We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very attractive and excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pumalin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Pumalin
Ranked #92 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very attractive and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

There is a lot of attention to design detail and construction-quality in this guest house and everything works smoothly and quietly. The staff are very welcoming although their English skills are a little weak. We intended to stay in a guest house in an old French colonial building but it soon became apparent to us that this was a better - and better-looking - option at a lower price.

$30US a night with Joma cafe nearby - ideal for a Western-style breakfast (the 'house' breakfast is pretty ordinary).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzylimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I was very happy to stumble across this place. It's almost brand new, the rooms are very nice, clean, and come with free wifi. The shower, wash room and toilet are all in separate rooms and are clean, modern and Western style. The location is almost next to the Mekong and also very close to the night market, National Museum and Phousi Hill.

The staff was very very genuinely friendly and also helpful.

The only area that could be improved would be offering free breakfast, but I don't think they have a kitchen.

A double room was $30/night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huldufolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed at the family operated Pumalin Guest House from 4th to 8th January 2010. A new but nevertheless traditional Lao building, it had just opened. The accommodation is stylish and a considerable amount of thought had been directed during its construction into making guest's stay comfortable and relaxing. I would summarise it as a 'boutique' guest house where the owner and her employees steadfastly go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. If I return to Luang Prabang, I would choose to again stay at the Pumalin Guest House.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Transcontinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Nice new guest house only opened for about a month....we found it wandering around Luang Prabang. Comes with breakfast; great air-con; great shower. Nice cable TV, too. Very convenient to the night bazaar and 100 meters to the Mekong River

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonPete1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#17 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang River Lodge
Luang Prabang River Lodge
#129 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pumalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pumalin

Property: Villa Pumalin
Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Pumalin 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Pumalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumalin Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing