We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and great Ambience”

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Lagoon Restaurant serve a little of everything. We serve Luang Prabang Speciality, Asian dishes, Pasta and also European food
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal and great Ambience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Blue Lagoon for a totally unexpected treat. The ambience and world class food was a real find. The chef asked what we would like, we left it to him, he explained the dishes and then left us to it.
A credit to all concerned.
Geoff, John, Joe, Jenny and John.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    310
    95
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Blue Lagoon is easy to find being on a road just need to night market and opposite a temple. The restaurant is back off the road and set in a nice garden with the option to sit inside (in airconditioning) or outside. There were many staff around and we found out that it is also a training restaurant. The staff were attentive and efficient. The food we had was excellent with good flavours and typically Lao. We also had some wine which was reasonably priced. It is not cheap by Lao standards but a bargain by Australian standards. They also take credit card without a surcharge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing service and excellent food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant on TA, and the rating didn't let us down. Don't let the side street enter emcee put you off, when you round the corner it is an oasis of calm, beautifully set out in wood. We had some very good food, and the service was fantastic throughout, helpful and quick but without grabbing your plates. We ended up staying for an extra cocktail as the ambiance was so nice. It is obviously more expensive than you would pay on the street, but that's not why we went. If you are a couple and want great food for a still excellent price compared to Europe, then you should come here.

Helpful?
Thank Iaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bad food, far to expensive and fakeservice”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went to this restaurant because we read the reviews on trip advisor. My god, what a dissapointment. The ambiance looks great (that must be said: but very european) but that is all. When you sit down the nightmare and freakshow begins. The food was extremly overpriced (about 3 tot 5 times the normal price) and it was very very tastless. We ordered 6 different dishes and we (party of 4) all agreed: this is realy tasteless. The worst we have eaten in our 5 weeks stay in IndoChina. The service is scary, About 30 little boys dressed in black (no femal can be found in this restaurant) are here to serve you. And they look very unhappy and there performance is only trained. Not a bit of enthousiasm. The owner is European and walking through the restaurant. You can see the boys are afraid of him. My god... what an awful experience this was. Luang Prabang is filled with superb restaurants. Serving delicious food and realy friendly staff (no fake performance here). Go by the riverside. They also provide cooking class and if you have been there, you know why.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious Blue Lagoon”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nobody fussier than me but it was perfect. The service and attention were second to none. Beautiful food that was beautifully presented. Only slightly more expensive but worth every penny. Still not as expensive as home prices. Ate here twice. The best best restaurant in Laos!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing