We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BelleRive is the place to stay in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We decided on this hotel based on Trip advisor ratings when we came to Laos last week. This is a wonderful Hotel in a quiet location on the Mekong river, but within a short walking distance to the main street of town and local attractions. Our room was very comfortable, clean, charming and large. All of the staff were friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast, which was included, was exceptional. Paul Von Jordan was extraordinarily helpful and had great suggestions for day trips. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a visit to Luang Prabang.
PS. One of the highlights of our trip was a visit to Big Brother Mouse which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Between 9-11 AM or 5 to 7 PM you can just show up and help teach English to the youth of the area who are very eager to lean.

Room Tip: We satyed in a Mango Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I travelled as a group of 3 flashpacking family members . The two of us guys splurged out on the Tamarind while the belle stayed in a Mango. Stayed from the 18th-21st March.

Location:
- excellent side of the peninsula, quiet and tranquil
- tamarind rooms have balconies that take in the full view of the Mekong just across the one way street
- walking distance (1min thereabts) to L'elephant, Le Banneton, Tamarind and Wat Xieng Thong
- close to the bamboo bridge to Dyen Sabai, close to main row of attractions/shops

Hotel/Room
- awe inspiring! The split level design and the balconies spilling onto the main road of the Tamarind rooms are a god send. It takes willpower to resist the temptation to lounge in the comfortable chairs while enjoying the cool breeze from the Mekong!
- rainbath shower heads, down pillows, even books in the "throne room". More can be borrowed from the small library down at reception.
- supply of coffee/tea/fruits and cookies, drinking water is free on request, bicycle rentals are free as well.
- the abscence of tellys is refreshing! (note, it can be requested for, just read the hotel guide book in each room)

Service
- exemplary! Noi was a godsend! Thank you so much once again for the help offered, be it recommendations, or travel arrangements. (PS: the ride from Chiang Kong to Chiang Rai was smooth!)
- Tou is friendly as well although she's a tad shy

Bottom line: It is a boutique hotel afterall, so it's pricier than the standard fare. But you definitely get your bang for the buck over here

Room Tip: Based on our observations, The BelleRive actual consists of three adjacent buildings with the Easter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhongzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at this lovely place for about a week. The most charming place with the caring couple,El and Paul von Jordan, made it feel like my "asien home".
The food was excellent and my beauteful,tastefully decorated room had a view over the Mekong River.
I enjoye having my breakfast just across the road, overlooking the Mekong, fro where I could see a little temple hiding up the hill on the other side of the river.
The staff are very friendly and polite. Sometimes English can be challenging for them but their open friedly smile compensates this little weakness.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Located on the riverside, this small hotel consists of different buildings next to each other. My room was Mango 1 and was perfect: clean, good size and very quiet. The breakfast is a la carte and served at the terrace on the riverside; enough choice and good quality food. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they have bicycles for their guests. In their directory (in the room) they give some good tips so make some time to go through this. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone; good value for money and a very peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Of all the hotels I researched prior to my departure for Luang Prabang, this is one, upon arrival, that tugs at your heartstrings. Can't say enough about the professionalism and courtesy of the staff and owner. These folks made my stay in this lovely part of Laos, an absolute JOY ! Beautiful rooms on a quiet section of the street that runs along the Mekong River. My friend had recommended this place to me and to my sheer delight, he was right on - this one is a 'keeper'. The rooms are tastefully designed in three french colonial buildings. The middle one with the blue shutters, being the original , was built in the 1920's. All are full of character and each section has its own unique appeal.
With a smile on their faces, the gracious staff along with Paul, the owner and his lovely wife made my stay one I shall not forget. Look no further, for a comfortable and beautiful place to stay in Luang Prabang. I cannot sing enough praises about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noname033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Belle Rive is a miracle! We had already been from NYC to Turkey, Jordan, Tanzania, India and Thailand when we came to stay at the marvelously enchanting hotel on the banks of the Mekong. The rooms are lovely, the owners and staff delightful, free internet, bikes and a sunset cruise on the Mekong, complete with beer or white wine. The food is sensational. We were treated to a private dinner and an additional cruise for our anniversary.
Lauang Prabang is hard to get to but we plan to return just to stay at the Belle Rive again.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Upon first sight of The BelleRive hotel, coming from NY and LA I thought perhaps it may have an air of pretentiousness; simply because the beauty of the converted colonial house hotel is formidable - even the decor of the outdoor restaurant is beyond charming.. its simple, elegant and gorgeous. The management team was exceptional. Each day we had a different set of questions (where are the best elephants? :) or, we had heard about waterfalls, which one should we visit?, etc) we were met with all we needed from the best tuk tuk drivers and riverboats to where we may like to walk in the evening for a meal. (I will say we enjoyed the food so much at the BelleRive, we mostly ate there! Also the view of the Mekong river is pretty much as good as is gets in Luang Prabang.) The rooms are smashing with many different styles to choose from depending on your needs - we were on the riverfront with our own sitting area overlooking the quiet street - great for people watching and vendors making their way to the night market - also within walking distance. We traveled all through Thailand and Laos, and the stay here was a highlight. Quality and numerous personal touches from a genuine and gracious staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stellaheartsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
476 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel

Address: 99 Baan Phonhueang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £104 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for five consecutive years and recently inducted into HALL OF FAME on the World’s Largest Travel Site. This designer boutique hotel - situated at the shore of the Mekong River and in the historical centre of the peninsula - offers luxury accommodation and tranquility for independent travelers with high standards. The hotel features 13 rooms, 4 of them in the protected former residence of the mayor, and a charming Terrace restaurant on the Maekong Riverbank. Free Bicycles, Minibar, WiFi and a delicious breakfast variety make your stay a delightful experience. Book your room now - The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel is looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you in this unique world heritage town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing