We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Hotel Laos
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This place is clean and airy, we had a top floor double room with huge ceiling and lots of space, nice staff and great laundry service all contribute to a really easy stay. Only thing they could improve is breakfast but there are plenty of good places to eat in Luang Prabang so just go to one of those instead.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeMEastAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
20
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the Treasure Hotel Laos and our experience was very positive from the get-go. We were collected at the airport by Khamfun whom I believe was the manager. He and the rest of the staff of this guest-house like hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful during our stay. The room that we had was exceptionally large and very clean. There is a large garden beside the hotel at which a generous breakfast is provided. The hotel is located in a residential area, about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the city centre. We liked this because Luang Prabang is a walking/cycling town. The city itself is a bohemian gem. It is extremely laid back. There are good restaurants and watering holes throughout town. The night market in the town centre was chalk full over mostly young women vendors selling clothes and other crafts. We took two excursions outside of Luang Prabang. One was to the falls, an absolute must. This destination is unbelievably under-rated in guidebooks. We have loads of waterfalls in Canada (including Niagara) and I have never seen a falls as breath-taking. Multiple pools of emerald blue water make this site soft on the eyes. The fact that you can go in for a dip/swim makes this doubly good. The other excursion that we took was the brainchild of a guide by the name of Pon. He arranged for an air conditioned car with a driver to collect us at the Treasure Hotel Laos and with him, we visited three very small villages within 45 minutes of Luang Prabang. We stopped and walked through each village, beside basic homes on stilts and talks with the locals. Pon also educated us, in capable English, about like in Laos, past and present. I recommend you contact Pon should you like to have a guide in the Luang Prabang area. He does not yet have a web site. He can be reached by email at somphonesayasith@yahoo.com and his mobile number is 8562055082914. All in all, Luang Prabang was a nightlight of our trip, thanks to the hospitality of Khamfun and his team at the Treasure Hotel Laos and our guide Pon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent stay. Cross the street and you're in the river. Short walk to the market and nightlife, but far enough away to avoid the noise. Excellent breakfast. Arrived on motorcycles from Vientiane and they were very accommodating to secure and lock them up. Strong WiFi as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We booked here for three nights and although the rooms are clean and spacious we had expected more from this hotel and its price range (50$ per night). The shower had a lot of water but it seemed that it was only hot for less then 50 % of the time. Breakfast was included, but an egg and bread, butter and jam was it. We had a look around and found a nice hostell for less then half the price but with hot water, an unbelievable breakfast and clean rooms. So we moved after the three nights.

So no bad place, just pretty expensive for what you get.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Femmie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The main drag in Luang Prabang is a lot of fun....just rather noisy with the tourists, backpackers and the basic goings-on in an up and coming city. That's why Villa Treasure is an excellent choice for a traveler that wants to be close to the action...but also avoid the noise at night (or during the day for that matter). Great service, clean rooms, big bathrooms and an excellent breakfast. I felt very comfortable from the moment I walked in...and given I had never been to Laos, that was important.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Villa Treasure Hotel is a nice, clean hotel just outside of the main part of Luang Prabang. You can easily reach all of the action within a 5-10 minute walk. We did not find the location to be a problem but just wanted to justify why I didn't give them high marks for location. The hotel boasts free wifi throughout, however our room (105) did not get any wifi reception. When we asked to change rooms for this reason, the hotel was willing but could only accommodate
us in a twin room instead of a double so we elected not to move rooms. Breakfast was good with eggs cooked to order, though served outside the hotel in an open air dining area of sorts in the adjacent vacant lot. After 3 nights here we decided we would like to stay one more night and asked for the best rate available. Reception informed us that we should book through
Agoda.com as they could offer us a better rate by $8-9 for the night. We declined and spent our last night at a hotel that was $20 cheaper and in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Room 105 does not get wifi so try to avoid this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_love_to_travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Treasure Hotel Laos is located about a 15 minute walk to the night market and Main Street in Luang Prabang. The hotel road intersects with the Main Street making navigation quite easy.

The hotel arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport for $10 US. He arrived promptly and in a luxury leather clad van! We were impressed with the service and arranged the same service going back to the airport.

Check in was prompt and staff were helpful and tried to answer questions we had about the sites in town etc. the day manager has great English and the others try their best.

Our room had a double and single bed; there were cathedral wooden ceilings; basic amenities (blowdryer, robes, slippers, coffee etc, fridge but no mini bar, a/c). The room was massive with a great deal of unused space which we took great advantage of, spreading our gear about.

Breakfast was included and was found under a canopy in the garden next door. The selection was limited but included omelets to order. Coffee was good and strong!

The room was clean and the sheets crisp though there is only a single blanket on the bed. Extra blankets are available upon request and a spare was in the closet so we were warmer the second night! (Felt a bit foolish being cold the first night when there was extra blankets to be had).

The hotel offered tours with a company owned by the hotel (office was in town) and it was a great day out. Was pricey at $55US each but well worth it!

At check out the hotel held on to our bags for 6 hours as we had a late departing flight.

Although the hotel is located on a quiet little road, two of the three nights there was some loud music from a neighboring hotel. Noise is not a problem for us so it wasn't an issue. I can't say whether or not this was an anomaly but if noise is an issue you may want to investigate other reviews to see if this is a reoccurring item.

We would recommend this hotel-it's good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG-lifesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#37 of 69 in Luang Prabang
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Hotel Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Hotel Laos

Property: Treasure Hotel Laos
Address: Ban That Luang, Norasan Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Villa Treasure Hotel Luang Prabang)
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Hotel Laos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Hotel Laos is a small charming hotel with friendly staff, located in Luang Prabang City, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, declared in December 1995. It is in a peaceful area and within a 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. The hotel was originally built in 2005 by the owner Mr. Sisombat Douangvilaykeo, known as the Villa Treasure and then renovated in 2012 to become Treasure Hotel Laos. The new property features 17 well designed rooms all with private bathroom, hot and cold shower, air conditioning, in-room safety box, cable TV, minibar and free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Treasure Hotel Laos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing