We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Ranked #76 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After a 13 hour bus ride from Vientiane we were disappointed to arrive at the hotel to find the room we had already paid for wasn't available. Nor did the AC work. However, they did give us a larger room, fixed the AC, and seemed genuinely concerned with making us happy. In the end, we were quite content to be there. Its a beautiful little guest house in a great location, and it was quiet. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We originally booked to stay in the Sayo Naga Guesthouse for 2 nights, although a few days in we decided we wanted to stay longer. We booked the standard double room downstairs online and managed to stay another night in the same room, although on our last night they said they had no rooms available unless we wanted to upgrade and pay extra, which being a on a budget we didn't want to do so they agreed to move us to one of their sister hotels a short distance away (they have 2 in Luang Prabang.) On checking out they told us they would upgrade us for free to a deluxe room which was great, although the standard room was fine - nice comfy bed and good shower - the deluxe room was lovely, the room was huge with a nice bath tub and a big open balcony! We would definitely recommend this hotel, the staff were very friendly, it was close to lots of restaurants and the market and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at say, double room, 50$ a night is a lot so you might do better, service
Was decent, beside the early wake up we enjoined the stay, spent one night at the room on ground floor small and packed

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aces99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My room #1 was upstairs, in the back along the alley with a pleasant balcony. The room was very large with high ceilings, fan and air conditioning. The only drawback was that the bathroom had to remain closed with the air con on since the window in it could not be closed. Plenty of closet/storage space for a longer stay (I stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave!) This location is on a quiet street within easy walking distance to all restaurants, the street markets and Wats. Kho, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. Luang Prabang is so beautiful and my relaxing stay at Sayo Naga GH made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a downstairs room out the back and it was good value for LP.
Quiet and nice to relax outside.
No breakfast but Delilahs around the corner was great.
We found the staff friendly and it was a short walk to our favourite sunset bar overlooking the Mekong.

Room Tip: Out the back if you are on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2XKiwisTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We arrived LP really late so we stayed in one of the guesthouses near the main road. It was not very nice so we moved to Sayo Naga the next day. I really liked the room in Sayo Naga. We had one of the cheaper rooms but I found it much more suitable than the other places we had checked out before moving here. We ended up making friends with the staff in the hotel and one of their friends was nice enough to take us to their village. Overall I loved my stay here. The only disadvantage was that the van booked from the guest house to take us to Vang Vieng was really bad. We had paid for a AC van but got something which was not even comparable to a proper van. So book your transportation elsewhere. But I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supriya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good location near the river and downtown. I stayed in one of the cheapest downstairs rooms, and thought it was nicer than the much more expensive upstairs rooms with balconies. Modern bathrooms, cable TV and AC, with antique and artistic furniture. No breakfast is provided, but there is a great cafe on the main road.

Room Tip: Save your money and get a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayo River Guest House
Sayo River Guest House
#153 of 268 in Luang Prabang
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
#68 of 155 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 268 in Luang Prabang
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 268 in Luang Prabang
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo Naga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo Naga Guesthouse

Address: Vat That area, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sayo Naga Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sayo Naga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing