We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Lotus Place
Nearby Hotels
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
US$460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
363
65
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
65
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning marketguest housewat maigreat locationair conhis brotherbanana pancakesmorning foodfood marketsmall lanealms giving ceremonysticky ricewould highly recommend staying hereyour doorstepcentral locationgreat showernational museum
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had two stays at this hotel during feb 2012 and enjoyed both. Two different rooms, one on the ground floor at the rear and the other on the first floor front. The second room was more spacious however the first was quieter. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a perfect location no more than 50 meters from the night market and within easy walking distance of all attractions and restaurants. The morning market is in the street at the front of the hotel everyday, however the noise did not interrupt our sleep. Generally the street is very quiet. The aircon in both dreams was great and the showers were always hot with plenty of pressure. Staff were attentive and friendly. No doubt one could find much more impressive accommodation, however the price was fine and we were happy with what got.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back, however we enjoyed the upstairs front with the outlook over the street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estaban57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Luang Prabang at this guesthouse: location is good, and the quality of the room and bathroom excellent. Water pressure in the bathroom is so good, we almost couldn't believe it after enjoying many Asian showers :-) Only downside is no communal area except for a little courtyard (also breakfast is not served).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorahAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

So we arrived at Golden Lotus guest house only to find that they had double booked us and knew about it well in advance. They had booked us a room at the guest house down the road instead (read my other reviews and stay here instead!) for 1 night and then we would spend our other night back at Golden Lotus. So far this was OK, a bit of a pain but at least we had somewhere to stay.

Anyway, so we return back to Golden Lotus for our second night to find a message from the owner saying that they are now not offering breakfast with our room. I find this very odd that it suddenly just disappeared since when I booked they offered me the option of a room with or without breakfast. Finally we make it up to our room thinking that after all the mess-ups that surely the room would be beautiful (remember this is a mid range hotel by Laos standards so it should be fairly nice), but only found a very dirty bathroom and a very average room. The walls were also extremely thin and we didn't get any sleep because the house next door was having a party until 3am.

Maybe if they hadn't screwed us around so much I would give it a higher rating but for the overall experience I was not impressed! Go for somewhere more reliable - it's really not worth your time or money to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very clean rooms in a very convenient location, only a few steps to the night market and many restaurants in the area. Walking distance to temples and the rivers. The only problem is the noise early in the morning. A local produce market sets up around 5:30 am just outside of the hotel and can be annoying if you are looking for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: try rooms at the back of the house, it may be less noise in the morning
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAAG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This place was slightly more expensive (£15 for a twin) than most other guest houses in the surrounding area, but for us it was worth it. Rooms were of a decent size, as was the bathroom - both very clean. Good air con, tv and free wifi. Perfectly located off of the main street which plays host to the night market. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews