We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Apsara Rive Droite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Apsara Rive Droite
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We will be back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

This was a highlight of our trip to Laos. The Apsara Rive Droite was simply beautiful in every way. The rooms, pool, service and food were all of a high standard and the design elegant and serene. Our rooms were cleaned and serviced several times a day. The bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed sitting on our balcony reading or having a drink. Access to town was by boat (lots of steps each side, easily doable) or walking around to the pedestrian bridge which was pleasant and interesting. Excellent management and lovely staff who genuinely could not do enough for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return if in Luang Prabang again. Another plus is it is a 5 minute walk from Dyen Sabai restaurant which is well worth eating at. We watched the alms giving ceremony from our door and though it was a much smaller scale than across the river it was beautiful and we could also be quite unobtrusive .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedombird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have stayed for a happy birthday at the Apsara Rive Droite and we enjoyed the place a lot. The location is great and you have easy access to Luang Prabang by walking. The boat service is great. As there are not so many rooms the place is quiet and offers a very private atmosphere. The pool is great and the staff pays attention. The rooms are well furnished and offer all ammenities. The price is ok maybe a bit high but compared to other places in town it is reasonable. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sturmsegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Albeit now six months since we stayed, I still think back to a magnificent 5 night stay at the Apsara Rive Droit. From the staff, to the beautifully appointed rooms, and the great view from the enormous balcony, to the small attention to detail they provide at breakfast (which is one of the best I've had anywhere in the world), this is a fantastic place to stay when in Luang Prabang, if you're looking for a little luxury.
Luang Prabang is an easy place to navigate by foot or bike (which they have for free use for guests), and the Rive Droit, although on the other side of the river, is easily accessed via the foot bridge or by the hotels free boat that is at your disposal to take you across the river (keep in mind that you're up for a bit of a climb up and down the hill from the river, which would be very difficult if injured or disabled), for the most part of the day.
The other thing that surprised us about the hotel, was when walking the main street of luang prabang, we found a lot of the tours on offer quite expensive, and were dependent on other people participating in the tours (ie if you and your partner want to go to the water falls and no one else is, then the price is huge, but gets cheaper if you have more people going)....We were a little put off by this, as we prefer to do things in our own time, so on returning to the hotel, we just enquired with them to see what it would cost to organise the sightseeing through them.... I was astounded when they said they could organise the tours with a private driver (or private boat when heading to the buddha caves) to take us when we wanted and have as long as we wanted, all for LESS than what most of the local tour operators were asking for the bigger group tours! Just a fantastic added bonus that they didn't push, but incredibly offered when asked!
All in all, we loved the place, all the staff were magnificent and we'd stay there again without hesitation. If I'm being picky - the price is getting up there, (but if it's hot you're going to want a nice cold pool) and there are definitely cheaper, cute little boutique places to stay closer to the main part of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoneedsareason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

I stayed at the Apsara Rive Droite for 4 days and wished I could have stayed much longer. I will definitely be a return customer !

The best thing about both the Apsara and Apsara Rive Droite are the superb team of people looking after you ... and they look after you so well. They really made us feel at home and went out of their way to assist us with everything to do with the town. They were always only too willing to chat, allowing us to get to know about life in Luang Prabang.

There are only 9 rooms here which makes it a wonderfully peaceful place to stay and very much fits the peaceful and spiritual feel of Luang Prabang. The views to the town with it's many temples are so beautiful. The rooms are extremely big with wooden floors, a very comfortable bed, nice day lounge, wardrobe, well appointed bathroom, balcony with big comfortable chairs / lounge overlooking the pool and most importantly air conditioning ! The gardens are beautiful and the pool is also great and was an essential for the Laos summer heat.

The breakfasts here are also one of the best I came across in my travels and your waiter is very attentive. I was eager every morning to try the next item on the menu ! The bar / restaurant at the Apsara across the river is also superb. It was so wonderful each evening to sit back and relax in the lounges sipping away at a refreshing drink or trying their great sorbets.

The trip across the river on the boat was a great adventure (I don't do too much adventuring so don't be concerned, it was quite easy !) and really added to the experience of life in Luang Prabang with all the fisherman down at the river. The 70 or so stairs was fine considering you don't do it 100 times a day. Alternatively you can take one of the hotel push bikes across the bridge which is about a 5-10 minute ride to town. This was a great experience too, riding across the long bridge and was a great way to get around town in the heat. You can even leave the bike across the river at the Apsara and get the boat back if you don't feel like riding after a long day of exploring the town.

Pickup and dropoff to the airport was very good and prompt. Its about a 10 minute drive to the hotel and town. The team also arranged to drive us out to the nearby Kuang Si Waterfalls (about 30 minutes drive) and made us a packed lunch. The driver remained at the site with the mini-van while we explored the beautiful waterfalls for a few hours.

I would absolutely recommend the Apsara Rive Droite as a great way to experience this wonderful town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB_where2next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed for 6 nites at the Apsara Riv Droite. The best beds in Asia and wonderfull rooms. While some may not be keen on the steps and the river crossing we found that it was not a problem. Thanks to the staff for a wonderfull stay and we will return next June.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

During a week in Luang Prabang I stayed several nights at the Apsara, and then several nights here at the Rive Doite as the Apsara was fully booked. Hotel is located across the river from the main part of town. When I was here you could get the hotel boat (if you could get the staffs attention) or you could walk across the bamboo bridge (for a fee) and along to the hotel (I guess this is not an option in the wet season). The location is very quiet, apart from the afternoons when the drums from the nearby temples shatter the quiet - an amazing experience.

The hotel was quite new and I was not disappointed. Rooms are very large and nicely decorated. Beds comfortable, bathroom nice. Most rooms have a large balcony looking over the pool and river to town, very pretty. There are not too many rooms so it feels quiet and peaceful. I imagine this is easily one of the nicest places to stay in Luang Prabang. Staff are helpful, pickup from the airport very efficient, lots of nice touches.

Having said all that I would probably not stay here again - Laos is obviously not an expensive country and at up to $200 per night, as nice as this hotel is, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeingIsBelieving007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

This is an absolute treasure, wonderfully attentive staff, very comfortable rooms which have been tastefully furnished all creating an experience to be recommended - the eccentricities of the ferry only added to that experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#17 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara Rive Droite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara Rive Droite

Property: The Apsara Rive Droite
Address: Ban Phan Louang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Apsara Rive Droite 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamorous rooms, all with their own veranda or terrace. Connected to the town centre by our own boat, the Apsarian Queen, it’s easy to get right into the heart of town. You can spend the morning going to the temples, shopping or just exploring the side lanes and an afternoon in luxurious idleness by the pool. We also have bicycles and our own tuk-tuk available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Apsara Rive Droite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Rive Droite Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing