We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - book on Agoda for best rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Hotel Laos
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - book on Agoda for best rates”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Villa Treasure Hotel is a nice, clean hotel just outside of the main part of Luang Prabang. You can easily reach all of the action within a 5-10 minute walk. We did not find the location to be a problem but just wanted to justify why I didn't give them high marks for location. The hotel boasts free wifi throughout, however our room (105) did not get any wifi reception. When we asked to change rooms for this reason, the hotel was willing but could only accommodate
us in a twin room instead of a double so we elected not to move rooms. Breakfast was good with eggs cooked to order, though served outside the hotel in an open air dining area of sorts in the adjacent vacant lot. After 3 nights here we decided we would like to stay one more night and asked for the best rate available. Reception informed us that we should book through
Agoda.com as they could offer us a better rate by $8-9 for the night. We declined and spent our last night at a hotel that was $20 cheaper and in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Room 105 does not get wifi so try to avoid this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_love_to_travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
20
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Treasure Hotel Laos is located about a 15 minute walk to the night market and Main Street in Luang Prabang. The hotel road intersects with the Main Street making navigation quite easy.

The hotel arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport for $10 US. He arrived promptly and in a luxury leather clad van! We were impressed with the service and arranged the same service going back to the airport.

Check in was prompt and staff were helpful and tried to answer questions we had about the sites in town etc. the day manager has great English and the others try their best.

Our room had a double and single bed; there were cathedral wooden ceilings; basic amenities (blowdryer, robes, slippers, coffee etc, fridge but no mini bar, a/c). The room was massive with a great deal of unused space which we took great advantage of, spreading our gear about.

Breakfast was included and was found under a canopy in the garden next door. The selection was limited but included omelets to order. Coffee was good and strong!

The room was clean and the sheets crisp though there is only a single blanket on the bed. Extra blankets are available upon request and a spare was in the closet so we were warmer the second night! (Felt a bit foolish being cold the first night when there was extra blankets to be had).

The hotel offered tours with a company owned by the hotel (office was in town) and it was a great day out. Was pricey at $55US each but well worth it!

At check out the hotel held on to our bags for 6 hours as we had a late departing flight.

Although the hotel is located on a quiet little road, two of the three nights there was some loud music from a neighboring hotel. Noise is not a problem for us so it wasn't an issue. I can't say whether or not this was an anomaly but if noise is an issue you may want to investigate other reviews to see if this is a reoccurring item.

We would recommend this hotel-it's good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG-lifesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a recently built guest house with large, airy and exceptionally clean rooms. Our room had a comfy king size bed with very clean cotton sheets, in room safe, TV, AC (not that we needed it in December) and a kettle. The spacious bathroom had a large overhead shower with decent water pressure and loads of very hot water (it's the only place we've stayed in SE Asia where we had to turn the temperature down!). The room was cleaned every day to a high standard.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English, they even tracked down a thinner pillow for my wife and gave us a third blanket as it was so cold at night. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of eggs cooked to order, fresh baguettes, butter, jam, fresh fruit, fried rice, tea, coffee and fresh fruit juice.

Location was OK, it's about a ten minute walk to the night market down a quiet side street, which was fine for us but might not suit those that want to be right in the centre of town

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I came to this hotel on a group tour last month. The hotel itself is lovely! Huge spacious rooms and very clean. I got quite ill when I was there and had to stay longer, the staff were great! So helpful and looked after me well. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the main night market area which is good because it is quiet at night. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelstravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little walk from the main streets, but near to see the monks walk around at six. The rooms were so clean, had a bath and hair drier. But remember to take off ur shoes. Staff were ok, but some weren't very good, as there was a big mix up with one of our trips we had booked with them, changing times and stressing us, the manager did work it out in the end.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My two daughters and I stayed here for 4 nights. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. One of my favorite times was sitting on our porch (our room was on the 2nd floor) and enjoying mountain views. Can't be their breakfast outside on the patio, especially the fresh squeezed (and locally grown) orange juice. Our room was clean, spacious, and lovely. can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upstairs, particularly, the one room over the lobby area, has great city and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakim6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This relatively new hotel is tucked away off the main tourist trail in Luang Prabang, but not too far away that you can't walk to the tourist sites. It's wonderfully clean, spacious (the twin rooms seem to be a bit more of a squeeze) and quiet. It's the only similarly priced hotel we stayed in during our time in Laos with an actual shower head - and a great one at that! This isn't a big fancy resort by any means, and the staff is still a bit in training..but the owners are always around and willing to help. The included breakfast isn't a massive buffet, but it's enough to get you going in the morning with fruit, made-to-order eggs, fried rice and bread and jam with coffee and tea. The wifi is fast and easy to access. All in all, it's probably one of the best places for the price in LP. You can find more luxurious hotels, but because it's one of Laos top tourist cities most hotels charge a high price. I highly recommend Treasure for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevealingWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#37 of 69 in Luang Prabang
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Hotel Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Hotel Laos

Property: Treasure Hotel Laos
Address: Ban That Luang, Norasan Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Villa Treasure Hotel Luang Prabang)
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Hotel Laos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Hotel Laos is a small charming hotel with friendly staff, located in Luang Prabang City, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, declared in December 1995. It is in a peaceful area and within a 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. The hotel was originally built in 2005 by the owner Mr. Sisombat Douangvilaykeo, known as the Villa Treasure and then renovated in 2012 to become Treasure Hotel Laos. The new property features 17 well designed rooms all with private bathroom, hot and cold shower, air conditioning, in-room safety box, cable TV, minibar and free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Treasure Hotel Laos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing