We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Golden Lotus Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Lotus Place
Ranked #2 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed at the Golden Lotus for four nights back in October. After arriving by boat I looked at a number of guesthouses, but after seeing the room at the Golden Lotus I was happy to spend more for the room than planned. The main reason was the spacious, very clean room, a comfortable double bed, TV with lots of channels for relaxing after a hard day sightseeing (and able to watch to Champions League football at night), and a well sized bathroom.

The other great thing about the guesthouse is the location. It is just off Sisavangvong Road, opposite of Wat Mai. The morning market is actually outside of the guesthouse, and I could look at the market from my room (no noise issue either). The night market is literally a 1 minute walk away, the night food market is 3 minutes away, and lots of restaurants and bars are all nearby. You really cannot ask for a more central location.

The staff is the final advantage of the Golden Lotus – they were always trying to help, provide recommendations, and also enjoyed a chat with the guests.

Other amenities include free tea facilities and a shared fridge in the lobby, the usual WiFi (with good connection on the first floor). They offer laundry service, and can arrange bus tickets as well. Finally, there was always someone in the lobby, even during the night (sleeping in the lobby), so you could come back to the guesthouse at any time (though they will remind you to be quiet so no other guests are disturbed by late comers).

Overall, it is a great guesthouse with a perfect location, and a fantastic value for the off-season price I paid. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    55
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
148
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This little guesthouse is down a tricky to find alley way that is filled with women selling fresh veg in the morning and clear apart from a street vendor cooking up a buffet at night. The nightmarket is a 30 second walk away so the location is perfect.

They have obviously done some renovation work here recently as there are new wooden floors and ceilings. The rooms are basic but come with flat screen TVs and are very clean. The wi-fi works well at reception but for it to work in the room we did need to place ourselves in the corner. The shower always had hot water but the wet room set up did mean that you had to be careful about overflow if you like long showers, not a big problem, just something to watch out for.

The staff were very sweet even though they didn't speak very much English. It wasn't an issue for us as we had everything we needed and got our laundry done too.

Overall, if you want a basic place to stay in the middle of the action (and with a peaceful night sleep) then stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EilisNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This new (or recently remodelled) guest house has smart rooms and excellent plumbing. Laos doesn't seem to do maintenance - things are fixed only when they're seriously broken - so staying at a new place is a good idea. Excellent central location next to Wat Mai, in a nameless alley but with a sign on the main street. Good value too.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook Wat Mai
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hotel is very clean and comfortable; close to Royal Palace and Museum. Staff was helpful and friendly. At $25/night, not the cheapest option, but worth the price. This hotel is one of the options offered at the "tourist desk" when you arrive at the airport (They have a binder with offered guesthouses from which to choose). All-in-all not a bad option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fubijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Feel so comfortable to stay there during my visit for 4 nights staying in this guest house. The room very clean but looks like first floor only room number 1 have wifi signal as i unitially checked in room 3 for the first night and found wifi signal intermitten whenever i closed the door. Most of the time you are not able to get the connection. Second day i asked to change to room number 1 and they changed for me. The location is perfect as morning local market just right infront of the guest house and you are able to reach the hmong night market within 3 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KianMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We've stayed here twice. Great location down a narrow road close to the night market and next door to a massage place.. Quiet until the morning market commences, but not enough to be bothersome at all. Room clean and bright. Shower hot. Free wifi that's available on the first floor. Staff always pleasant. In fact, 27 year old Sai even invited us to visit his family who are sticky rice farmers one kilometer away on the other side of the Mekong river.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor if having wifi access in your room is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This guest house is located in the center of Luang Prabang but therefore still quiet. Our room was bright, clean and nicely furnished. In the morning we heard some noises from the morning market which is right in front of the door, but that did not really trouble us.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, but no real breakfast offered. However as there are lots of cafés nearby which offer breakfast it is not a big deal to find some food in the morning. Besides there is the morning market where you can buy “Lao breakfast” from the locals.
The staff very helpful. They helped us organizing the bus trip to the north of Laos which was very kind. We also used the laundry services which went well and surprisingly fast.
Overall, we can really recommend this place, as the value for money is excellent and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 264 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lotus Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lotus Place

Property: Golden Lotus Place
Address: 123 Pakham Village | South Wat Mai, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Lotus Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right next to Wat Mai Temple and just a 2-minute walk from the famous Night Market on Sisavangvong Road, Golden Lotus Place offers accommodation with free WiFi in all areas. Simply furnished, the rooms come with a flat-screen TV, a personal safe and a fan. There is also a refrigerator. The private bathrooms include a hot shower, hairdryer and free toiletries. For guests to experience the local culture, Golden Lotus Place offers a free morning alms ceremony in the morning and a free morning market tour. For those who want day-trips around the city, the helpful on-site staff can also arrange this for an extra charge. Luggage storage services are also provided. Local dining outlets can be found within a 2-minute walk It is a 5-minute walk to National Museum, Mekong River and Phousi Mountain. It is just a 10-minute drive to Luang Prabang Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lotus Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing