We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint!”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This restaurant appears to have different sittings depending on whether you choose the taster menu or a la carte. There was no space left for the taster menu and we were given a table for eight o clock. We loved the mixed starters and the chicken in lemon grass (don't eat the lemon grass!). The plate of mixed desserts were excellent and came with two of everything so it was perfect for sharing ( although it was so good we could have managed one each). We sat outside on the veranda which watching the world go by! I didn't fancy the inside area which appeared to be reserved for those eating the taster menu. With a large Lao beer and a 500ml carafe of Chilean White wine, the bill came to approximately £20.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,545
    717
    250
    91
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Off the Mark with two signature dishes”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Off the Mark with two signature dishes

We went to eat at the Tamarind and based on the many reviews, were looking forward to having their Herbed fish steamed in banana leaf and Fragrant lemongrass stuffed with chicken.

We ordered these dishes and were terribly disappointed. The lemongrass chicken was overwhelmed by the garlic and salt. There was no scent of the lemongrass to come through loud and clear and I tried very hard to discern it. After all, isn’t this the whole idea behind the dish? The herbed fish had no spices at all that we could taste. It was as if the fish was stewed first and then placed in the banana leaf forgetting the spices. The Fish Amok we had in Cambodia had more taste.

The restaurant seems to depend on tour groups a lot and these people don’t complain and don’t return.

We were very very unhappy with our meals. If this was an off day it doesn’t say much for their quality control over two signature dishes.

If you are a professional restaurant then you should oversee your quality control. Other simpler and less expensive restaurants don’t have this problem and serve large numbers of people. And yes I should have pointed this out instead of paying for these terrible meals, but I will not be back to try your other meals. I hope others take my advise and go to other restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trading on their reputation?”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lengthy, informative menu - the tasting menu especially recommended - but offhand service spoiled the evening for us.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwynandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice creative restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have to make reservation for next day, because it's very popular!
Staff here introduce their dishes patiently and enthusiastically explain for you if you have any question about their special ingredient adding in the cuisine.
The starter in 5 small plates is very special, especially the one with spicy & buffalo skin inside. And two main course -- fish steamed with banana leaf & fried meat with lemongrass which looks like a flower are very delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lao food for Westerners”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a set menu here one lunchtime - lots of things to taste, unusual soft drinks and lessons in how to eat sticky rice. Everything was delicious with prompt service but it's very much geared to Westerners. It obviously works as it is always packed out. Worth going once but it all seemed a bit too much of a tourist experience to me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing