We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luang Prabang's version of the Four Seasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Luang Prabang's version of the Four Seasons”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is a very nice little hotel within easy walking distance to downtown (Grand Palace and the night market). We were given a choice of either an older room right above the lobby that had a patio or a room in the new Mango building without a patio. We picked new (Mango #4) and are glad we did because the a/c was icy cold and the room was very quiet and spanking new. The older room - see the photo for Maisonette suite with upstairs bedroom - was a loft style which meant having to trudge down a flight of stairs to use the bathroom. Heads up that it looks great in the photo but really dark and old in person.

Breakfast was served across the street in a lovely little garden setting. Plenty of umbrellas to shield you from the blazing sun even at 8am. Note that you can order anything you want on the menu - fried rice with yogurt and a baguette, no problem. We found the Asian dishes - especially the fried noodles with pork - to be more flavorful than their version of an omelet. Strong coffee and good baguettes.

The hotel coordinated our airport transportation so it was nice to have the driver waiting for us at the airport once we cleared customs. The van was new with icy cold a/c. I think a regular taxi would have been cheaper and just as reliable but we paid $10 ea way for the convenience of having the hotel handle.

Here's one tip - most guests just walk from the hotel to the main downtown area without checking out the side streets. We found some of the best deals on massages and souvenirs on the little streets around the hotel. Sabaidee massage near L'Eléphant offered great foot massages for less than downtown places. I think we paid $4 for an hour (Feb 2011).

Pros: Walking distance to everything. Delicious breakfast. Clean, new rooms. Staff can coordinate just about anything for you (assuming they understand what you want). Tons of bottled water (remember that the 2 bottles in the cold fridge are free).

Cons: Pricey even at American standards. Desk staff has only passable English. $20 for the alms (4 cups of rice and a dozen oranges!)

For $200/night, I think the BelleRive is pricey even at US standards. We walked up and down most of the streets and all the guest houses looked pretty good. I think that as long as you get a place with reliable air conditioning (a MUST for 98F temps) and is walking distance to downtown (the area around the grand palace); I think you can get a better deal elsewhere if you look. For convenience and the guaranty of a clean, modern room with good a/c - you will really enjoy the BelleRive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    104
    30
    9
    0
See reviews for
85
360
86
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

WOW! What an amazing hotel! The rooms were so special. The staff was warm and accommodating to our every need. We really enjoyed the breakfast. You can have western or traditional Laotian. The Laotian food was terrific! Luang Prabang is such a wonderful town, and this hotel is a great launching point for adventures as nothing is far. Loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Despite a wonderful view over the River Mekong the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms were small, shower and washbasin space even smaller and the staff uncooperative. The hotel had no public rooms and breakfast was taken on the pavement across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank India63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed in Luang Prabang for a week and stumbled across the Bellerive because the guesthouse i was booked in was beyond compare regarding comfort and cleanliness. I was lucky to get a suite at the Bellerive and was welcomed by a free sundowner boat-trip on the Mekong. The guys from the Management invited all their guests to free drinks and snacks. Another advantage ist the location. The daily morning tour of the monks from all monasteries is happening right behind the hotel - so if you get up early enough...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoneax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We travel quite a lot in Asia and Australia. Friends of us gave us a hint about this little jewel in Laos - so we decided to give it a try. And yes - we are still friends. Fabulous place with a lovely terrace overlooking the Mekong River where you can get a really decent breakfast - not to mention the sundowner in the afternoon.
Great exquisitely furnished rooms looking down to the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_Pausebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruenwald, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2011

There is a lot to write about Luang Prabang and the Bellerive Hotel. Most remarkable is by any means the friendlyness of the service. Next is the stylish and modern design of the rooms - all of them overlooking the Mekong river. On Monday the Management surprised us with a free trip on the Mekong river on a huge boat where different drinks and snacks were being served while we could watch the fabulous sundown over the River. Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah80469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

An enchanting boutique hotel overlooking the Mekong River, exquisitely run by a caring and helpful staff keeping everything in immaculate order. We extended our stay from 4 nights to 7, with unstinted help from the staff in reorganising our schedule of flights and hotels. We sampled two types of room, both excellent. Best possible location for experiencing Luang Prabang, on the peninsular but still central. Very good offering of Western and Asian food on the hotel terrace, with a variety of restaurants in walking distance. Best-liked features: location, staff, cleanliness; least liked feature: none - a model boutique hotel in a real-life tropical paradise. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel

Property: The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Address: 99 Baan Phonhueang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for five consecutive years and recently inducted into HALL OF FAME on the World’s Largest Travel Site. This designer boutique hotel - situated at the shore of the Mekong River and in the historical centre of the peninsula - offers luxury accommodation and tranquility for independent travelers with high standards. The hotel features 13 rooms, 4 of them in the protected former residence of the mayor, and a charming Terrace restaurant on the Maekong Riverbank. Free Bicycles, Minibar, WiFi and a delicious breakfast variety make your stay a delightful experience. Book your room now - The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel is looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you in this unique world heritage town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing