We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
US$116
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$291
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$136
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$77
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$113
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
633
111
35
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
111
35
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree sunset cruisebalcony suitehotel terracesplit levelthree buildingsmangoterrace overlooking the mekongperfect locationnight marketcolonial stylecomplimentary bicyclesbeautiful hotelmini barhotel managementfirst floorin townstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Beautiful house converted boutique hotel overlooking Mekong. Location is very good, close to Wat Xieng Thong, the biggest temple in the old town. Indeed, old town is within walking distance about 10 minutes to the night market. Hotel has free bicycles for guests. Moving around is very convenience and easy. The room is nicely equipped and particular like the mosquitos netted bed. Wifi is unstable. Guess it's better for one to enjoy and absorb the scenery better. Terrace restaurant serves very good Asian and Western breakfast and surprisingly very efficient services.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnisaTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Belle Rive is a centrally located and beautifully appointed hotel overlooking the grand and mighty Mekong. The rooms are very well appointed and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is delicious and served in an open terrace overlooking the river. We paid extra for the maisonette rooms but our friends had the cheaper superior rooms. I must say that we were all in agreement that the superior rooms, though cheaper, were much nicer - all on one level and spacious.
The Wi-Fi was intermittent and only really available in the hotel's small lobby.
I'd happily give this hotel 5 stars if only the service was better. Some of the staff were very kind and helpful, but for the most part, they were rather indifferent and seemed largely distant. We went from here to the Riverside Boutique Resort in Viang Vieng, where the service was excellent: friendly and efficient. maybe the team at Belle Rive could invest in some staff training. Luang Prabang was a true highlight of Laos and this hotel is a lovely gem with a great aspect. More proactive and interested staff would make it an outstanding place to discover this gorgeous destination.

Room Tip: Go for the cheaper 'Superior' rooms. Though you wont a have a balcony, they are MUCH nicer.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Location is very good, in a quite part of Luang Prabang, close to the river, but you can walk to "downtown" for exampale to the night market in 5 to 10 minutes. Nice colonial style house. Reception is part of a small restaurant, so no great lobby or so. Service is ok, quite but not very friendly. Room was clean, with a balcony. I think we had the most expensive room with two levels. But the aircon was to weak to cool down this large room, and so it felt like nearly 30 degrees in the upstairs sleeping area. Breakfast was really nothing special. When you look at the quite high price, we had expected really more. Good, but clearly no 5 points.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tschichtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Set in a charmingly beautiful and clean colonial building, with picturesque views of the Mekong river. Free bikes to rent and very good included american breakfast (the French bread is to die for here after eating curry in SE Asia for a few weeks). Charming rooms, we stayed at a suite at the second floor. Beds were nicely firm. Very attentive service....
I loved it, wonderful location to experience LP

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miles-nd-More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Belle Rive is a boutique hotel that is really a combination of some charming heritage colonial houses, and it is well situated on the Mekong River. I found the Frangipani room very charming with the four poster bed with mosquito netting (although the room smelled slightly musty). Despite the hotel rooms opening right on the street, life in Luang Prabang is at a much slower pace than other Asian cities and I could not hear any motorcycle traffic or street noise unlike in other hotels elsewhere (the Luang Prabang curfew likely helped in that respect). The hotel terrace across the road where breakfast was served was incredibly peaceful, and I found it really relaxing to have breakfast or a glass of wine later in the day and watch the river. I enjoyed the Bircher Muesli and cappucino for breakfast although there are somewhat limited offerings at other times of the day. Hotel staff speak English and there were a few communication gaps from time to time, although they tried to be helpful. The charm of the hotel, however, won me over and I found Luang Prabang a very special place that I would love to come back to. If we had been there longer than two nights, my daughter and I would have used the hotel bicycles to ride around town. L.P. is relatively compact which makes it very easy to explore on foot and the hotel is well situated -- 10 min. from the night market, and close to restaurants (L' Elephant around the corner was very good) .There were many things about Luang Prabang that I loved - the night market, the monks collecting alms, the restaurants, the wats....so much to see in too short a visit. I was glad I stayed at the Belle Rive, although it is a little more expensive than hotels in most other cities. But the charm and sophistication of the Belle Rive and Luang Prabang will make you want to stay longer.

Room Tip: There are only about 8 rooms, and they open directly upon the street and Mekong River (they were formerly colonial houses). Ours (the Frangipani) was just a few steps up from street level, although I believe there were some two story suites that would have had an even better view of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews