. Clean and reasonable decor but we felt was over rated by guide book

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your review of hive. You are right, it is pretty quiet around Luang Prabang during the low season. As a result it is often but not always, hard to reach that critical mass needed to get the party rolling. For many this is the best time of year to visit. The streets are less crowed with tourists, lodging is much less expensive, and places like the waterfalls are can be peaceful. I am certain if you returned to hive during the busy season you would find the vibe that you were looking for. The hive is usually packed with tourists at that time of the year, and we are definitely number 1 on Bar Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing