We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Location, Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mekong Moon Inn
Ranked #21 of 255 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Mekong Moon Inn are good location and near the morning market and night market for shopping, i had to stay at New wing, standard room and have a balcony for relaxing for city view. we can walk 5 minutes for the Mekong river and walking to river road for selected a nice restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nopparat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    63
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
50
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great location, nice enough rooms but really let down by the staff and the bathrooms in the bedrooms. We arrived and caught the young man off guard as he was having what seemed to be a very deep sleep as it took a long time to wake him. He then could not find our key and after a long time really not looking like he knew what he was doing gave us the key to the only room left which was technically an upgrade. We were told that we would have to vacate the room the next day. We moved rooms no problem, to find the bathroom the same as the first and decided to cut our stay short as the smell left us gagging. Shame because it is such a nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plodalongjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I see other reviews about the employee in the other building up the alley. I also had a few issues with him, such as with getting a legible receipt out of him. But overall he was nice enough.

When we first arrived, he told us they had a room available, but it was a big one. It was upstairs and had sleeping for 3 (there were only 2 of us). She wasn't feeling well, so she simply needed a place to lie down. The room was large, pretty nice, had a cute balcony and nice views, and was reasonably priced.

About two hours after we'd checked in, he knocked on the door to ask us to move out of the room. He claimed the another employee had not told him the room was booked already. There was another couple downstairs complaining about the room he was trying to fit them in down there that was "not like the photos."

He asked at first if I would like to see the room to switch to, and it was a horrible downgrade. Tiny, dirty room with no balcony, and windows that opened to a cinderblock wall a foot away. Actually one set of windows couldn't even open the whole way because they hit the wall.

He came down to insisting we had to switch and refused to discount us on the money we already paid for the upstairs room, but again, she just needed a place to sleep and try not to vomit, so I repacked my bags and moved them downstairs so she could go back to sleep. I felt bad for the other couple who had pre-booked the room, whereas we had just walked in and asked. I didn't want to spoil their trip when they were looking forward to the room.

The laundry service was both fast and done well. 10,000kip per Kg. We dropped it with the ladies, paid and went to breakfast. It was dried and neatly folded in our room when we returned a couple of hours later.

The downstairs rooms are horrendous, but an upstairs room with a balcony would be great. So I'm kind of torn on the place. We won't be staying there again, but it was still much cheaper than some of the other places we checked later in the week.

Not bad for the budget-minded.

Room Tip: Upstairs! Get the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Great little guesthouse close to the riverfront with good decent sized rooms.
The first day we arrived we had to wake up the receptionist to check in. He couldn't find our room key, and kindly put us into a bigger & nicer room. We therefore had to move rooms when they found the key!
The bathrooms in both rooms we stayed in were horrible and could do with being cleaned properly if not renovated.
Apart from that its close to lots of restaurants and not far to walk to see the giving of Alms at sunrise!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

A nice guesthouse with big rooms, huuuge double beds, and close to the market and river.
Friendly staff also, they can arrange transport to various sights for and it's usually cheaper than the tuk tuks offer.
Try and get a room on the top floor though or you'll be right next to reception desk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willderness13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Hi, we had a good stay here (old building with balcony) EXCEPT for the fact that the front desk/reception guy in the old buiding(thats up the little lane). I paid in cash for our accommodation a day before we could check out. I received a receipt only after I insisted. He then tore off the only remaining copy as well. The next day just before we checked out a different guy asked for our receipt. At that moment, I did not have it on my person so I said that he could see/check their receipt book. He checked and could not find it. On closer inspection by me, I discovered that there was one missing (the receipts were numbered) I pointed this out and also produced the receipt.....fortunatley, we did not have to pay again.

Sad that we had to experience this after a good stay!

Room Tip: Old buiding - Do not choose a room on the ground floor. The TV at "reception" is on all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night $15! So pretty cheap. Room was clean, bed linen was clean and fresh, towels not so much, bathroom smelt ALOT! But an average hotel, fine for a night or 2! They can arrange minibus etc to Vang Viene but as on other previous reviews can never find the guy to book it! Overall 3/5 average stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGooner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#6 of 255 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 255 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#13 of 255 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#29 of 255 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#1 of 255 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Moon Inn

Property: Mekong Moon Inn
Address: Ban Hoxiang, | Between Post Office and Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mekong Moon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mekong Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing