We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant restaurant with good food and a beautiful view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couleur Cafe and Restaurant

Couleur Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 199 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant with good food and a beautiful view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Couleur restaurant is located in a French colonial building on the peninsula of Luang Prabang, if you sit on the tables outside you have a beautiful view of the river, if you sit inside it is well decorated in soothing pastel colours. It has an extensive menu and, taking account of the service and quality of the meals, is reasonably priced, the staff are friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngloSaxon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost French”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

To paraphrase the famous book title , this restaurant is "almost French" .
Situated in a beautiful colonial building on the river , the setting of this restaurant is almost ideal, close to the city Center and night market. We went there with my daughter one week before Christmas for an evening meal . The place was very quiet , we ordered a pumpkin soup, some gnocchi , a ribbeye steak and 50 cl of rosé wine. Everything was very good including the steak cooked to perfection as ordered. The bill was around 50 $ , which is a bit on the high side in Luang Prabang.
Why not then make it truly upscale with white linen cloth on table ? Or to the opposite make it a bit more affordable and more popular?
To me it looked neither here nor there in terms of market positioning.
The quality of the food deserved better than 2 customers that evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

What a find this restaurant was. Awesome service, even with the continuous power failures inflicted on this area. The food was superb, freshly prepared, worth every cent paid, and the staff just so nice and professional. A little more expensive than most eateries, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizpowrie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not cheap but a pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We sailed past this cafe/restaurant on our bikes and decided to come back and have a closer look. The prices are more expensive than those of restaurants on the main street but it is the kind of place to come for a "dining experience", where you will linger over dinner, maybe with a bottle of wine. Having said that, the price for Asian dishes is not that much more expensive than elsewhere but western dishes are about 100k kip for a main course. We started with green and deep-fried spring rolls and both were delicious. I had an Asian main dish and my husband a western chicken dish: both were enjoyable and very filling. The restaurant itself is pleasant and well laid-out, service is good and unobtrusive and overall it was a very pleasant evening. If you want to make an evening of it, this is a good choice.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller, Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“expensive, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was by far the most expensive meal we had in Luang Prabang, but it was good. The fish cakes were probably the weakest dish we had, but the curry was excellent. Probably wouldn't come return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beklemmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Couleur Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Couleur Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing