We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, just dont leave your things around!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Hotel Laos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treasure Hotel Laos
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, just dont leave your things around!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was lovely, typical Lao style as you had to take your shoes off before going in. Rooms were good, good sized beds, had a fan and a/c in each rooms, however the a/c couldn't be left on whilst you were out so the room got quite hot. there was free wifi, however this was quite touchy and kept dropping in and out, especially in our room. One downside is that if you wanted to eat at the hotel you had to go down the rpad a little bit as this is where there kitchen was. This hotel also didnt have a pool however there was a lovely pool just round the corner which the hotel staff will give you directions too. The hotel had safety deposit boxes in the room which were handy as we could put our passports and money in them. The manager however was very condescending as we spoke to him when my friends necklace went missing, (wasnt worth much but had sentimental value), he got very frank with us and told us that we should check our room and belongings thoroughly before accusing people, eventhough we werent accusing anyone we were just making him aware.
All in all this is a lovely little hotel to stay at in a lovely town in Lao

Room Tip: If you want the room to be cold for when you come back the fan works when you take the key out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
16
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and really loved it. Firstly, the reception staff are really attentive and want to do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. They don't understand great English, but that's part of the fun.

My room was really really nice for Laos standards. Huge ceiling on the second floor, fan and for once really affective aircon! A really nice big shower, safe and TV. Free wifi was also available. There isn't a pool at this accommodation, but they offer for $9US a trip to a nearby hotel to use their very luxurious pool, with a beer/wine and an appetiser. Really recommend it!

The hotel is located very near to the centre of Luang Prabang, and is a short walk away from most places! For not a bad price, this place is a great bargain!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a huge ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This place is clean and airy, we had a top floor double room with huge ceiling and lots of space, nice staff and great laundry service all contribute to a really easy stay. Only thing they could improve is breakfast but there are plenty of good places to eat in Luang Prabang so just go to one of those instead.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeMEastAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the Treasure Hotel Laos and our experience was very positive from the get-go. We were collected at the airport by Khamfun whom I believe was the manager. He and the rest of the staff of this guest-house like hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful during our stay. The room that we had was exceptionally large and very clean. There is a large garden beside the hotel at which a generous breakfast is provided. The hotel is located in a residential area, about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the city centre. We liked this because Luang Prabang is a walking/cycling town. The city itself is a bohemian gem. It is extremely laid back. There are good restaurants and watering holes throughout town. The night market in the town centre was chalk full over mostly young women vendors selling clothes and other crafts. We took two excursions outside of Luang Prabang. One was to the falls, an absolute must. This destination is unbelievably under-rated in guidebooks. We have loads of waterfalls in Canada (including Niagara) and I have never seen a falls as breath-taking. Multiple pools of emerald blue water make this site soft on the eyes. The fact that you can go in for a dip/swim makes this doubly good. The other excursion that we took was the brainchild of a guide by the name of Pon. He arranged for an air conditioned car with a driver to collect us at the Treasure Hotel Laos and with him, we visited three very small villages within 45 minutes of Luang Prabang. We stopped and walked through each village, beside basic homes on stilts and talks with the locals. Pon also educated us, in capable English, about like in Laos, past and present. I recommend you contact Pon should you like to have a guide in the Luang Prabang area. He does not yet have a web site. He can be reached by email at somphonesayasith@yahoo.com and his mobile number is 8562055082914. All in all, Luang Prabang was a nightlight of our trip, thanks to the hospitality of Khamfun and his team at the Treasure Hotel Laos and our guide Pon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent stay. Cross the street and you're in the river. Short walk to the market and nightlife, but far enough away to avoid the noise. Excellent breakfast. Arrived on motorcycles from Vientiane and they were very accommodating to secure and lock them up. Strong WiFi as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We booked here for three nights and although the rooms are clean and spacious we had expected more from this hotel and its price range (50$ per night). The shower had a lot of water but it seemed that it was only hot for less then 50 % of the time. Breakfast was included, but an egg and bread, butter and jam was it. We had a look around and found a nice hostell for less then half the price but with hot water, an unbelievable breakfast and clean rooms. So we moved after the three nights.

So no bad place, just pretty expensive for what you get.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Femmie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The main drag in Luang Prabang is a lot of fun....just rather noisy with the tourists, backpackers and the basic goings-on in an up and coming city. That's why Villa Treasure is an excellent choice for a traveler that wants to be close to the action...but also avoid the noise at night (or during the day for that matter). Great service, clean rooms, big bathrooms and an excellent breakfast. I felt very comfortable from the moment I walked in...and given I had never been to Laos, that was important.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rama
Rama
#61 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#43 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#39 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Hotel Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Hotel Laos

Property: Treasure Hotel Laos
Address: Ban That Luang, Norasan Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Villa Treasure Hotel Luang Prabang)
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Hotel Laos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Hotel Laos is a small charming hotel with friendly staff, located in Luang Prabang City, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, declared in December 1995. It is in a peaceful area and within a 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. The hotel was originally built in 2005 by the owner Mr. Sisombat Douangvilaykeo, known as the Villa Treasure and then renovated in 2012 to become Treasure Hotel Laos. The new property features 17 well designed rooms all with private bathroom, hot and cold shower, air conditioning, in-room safety box, cable TV, minibar and free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Treasure Hotel Laos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing