We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phasith Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phasith Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice. First was offered the last room downstairs. You would definitely want to avoid it. It smells and the floor was rather dirty. Dusty as well. Air con not really working well. Toilet was bearable. The service however, was relatively good. They are very helpful! Decided to give it another try after coming back from Nong Khiaw. This time we were offered a twin room upstairs. Nice and clean. Good air con. Has fridge, tv and absolutely no complaints this time. Located just behind the phousi hill. Short walk to sisavavong. Plenty of restaurants and bars around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littl3misSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
3
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Straight off the boat we followed their representative to the place. They only had a double bed and we wanted two twins. It looked lovely with a little back porch even. When they couldn't accommodate our needs, they helped us find another option for the night based on the fact that we would come back the next day and get a room upstairs with two beds. We went through the trouble to repack our bags and wait until noon to come back for the promised room. After another half hour of waiting in the lobby, the manager tells us he can't give us the upstairs room since he now has an online booking. I was so pissed off and reminded him that I even offered to give him the money yesterday to secure the room. This is not the way to do business. We had to walk around in the rain and find yet another option.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHY1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place is behind the phousi hill - a bit more local and less touristy place. However, being a tourist we had to walk 10 mins around the hill to get to the main street.
The rooms have a nice concept - but maintainance is poor which was a shame as I could imagine it could have been a real nice place. We stayed in 1st floor room with a private garden but between the bugs and the smell (fertilizer type....) we did not spend any time there. Hot water was decent but the shower was facing the nice wooden door and did not have a shower curtain so I was splashing water constantly over it.
My main concern was the bed which was hard - for those who like hard beds this will be a great place but for me it meant sleepless nights.
Wifi was a bit sketchy so I had to go to other cafe to use it. There is a microwave in the common space which was infected by ants so we could not use it.
All in all it was not an uncomfortable stay but could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdmKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed here for one night. Overall we were very happy with our choice and felt we got good value. Negotiated down from 120,000 to 100,000 kip for a double (a single person with us got the same room for 80,000 kip) after the guy was desperate driving around the streets looking for customers. The room itself was very nice, twin singles, fan, ac, mini-fridge. Stayed in the corner back room (#7) on the second floor overlooking the river. Having peeked into a couple of the other rooms, this is by far the nicest room with lots of windows and a cute balcony with a nice view of a river. Our only complaints was that there was no tv, the water wasn't super hot, and the manager was too aggressive. When we were going out to breakfast at 9am he told us 'we had to tell him now' whether we were checking out that day (BS). Anyways, other than issues with him, we were very happy with the hotel and would have stayed longer. The place is a little bit of a walk from the main street, but we thought the place was well worth it.

Room Tip: Corner room #7 was by far the best room of the ones we saw. Beautiful balcony overlooking river gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Upon arriving in Luang Prabang, Phasith Guesthouse was the first place we looked at, and after comparing it to a few others, it was by far the better value for money, with the most comfortable double bed we’ve stayed in for months!

The rooms are all very lovely, spacious and each has a balcony or terraced area no matter what floor you’re staying on. We got a room for 80,000kip (£6.50ish) and that had air-con, but if you are on a tighter budget, you can opt for a fan room for 70,000kip (£5.50ish). But after wandering the streets of this gorgeous, yet tiny city air-con we felt was a necessity!

The staff here are so lovely and friendly, a little forgetful at times, but their charm makes up for it, and if you like, you can all eat together so you feel like part of a big family, which was really nice.

We even got the opportunity to teach English with Ken, a staff member, at a local school just outside of the city, AMAZING experience and something we wouldn’t have done without them. So if you do decided to stay here, ask Ken all about it and he will gladly take you up there for a couple of hours, something the children really appreciate and will thank you countless times for!

And they even got me a birthday cake for my birthday as a cute surprise!

Fantastic people and a fantastic place, there really is nowhere else to stay and we spent 6 nights here, even though we only planned a maximum of 2.

Room Tip: Air-con is definately the way to go, for about 80p extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

since i went back to visited loung phabang again, the owner of the guesthouse is really good help, his name kola he's a really friendly and have a good service, and the room is very clearness than before, and still look nice.

Room Tip: all the room have a good view and no nois
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chang99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent a lot of time searching for accommodation in Luang Prabang before we finally plumped for Phasith Guest House.

The guest house is supposed to be quite new although it didn’t look like a recent construction. Nevertheless, our room was spacious, had good air-conditioning, a television with a choice of English language channels, and, best of all, a balcony with views of the Nam Khan River. The guest house was also quiet despite being close to a number of restaurants including the recommended House which serves good breakfasts.

There were some negatives. The room looks quite clean at first but on closer inspection there are areas that have not been cleaned for a while. Also, while staff were friendly we sometimes had to remind them several times in order to get them to carry out tasks. Furthermore, we suspect that maintenance is not a high priority as some repairs were needed despite this supposedly being a new property.

At the moment this is a good place to stay if you are not too fussy about cleanliness or you can persuade the staff to clean to a proper standard. We would probably have stayed for the duration of our time in Luang Prabang but decided to move when we found out all rooms had been booked for a few days hence.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Luang Sokxay
Villa Luang Sokxay
#49 of 136 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 257 in Luang Prabang
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jing Land Hotel
Jing Land Hotel
#115 of 257 in Luang Prabang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Merry Lao III
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Mer...
#16 of 136 in Luang Prabang
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#28 of 257 in Luang Prabang
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#49 of 257 in Luang Prabang
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phasith Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phasith Guesthouse

Property: Phasith Guesthouse
Address: Phousi Road | Ban Aphay, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phasith Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Phasith Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing