We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff, lovely location”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The rooms were beautiful, clean and nicely decorated. the grounds were lovely with a lovely view over the river. the staff were more than hospitable and very helpful with our questions. The breakfast included in the hotel rate was high quality, plentiful, providing both Western and Asian choices and came with great coffee. Would definitely recommend staying in this hotel and would certainly stay here again if i was to return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    100
    30
    9
    0
See reviews for
84
356
86
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was here on July 2012 for 2 night. very night hotel stayed at Mango room. i like the style and stuff of this hotel very much. they are very friendly...

PS. if you are looking for Local SOMTUM Lao ( Papaya salad)... Please do visit the shop when you walk from the hotel on the second road on the right hand side walk about 50 m. you will see small house opposit Wat Nong temple. ask people there "Som Tum Pa Tim"

And in the Morning if you wanna buy food for the Monk. Ask the shop on the second road from the hotel you will see shop on the conner. that is not too expensive or ask the hotel.
DO NOT buy from women who sitting or standing around who will come to ask you to buy... and if they are want to help So. please say NO to them... because they are trying to let you to buy from them and after than you will have to pay alots of money.... ( i got it at the first morning there)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLE_R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

What a lovely stay we had in Luang Prabang, thanks in part to this beautiful little boutique hotel. The hotel consists of about 3 buildings adjacent to each other on a waterfront road overlooking the Mekong and its main restaurant is located across the street on the waterfront overlooking the river from a little rise. Note that this arrangement is typical for most of the little hotels and guesthouses situated along the rivers in Luang Prabang's historical district. I was concerned about privacy and noise as my room (Mango) was on the street level but there was no issues at all, the street isn't busy and we enjoyed the relaxing scenery sitting outside our room.

Just like everything in the town, service is relaxed and slow, but friendly and good. Do not expect hurried or prompt responses, do not be surprised if there is no one at the lobby at some times...you are in Luang Prabang after all and you should be winding down. Drink some Beer Lao and watch the Mekong while you wait.

Clean, comfortable, picturesque and a great location thats a bit further away from the bustle of the main street yet not too far a walk from it. All in all, highly recommended and the next time I plan to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Although I'm a laid-back traveler, I'm a light sleeper and I get cranky when I don't sleep well. So I was admittedly nervous when we showed up at BelleRive which is situated on a busy road in Luang Prabang with scooters and Tuk Tuk's buzzing by my balcony all day. I thought my sleep would suffer for the next two days but was pleasantly surprised. It seems as if everyone in LP goes to bed at 9:00 PM (I'm writing this at 9:23 and haven't heard anything in 10 minutes) and my prior nights sleep was great. The hotel is very charming, the beds are soft, the restaurant is great, as is the location, and the price is right. Do it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EndlessSummer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

There is no way to thank the management or the staff of the BelleRive for the extraordinary efforts and consideration that led to the return of $1500.00 (U.S.) in cash that I left on at the airport check-in counter in Luang Prabang. Once notified after several hours and my arrival in Vientiane that I had lost my wallet, the hotel sprang into action and over the course of the next twenty-four hours found all my money as well as all my personal documents. None of this would have happened had not the driver of the hotel's vehicle personally interceded with the authorities at the airport, and relentlessly insisted on accountability of all involved. That this is far beyond any possibility or expectation of service goes without saying.

I stay often at this hotel, and there is no better value in Luang Prabang, and it comes with the very real possibility that one will meet wonderful other guests of the hotel. I have three sons (two Thai and one Lao) and they are always made welcome as part of the family. Many of the guest are also from Thailand, Hong Kong, the Phillipines, etc., so one meets not only people from the West, but interesting people from SE Asia too. The rooms cannot be better appointed, the service better motivated, or the management more kind or knowing. Please do stay with Khun Paul and his family if you have the chance.

Room Tip: If one wants even more comfort, one might want to stay in one of the more costly rooms (barely more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

truly beautiful, renovated colonial-style boutique hotel. my room was two levels (bed in upper) with a balcony facing the Mekong river. service was excellent from check-in, breakfast to check-out. not having been to Luang Prabang before, i choose this hotel for their location which turned out to be an excellent choice. Waterfront, it is also a short walk to restaurants, shopping and the morning mkt and also the evening mkts.

Room Tip: get the two level deluxe room with a balcony facing the Mekong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkflyenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Pros:

- Nicely appointed rooms, colonial style, stylish, sober.
- Great breakfast food
- Staff is friendly and helpful
- Fantastic location, rooms facing the Mekong river in a quiet side of the city center

Contras:

- Internet was a little bit slow, but how can one complain about such thing in Luang Prabang ?

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel

Property: The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Address: 99 Baan Phonhueang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for five consecutive years and recently inducted into HALL OF FAME on the World’s Largest Travel Site. This designer boutique hotel - situated at the shore of the Mekong River and in the historical centre of the peninsula - offers luxury accommodation and tranquility for independent travelers with high standards. The hotel features 13 rooms, 4 of them in the protected former residence of the mayor, and a charming Terrace restaurant on the Maekong Riverbank. Free Bicycles, Minibar, WiFi and a delicious breakfast variety make your stay a delightful experience. Book your room now - The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel is looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you in this unique world heritage town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing