We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but Noisy in Early Morning (4am on)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luang Prabang River Lodge
Ranked #137 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but Noisy in Early Morning (4am on)”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This Lodge is a nice looking place, the room was fine, location good, staff fine as mentioned by others.

I thought breakfast was OK, a bit above average for the region though at $50 a night there is better value elsewhere in Luang Prabang.

The biggest negative was the noise as all the local Tuk Tuk drivers gather to eat their breakfast outside from 4 AM and rev their engines to clear the exhaust for the day or something. I checked out early because of this and so did a number of other people. As this does not appear in every review maybe TukTuk drivers gather elsewhere some days. Others also complained of the noise late into the night.

Luang Prabang is great for a visit though, and maybe the owner of this hotel could do something to save his business. Until then I suggest stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: At the back maybe quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyG998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Located a few steps from the river, and 200 meters from the city center and the night market. We had a very nice room, with a view to the river. The staff wewe very friendly and helpful, with infornation, booking and others. And not expensive. Very well recommended.

Room Tip: B04 is a corner room, with a nice view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItzikAvigur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bkk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

River lodge is a small hotel located on the road along the Mekong River, so for some rooms you can have river view. From the hotel, you can just walk to many of the city's main attractions ; Royal Palace Museum, Mount Phousi ( the highest point in the city ), some beautiful temples, night market walking street, etc. If you're interested in local life, morning fresh market is just 50 meters away, famous local coffee shop is just across the street, etc.
Staff were nice and friendly. The room is clean and ok furnishing ( for this price range).

Now, the weakness; the noises from the street- traffic, people, dog etc. Most of them went down at 11 pm and started again at 5-6 am. The bright side was it woke me up early so I had time to enjoy local activities in fresh market, monk feeding process, bike ride, local coffee sipping, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It's a first time when i travel at Luang Prabang with my favorite. We stay at Luang Prabang River Lodge for 3 nights. The hotel is beside the Mekong river and opposite at Prachaniyom coffee shop. It's easy to travel around, near morning market and night market just walk about 5 to 10 minutes. If you prefer to enter monk's alms bowl in the morning you can buy sticky rice at the hotel and then walk away for 5 minutes to the temple, easy isn't it ? And breakfast is good you can order the american breakfast, noodle, soft-boiled rice they serve with French loaf jam, butter and coffee. Everything is perfect price are reasonable, we have fun and would like to suggest to all traveler to visit the Luang Prabang River Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinny_nop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Pretty basic rooms, no safety boxes, but with everything else you might need during your days in this lovely and hiper lovable lao town.
Staff is hyper friendly and helpful, with special mention to Kam Houng who has been extra hospitable.
I have stayed 6 days during Pbee Mai (New Year) and they helped me have an unforgettable experience.
Breakfast is good, laundry perfect, clean, and the location is almost perfect: 100 mt from lovely Night Market and main street, and my room overlooked the Mekong river.
The only drawback: Internet speed in room & lobby is frustratingly low.
Highly recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this mini-hotel. Found it when tuk-tuk driver dropped us at central intersection on the way from airport. We were looking for a scooter to rent and the hotel was just across the road. So we came in and took twin room for 40 USD per night. As a side comment Laos is slightly more expensive than Thailand so such a rate should be considered as a good one for a room with all facilities in.

One thing which may be important to know about this place: it can be quite noisy outside as it faces 2 roads. Our room was located on the 1st floor in the most distant corner and there was absolutely No noise from the outside street.

As for the rest: cleanness of the room, quality of wifi, breakfast etc all was perfect. Guys from reception actually managed scooter rent for us (20 USD a day), we just picked it up at given time at the hotel and left the keys to receptionist when finished.

Really liked the attitude - all positive! Keep up furher on!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We didn't have a room booked in Luang Prabang when we arrived, so we ended up walking around the town and stopping in guesthouses to find a room. From everything we've seen, Riverlodge is a good choice in its price range. The location is great (right at the river and just a few steps from the Royal Palace), the room was fine, nothing spectacular but good enough and clean. The breakfast is good, although the coffee is not ;) Nice, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#60 of 260 in Luang Prabang
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phanthasone Guest House
Phanthasone Guest House
#40 of 260 in Luang Prabang
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#47 of 260 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#50 of 260 in Luang Prabang
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 260 in Luang Prabang
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#27 of 260 in Luang Prabang
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang River Lodge

Property: Luang Prabang River Lodge
Address: Ban Paxom Khomkong Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luang Prabang River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The houses are only 10 minutes drive from the city; very quiet atmosphere. Also providing free airport shuttle and city center shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luang Prabang River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing