We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms”
Review of Mekong Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mekong Moon Inn
Ranked #29 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the new building of the Moon Inn

Plus Points:
Shower is seperated from toilet
Good water pressure und really hot water in the shower
Location
Clean
Common balcony

Minus Points:
weak WiFi
staff is helpful but not very welcoming

Definitely a recommendation worth.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank efge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    66
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
52
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our first room was in the old building and while the room itself was fine, and the bed very comfortable, we had to change to a different room after our first night because of the stench of the bathroom. It really was gross and unbearable!

For our second night, we moved to a twin (as there were no doubles available) at the front of the new building which was much better with the same comfortable beds, AC and clean bathroom with hot water and wifi.

Staff were generally unhelpful for most of our stay but not obstructive or rude.

The coffee shop next door called Saffron did a great bacon & egg bagel and apparently does great coffee.

Location is great in between the river and the southern end of the night market.

Based on e second room alone we would give this place 4 stars but they need to do something to fix the smell of the old building.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JooolsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is really good sized. We had the ground floor which was very convenient. The morning alms is just next to the hotel. The morning market and night bazaar turn right. The mekong river and river front restaurants turn left. Both sides just 2 mins walk.

There is a money exchange just opposite the hotel. Turn right and it is located just next to the lane where the morning market is.

Service is great. Friendly staff. They have awesome helpful reception be it night or morning staff. Pricing is reasonable.

Right next door is safron cafe. Really good coffee place. They are open at 7am.

Only con is that the bathroom has a funny smell. The management should seriously do something about it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed in the new building which fronts the street and paid 25$/night, I was very happy with the room , looks very new and clean, good wifi in room and location can't be beaten, steps away from the Mekong River and its multitude of restaurants and the Night Market at the other end of the street. While it's true that the staff are not service oriented, I think it's more a case of being unfamiliar with speaking English, whenever I asked them they tried to help and were always friendly. I had booked 4 nights in advance and ended up staying 2 extra nights and would stay again. LP is a great place.

Room Tip: stay in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25Marc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were in the new building, which is apparently much nicer than the old. Our room was totally adequate: decent air conditioning, terrace access, TV and warm water in the shower. The entire building (including the room) was poorly lit, giving it a dirtier look. Although the staff was friendly and tried to help us, it was tough because they spoke almost no English. The location is good, although the town is small, so pretty much anywhere in the old city is in a good location. For less than $20 per night, we got what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshLiv715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

To stop the bathrooms smelling in cheap guesthouses turn off the extractor fan after use! The laws of physics says that if you leave air being blown out of a room then air will need to enter the room from somewhere. If the only place available to supply this air is the drain then you can expect some nasty smelling air!

This guest house is no exception!

The rooms are big and the beds were comfy. The room was made up and towels renewed every day.

Do not book travel here though. We booked a mini-van to the waterfall and the driver tryed to squeeze 13 people in 9 seats so we got out and walked back. The staff at the guest house thought this was all very funny and only offered a 50% refund after a bit of a stand-off.

Overall, worth the room rate, just don't book anything with hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanJRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here Three nights, First of two nights i staying at the old building the room have window but not good view. The third night I moved to new building every thing is ok except the staffs. I think that they not have service mind.

The room clean the location is perfect because the Mekong river is only far away 50 meters.
Near the local morning coffee shop "Pracha Niyom" I walk to there every morning.

BAD Topic. I request and then getting an email confirmation about pick up transfer from Lung Prabang airport to hotel. When i arrived and I wait at the meeting point but nobody to pick up me. 30 minutes passed I decide to catch a shuttle van to the hotel. I paid 200 THB per two persons. This rate is same price as the hotel quoted us. Please do not make appointment with them, I believe the you will go to the hotel by yourself with non expensive transportation.

I stayed 1-4 May, 2013

Room Tip: If possible please choose upstairs at new building standard double room# 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnirutM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#6 of 264 in Luang Prabang
503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#58 of 264 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 264 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#50 of 264 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#24 of 264 in Luang Prabang
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Moon Inn

Property: Mekong Moon Inn
Address: Ban Hoxiang, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mekong Moon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mekong Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing