We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in LP”

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Lagoon Restaurant serve a little of everything. We serve Luang Prabang Speciality, Asian dishes, Pasta and also European food
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in LP”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere at Blue Lagoon blew us away from the moment we walked in. What an amazing establishment! The food was to die for and the service was what I'd expect to see at a king's palace. We paid just shy of $50USD to experience the higher dining standard and this included one entrée, two mains and one dessert. After this and all the complimentary extras we were certainly full. (Extras: bread w/herb butter and a creamy ginger soup shot ea.)
Many restaurants are regularly awarded 5 stars on trip advisor but this is the first to truly deserve the rating.

Helpful?
Thank splintr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    311
    96
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“really special setting under a tree awning”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The new venue for this restaurant is really fantastic. The food is excellent and thoroughly worth a trip if you're looking for a good dinner. Good mix of special / unique dishes - both European and Laotian.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyinkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang Province, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deliciously Delightful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So we thought we'd eaten the best Luang Prabang had to offer (the seriously under-rated little Rosella Fusion overlooking the Nam Khan) and then on our last night we discovered Blue Lagoon! The TA photos had put me off - they seriously misrepresent the food and the setting. A little laneway next to the Royal Palace, looks unassuming enough - but turn the corner and BOOM! A gorgeous outdoor courtyard awaits with waiters so eager to please they almost fall over each other! The Mekong River Perch steamed in banana leaf was seriously amazing. Our most expensive meal in LP but we had a couple of cocktails, bottle of wine, mains for 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) and 2 x desserts to share. It all came to about A$130. Skip dessert - it wasn't that good. You have to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb ambiance, great all around”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Discovered quite by accident while roaming the side streets of Luang Prabang next to the palace and took a risk, which was amply rewarded. Talking with both the owner (Peter) and the chef (Somsack) we discovered it was only their 3rd day in operation at the new location, a spot which used to be Peter's house. Peter is Swiss, and Somsack is Lao but is also a Swiss-trained classical chef. Both came to our table to check on our experience and to get our opinions. Both were very friendly and good fun and both spoke excellent English.

Clearly they put some some thought and effort into the establishment and menu. Aside from the food which was incredible, the ambiance is very upscale 'modern Lao traditional' with lighting designed by Peter and locally hand-made. The restaurant has an airconditioned dining room with a library motif (bookcases line the back wall) and a secluded, romantic outdoor dining courtyard, all tucked away in a very quiet side street by the palace, just meters from night market.

We checked out some of the other top-rated restaurants in Luang Prabang also, and while they are fine, and none can hold a candle to Blue Lagoon for the combination of ambiance, presentation, service, and quality of food. Speaking of service, the wait staff were professional and highly attentive. Could not have asked for better.

Yes it's a bit pricier than other places in town but by Western standards the place is an incredible bargain. Definitely worth checking out some evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hphil2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Blue Lagoon is probably the best restaurant in town, but for Lao standards a bit pricy They just opened the restaurant at their new location next to the National Museum. The restaurant itself looks beautiful and the service is excellent (the best we had in Lao)
I had a Lao stew which was very good. It has mint in it that I normally don't like, but now it was ok. My girlfriend had local fish dish and she enjoyed it as well.
The only downside was that the bruchettas had anise on it. They were ok, but the anise taste isn't what we want on a bruchetta.
If you are in Luang Prabang I would highly recommend you to go to this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Meik_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing