We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Lao food newbies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #14 of 199 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for Lao food newbies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Definitely a great way to introduce to yourself to Lao food if you've never had it before. The small bites leave you savoring for more! Good atmosphere & service and the food was pretty awesome. They also have a child seat, which helped us enjoy our meal even more!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 100onigiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,510
    696
    244
    90
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luang p
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exciting experience for anyone's palate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I heard about this place from a fellow traveler... So a couple of friend and I decided to try it for lunch. Wow! The options for tasting the local food was great. Even the vegetarian options were plentiful and full of originality and spice.
We tried the sampler, the five bites, noodles and bamboo soup. All were delicious. But the real treat for me was the watermelon and chilli spiced frozen drink that was the best thing I have ever tasted in my travels. Double thumbs up for Tamarind!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Definitely worth going to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch and the food was really traditional, shame we didn't have time to come back for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank worktotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lao food for tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Restuarant locate by Nam Khan river, not too difficult to find out.
Foods are quiet various. Even all is Lao foods but the taste is not too Lao, so foriegner can eat and like them easily.
Staffs are very nice and they can explain about the foods very well. So they will tell you how to eat like local

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alistitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Lao food, great variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped by Tamarind on our last night in Luang Prabang and it did not disappoint.

We ordered the set dinner per person, and was treated to a medley of Lao dishes like Grilled Buffalo, Chicken in Lemongrass, and so on.

The waiters were amicable and explained what we were eating and the significance of them very well.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a crash course in Lao food.

Helpful?
Thank NikChanTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing