We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far this holiday, this has been our best meal”

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Lagoon Restaurant serve a little of everything. We serve Luang Prabang Speciality, Asian dishes, Pasta and also European food
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So far this holiday, this has been our best meal”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So far this holiday, this has been our best meal and I'm writing this review about 10 days after our visit to Blue Lagoon.
Don't be fooled by the lane-way down to the restaurant, as this is a small oasis at the end and definitely worth the visit.
Service was excellent, as was the food, ambiance and surroundings.
We were a group of eight and were unable to eat outside, due to the setup of the tables, but inside was beautifully air conditioned.
The executive chef came out to the table at the end of the meal to make sure all had been as expected and to give us a little history on the establishment as it had only just moved to it's new location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubtychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    310
    95
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely garden ambience and wonderful fusion dishes”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went here based on reviews on TA and were not at all disappointed. The western owner/proprieter told us they just moved to this location about 2 weeks ago and it is very easy to find. We loved the Lao salad, with it's lovely fresh herbs. I had the homemade ravioli and my husband had the vienna sausage, which we each enjoyed. (The menu has a bit of a Swiss/German style in the dishes.) The western owner was there to oversee that all the patrons were happy and well served. Excellent house wines as well!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in LP”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere at Blue Lagoon blew us away from the moment we walked in. What an amazing establishment! The food was to die for and the service was what I'd expect to see at a king's palace. We paid just shy of $50USD to experience the higher dining standard and this included one entrée, two mains and one dessert. After this and all the complimentary extras we were certainly full. (Extras: bread w/herb butter and a creamy ginger soup shot ea.)
Many restaurants are regularly awarded 5 stars on trip advisor but this is the first to truly deserve the rating.

Helpful?
Thank splintr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“really special setting under a tree awning”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The new venue for this restaurant is really fantastic. The food is excellent and thoroughly worth a trip if you're looking for a good dinner. Good mix of special / unique dishes - both European and Laotian.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyinkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang Province, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deliciously Delightful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So we thought we'd eaten the best Luang Prabang had to offer (the seriously under-rated little Rosella Fusion overlooking the Nam Khan) and then on our last night we discovered Blue Lagoon! The TA photos had put me off - they seriously misrepresent the food and the setting. A little laneway next to the Royal Palace, looks unassuming enough - but turn the corner and BOOM! A gorgeous outdoor courtyard awaits with waiters so eager to please they almost fall over each other! The Mekong River Perch steamed in banana leaf was seriously amazing. Our most expensive meal in LP but we had a couple of cocktails, bottle of wine, mains for 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) and 2 x desserts to share. It all came to about A$130. Skip dessert - it wasn't that good. You have to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing