We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back again and this time I stayed in the lap of luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Apsara Rive Droite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Apsara Rive Droite
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“back again and this time I stayed in the lap of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I love the Apsara so i couldn't resist in giving its sister hotel the Rive Droite a bash. Gosh It was lovely. I could have stayed in bed all day, if they pool wasn't so inviting. As I'd been to Lunag Prabang before i didn't feel the need to do a lot of sight seeing so this was a perfect place to be. I could get the boat over when I felt like it, or just lie in a heap. The food is as good as the Apsara Restaurant, and the staff are lovely. I was there on my own and they took extra care of me which is always nice. Also they had a small but good library so there was lots to read.

Room Tip: up to you, upstairs have a better view over the greenery, downstairs are nearer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The arrival to the Apsara Rive Droite - by small private boat ride across the river, and the climb through manicured allotments, which at night are lit by lanterns, is truly magical. The hotel itself, when you finally reach it, is not a disappointment! The service at this hotel was first class, the staff bent over backwards for us and were always smiling - nothing was a problem - from checking-in at 07.00 when we arrived off a night-bus from Vientiane to an evening check-out to coincide with another night-bus (all at no extra cost) to providing us with a wealth of local area knowledge. The beds are the best we have found in our 6 weeks traveling around SE Asia, and the breakfast was fantastic - big fan of the ever changing home-made jams! We also stayed at the "Apsara One" and although some people feel the Apsara Rive Droite is a little bit removed from the town, for us this was what made it so charming! We also found a noticeable difference in service quality between the two hotels - if you can afford it I would highly recommend the Apsara Rive Droite, it's worth every penny!

Room Tip: First floor rooms with balconies give elevated views across the river and provide much more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel is small and exudes charm and a relaxed confidence. The service is really very good, better than many a Four Season and not at all interfering or in your face. We stayed in room 2, which was a lovely room on the upper floor looking over the river through palms. The rooms are furnished in dark wood and "antiques", very evocative of old French Laos. The rooms are well maintained and cared for, with no television, which you won't miss for a moment, and should you choose a nice little iPod dock to play some tunes. After a hot day of touring returning to take a dip in the pool was an absolute necessity. The breakfast is great, and I seriously rate those croissants, they rival many a Parisian patisserie.
But what really makes this a lovely place to stay, at least for us, was the sense of having the heart of Luang Prabang a 20m river crossing away and yet removed from the tourist throng. While there a few steps to go down, there is something special about crossing the water to go to town and the boatman is always on hand to bring you back. A great hotel, and my only hesitation in writing this review is to alert the world to this little gem.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This seems to be the spin off of the old and well respected Apsara close to the main visitor areas of town. With only nine luxurious rooms it cannot be faulted for facilities: rooms large with every comfort and staff very helpful and friendly. However, most tourists probably want to spend time in town which means a short ferry shuttle until a seasonal bridge is built. Also with just nine rooms the dining room and bar are more useful for breakfast than a lively evening. Given the location and extra cost we preferred the Apsara in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have just returned after an extended stay at the Rive Droite
Simple, classic and comfortable are the words that come to mind.
It may be short of a room TV and Tea and Coffee making equipment in the rooms but more than makes up with a wonderfu quiet location and charming staff.
A nice breakfast beautifully served on the veranda made the start of every day a treat.
This Gem of a Boutique Hotel is one of the best that i have stayed at.

Room Tip: All rooms are equiped to the same standard. The upper rooms have a great view of the river. Treat y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We loved the Apsara Rive Driote - our room was spacious with all mod cons and very stylishly decorated - a comfortable large balcony with table and day bed overlooked the pool.

All the staff were exceptionally helpful and provided great service. Breakfast was a delight on the small terrace with italian espresso pots and fresh juice as well as cooked to order eggs and pancakes.

The hotel is on the other bank of the river - when we were there, new steps had been built and it was fairly easy to get over the other side by the hotels own boat, however a tuk tuk is available at all times if you are not so brave! Being on the other side of the river also allows you to visit the handicraft village 2km up the road by the hotels bikes.

So why doesnt it get a 5 rating? - well the website says no kids under 12 and that the pool is for guests at the rive driote only - when we were there a family with (albeit very nice!) small children staying and guests from the Apsara were using the pool - OK it is low season, however at one point there was no room for us round the pool as it is fairly small - so we would have saved the dosh, stayed at the Apsara and used the rive droites pool if we had known this!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsaraRiveDroite, Owner at The Apsara Rive Droite, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank-you for your comments. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the children around the pool which I understand is particularly irritating if the hotel advertises a "no children policy" which we do.
I understand that you checked in at short notice and as we were empty of guests that day, my manager had made an exception and allowed guests from our hotel over the river to use the pool. It was unfortunate timing and I apologise for this but normally we are strict in enforcing this rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed here in March 2010 shortly after this addition to the original Aspara Hotel opened. The hotel is a new concrete building and does not have the exterior woodwork and colonial feeling that you might expect in Luang Prabang. However it definitely has a chic charm. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. Service is low key but excellent. Breakfast was delicious but needed more variety for people like me that stayed more than a couple days. The main reason I booked this hotel was for the pool. I was expecting hot humid days in Luang Prabang and wanted a pool to relax and cool off in. As it turned out, the weather was mild during my stay and I only swam in the pool a few times. Still, I was glad it was there. Dinner across the river at the Aspara was very good. I also enjoyed cocktail hour and some meals at the Dyen Sabai, which is sort of a backpacker's restaurant closeby on the same side of the river. Street food at the night market was also very good and very cheap. One night I decided to splurge at a fancy restaurant in town (Blue Lagoon) and that was the only time I got sick from the food! Having the river between the hotel and the town was good in that it guaranteed privacy and seclusion but it was also a sort of barrier that limited spontaneous walks into town. I enjoyed riding the hotel's bikes on both sides of the river and especially enjoyed exploring the rural dirt roads and small shops on the hotel's side. During my stay, I spent one night at an elephant training camp and the hotel graciously let me keep my bags in my room and did not charge me for that night. Overall a very positive experience which I would recommend to people seeking quiet and privacy and not traveling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara Rive Droite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara Rive Droite

Property: The Apsara Rive Droite
Address: Ban Phan Louang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Apsara Rive Droite 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamorous rooms, all with their own veranda or terrace. Connected to the town centre by our own boat, the Apsarian Queen, it’s easy to get right into the heart of town. You can spend the morning going to the temples, shopping or just exploring the side lanes and an afternoon in luxurious idleness by the pool. We also have bicycles and our own tuk-tuk available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Apsara Rive Droite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Rive Droite Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing