We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LARGE ROOMS OVERPRICED”
Review of Sopha House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sopha House
Ranked #169 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LARGE ROOMS OVERPRICED”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for five nights in October 2012. It's very basic for the price but has large rooms.
We had a problem with air conditioning in both rooms as we had to have a fan going as well to keep cool, I think there has been some sort of fiddling been done so you can't make it cooler.
The manager and assistant were very nice & helpful.
The bathroom is terrible for this price and needs updating urgently. The good points for this place is the view upstairs and the location, it is close to everything.
It's not worth the price compared to other places we have stayed at. I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else. Upstairs rooms are quite large but basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Second time we have stayed at Sopha. Excellent location with a river view but just a short walk to the main street. There are rooms from basic to very comfortable at a price to suit all. The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome and at home, the big advantage of a Home Stay. Rooms are clean, the balcony excellent.
Turn left when walking out and follow the river to the last riverside cafe, excellent cheap food and great breakfast.

Room Tip: Budget rooms downstairs are fine, one has a/c the others a fan, upstairs rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Sopha House has a great location in Luang Prabang, just off the main street. There are only a small number of rooms and our room was on the ground floor, I think the nicer and bigger rooms are on the first floor. There was always someone there, so it was very safe and secure. The rooms were simple and had a fan and hot shower. They organised a pick up from the airport for us, which was very handy. If you're arranging a taxi back from Luang Prabang to the airport it shouldn't cost you any more than 40,000 kip (negotiate down to that!). The hotel also had free wifi. The only issue I had was some noise as the room was right on the road, scooters going up and down from early can be pretty noisy, so just pack some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are nicer and bigger. They all face onto the road, so bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I had 3 nights here in one of the two upper floor rooms. Huge room with separate sitting room area, fridge, tv and effective a/c. Balcony area outside with lovely views over the Nam Khan river. Great for an early morning or evening drink.
There was a slight mix-up on arrival as they didn't seem to have my booking, but a quick call to the boss seemed to sort this out. Based on this and my smooth check out and their generally friendly manner, the staff were great.
Location was perfect. Close to but away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. Nice cafes, restaurants and bars a short walk in all directions.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here and again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had a very spacious room on the upper floor. It felt very clean, and the staff was friendly. I liked the location - it was easy to walk to the street market, the river, and around town. We went on a three-day village trek (through Tiger Trails - also recommended) while Sopha House kept our bags, and we came back and stayed in the same room for a couple more nights upon our return. We had some geckos in our room, but that's true of a number of the places we stayed in on our trip, and I like geckos, so it didn't bother me (they do chirp and leave little mouse-like poops, though!).

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I love this place.
I love the people here.
I love friendship.
I feel good every time I think about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My friends and I spent six nights at Sopha House, occupying both of the second-floor rooms. From the moment we were greeted on arrival by the ever-smiling Mr. Thong we found Sopha House delightful -- conveniently situated with a gorgeous view over the Nam Khan, quiet, comfortable, and thoroughly charming. I should note that the room charge doesn't include breakfast, but there are numerous cafes within easy walking distance. The main tourist street is a block away, and many of the major wats are nearby, but heavy foot traffic is absent from Sopha House's immediate surroundings. I would definitely stay there again -- and I hope to do so.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the second floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiengkhouang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopha House

Property: Sopha House
Address: 52 Ban Watsene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sopha House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing