We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of ancient temple area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Ranked #30 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Was in villa deux rivieres for four days. The smiling staff made you feel home. The room was impeccable with an impressive rainshower i don' have at home in the netherlands.
Will i come back? Most certainly. The hotel is situated in a quiet spot of town and overlooking a river locals swim in. Very nice!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rintje1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

With only a bit of a walk from main street you find this great hotel. For a change very nice designed rooms, mega clean and great ambiance.
Breakfast served in open lobby, freshly prepared and sufficient.
Manager Chris very friendly and helpfull man.
Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a beautiful room, but it was small. I am attaching photos but they can’t do it justice. The room was on the second level and was a stand-alone affair as was the one across from it. There was a nice view of the surrounding area from the end of the walkway leading to the room. This is a very small boutique hotel.

The hotel is located directly across the road from the Mae Kok River and there’s little to impede the view other than some open dining pavilions where food is sold at night. It’s near the end of the peninsula created by the confluence of the Mae Kok and Mekong and everything is within easy walking distance. It’s just one short block over from the main drag in the World Heritage part of town.

The bedroom had a king bed but only two regular pillows filled with loose foam. There is a nightstand with lamp on each side of the bed. Our room had one chair that we had to use for one of the suitcases. There was a plasma TV with several English speaking channels – seemed to be just movies and news. There was a closet with six wooden hangers and two drawers about 20” square and 8” deep for clothes, plus a safe. There was a ceiling fan and air conditioner that, in combination, cooled the room very quickly. The windows in the bath and bedroom were covered by wooden shutters that could be locked open. The windows were single panes of glass while the entrance doors (yes plural) had both wooden outer doors and glass inner doors. The room was far from soundproof, though noise was never an issue except for the 6 a.m. bell at a nearby monastery.

The bathroom was of decent size but no individual amenities other than a hair dryer. The soap, shower gel and shampoo/conditioner are in pump bottles. There are oversize bath towels, hand towels but no face towels (wash cloths). There was a large mirror, but the lighting wasn’t good according to my wife. A small storage shelf is located over the w/c, about 6” of vanity space on either side of the sink and a large shelf under the sink provid decent storage space for one’s toiletries. There are cotton robes and slippers. No bathtub but a relatively large (about 3’x4’) shower with good water pressure.

The accommodations were exceptionally clean though we did see very, very small ants here and there, though that’s common throughout Luang Prabang and in S.E. Asia.

Breakfast was included and is served off a menu with a number of hot and cold items. While limited, there’s no reason for anyone to go hungry here.

The hotel provided four free bottles of water per day and there was a small fridge that was primarily intended as a mini-bar but worked fine for our beverages.

I have posted photos.

I will appreciate a Yes vote if you found this review helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for a few nights and had a pleasant time. The standard sized room is a little tight for 2 people but you can sit outside on the terrace to enjoy the evening breeze. The decor was very nice, as were the toiletries and dressing gowns provided. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of breads and strong coffee. Service at all times was with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Beautifully decorated, well-managed hotel in a quiet area of LP, close to the two rivers junction (hence its name). It's not so close to the city center, but still in a walkable distance. Walking in LP is very pleasant, so it was not a problem for us. We stayed in a nice, clean room, with a large double bed. The breakfast is very tasty, with nice ambient music. The manager is Dutch, so the standard of services is above the average. The staff is very friendly too.
The only downside is that sometimes the shower was cold at night (maybe too many guests using at the same time?). Also, the Wi-Fi signal was a bit weak from the room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Beautifully styled boutique hotel with classic French/Lao finished rooms. However, the rooms are poorly sound proofed with doors with gaps in the timber and gaps in door frames and windows.  Hotel building maintenance commencing everyday (inc Sunday) at around 7am with hammering and loud banging.
* * * Management, why can't you schedule maintenance after 10am like the rest of the world's hotels do?
Service staff add to the din chaltering loudly in the central courtyard that guest rooms surround. 
Inclusive breakfast is a delight and reception staff are world class, so helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedgemeisterHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Whoever decorated the rooms has excellent taste! The rooms were extremely small, however, and even though we had asked for twin beds there was no way of separating them without moving some of the furniture out. The staff were most hospitable, although efficiency was not their strong suit. Suggestion: A checklist of items to be replaced would go a long way! For example: make sure that a double occupancy twin room has two sets of towels, glasses, etc.

The bathroom should have had a ventilator/fan extractor, as it was very humid, and some of the tiles might get mouldy in such conditions.

The hotel is fairly well located, in that it overlooks the Nam Khan River, but (as one reviewer pointed out) it's a bit far from the restaurant strip and the streets are dark at night. Nevertheless, we really felt quite safe, so this was not a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realmsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 265 in Luang Prabang
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#21 of 265 in Luang Prabang
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#13 of 265 in Luang Prabang
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 265 in Luang Prabang
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres

Address: 43/02 Kingkitsalath Rd | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £51 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel (opened April 2010 to guests) is quietly situated on the banks of the Khan River, arguably the most relaxing place on the peninsula, right in the heart of the UNESCO Heritage part of town. The rooms are stylishly decorated and offer most modern facilities. A stroll to the town main strip takes about 15 minutes. All places of interest are just outside our lobby door. Day trips can be booked at our reception or just ask us for advice. Green season promotions from April through to October, mail us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing