We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suan Keo Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suan Keo Guesthouse
Ranked #60 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Guesthouse is located 3 minutes from walking street night market. Its very clean. Staff is very nice. Rooms have big and strong ceiling fan so in most cases you dont need AC.

Buy bus tickets from owner, they do not advertise it but they are little cheaper than others

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbun9l3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this GH. It's very cheap compared to the other options around, it's located only a couple of minutes from the center, the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but the bed wasn't really comfortable. However, it's still a great option in this wonderful city.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed at Suankeo Guesthouse two times and loved it. The room I had was very, very nice and the cleanest ever and there is a very nice balcony with chill out cushions. The guesthouse is very close to the Mekong river and a short walk away from the center with the nightmarket etc. I can strongly recommend this place and its friendly owners.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2013 and happened upon this guesthouse after looking at a few others in the area. This one was cleaner and friendlier than a few others I looked at. The price is also very reasonable. The family that runs this place is very friendly and honest. I didn't meet too many of the other guests but I also wasn't at the guesthouse for more than sleeping and going in and out during the day. The location is great - near many good places to eat and the night market and about a 10 minute walk from nights out at Utopia (fun backpackers bar/hangout). There are also many places to rent bikes nearby which make it super easy to get around Luang Prabang with ease and without getting super sweaty walking back and forth. The Wi-fi didn't work well in the rooms, but did work in the common areas most of the time. However, just down the street at Joma you can get super fast wifi (or at most other restaurants and cafes in town)

I had the guesthouse do my laundry for very inexpensive and slept great. I did run the fans at night, otherwise you probably would have heard people moving around in other rooms (the place has wood floors). Overall, I highly recommend this guest house and I would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGrl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Arriving in Luang Prabang while new year celebrations were still going on, I was fairly certain I would struggle to find a room at all, let alone at a decent price. This guest house delivered.
Located down a pretty side street with the Mekong at the end, 5 minutes slow walk to the night market, 1 minute to the tuk-tuk hordes waiting to take you to beautiful Kuang Si waterfall and a gratifying few seconds from the Joma bakery, I was greeted with lots of smiles - something which I have struggled to find generally in Laos.
There is a lovely chill out balcony with funky lighting, floor mattress loungers and fans. The guest house generally has a very relaxed feel
The room was large and very clean with a chair and table and a very comfortable bed. I came for a day and ended up staying 5 - I was that comfortable here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I don't know if it's the same place but I stayed in Suan Keo 2, where owner is nice friendly lady. For price I paid it was quite good deal. Bed was big, bathroom ok, towels and bottle of water, free wifi. Place is quite far from night noise so even no windows is no problem :).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely room and very clean. The owner was a nice lady with limited english and very house proud. It was the quietest place we stayed at in Laos - a joy to have a lie-in.
Wi-fi - despite being advertised - was only available outside her father's guesthouse down the street!
Laundry was available at 6,000kip per kilo - although that was the result of heavy bargaining on our side, but worth doing!
We returned a few days later to find she was full, which was a shame but we stayed opposite instead.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#63 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabaidee Guesthouse
Sabaidee Guesthouse
#53 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#36 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 259 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suan Keo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suan Keo Guesthouse

Property: Suan Keo Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vatthat, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing