We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, fancy food!”
Review of Sala cafe - CLOSED

Sala cafe
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sala café restaurant, Luang Prabang, Laos
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location, fancy food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stumbled across this place after learning that the restaurant we wanted to go to is closed Sundays.

We sat outside near the river and it was really pretty with all the lanterns.

The staff were very polite and paid attention to detail.

We had 2 "kir", 2 mains and 2 desserts.

The food was great but the servings were quite small for the price (which strangely was the same price as dessert). I think the owner should perhaps increase the price and portions of mains as this is what people would expect from a nice classy restaurant like this.

I'd definitely recommend going here for lunch or dinner or even just drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“very pleasant place”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We found ourselves walking past this restaurant after a delicious dinner at the Coconut Garden restaurant & it looked so inviting that we decided to have an after dinner drink. The staff could not have been more helpful & prompt in their service. Can't comment on the food, but loved sitting on the verandah on this balmy evening. Will definitely go back for a meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sala Cafe: lovely, calming and restful”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Four stars for the views and simply wonderful place to sit think and write. I however did not order from the menu except for tea and toast. Service there was very accommodating and professional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Tables are very pleasant, the staff smiling as well as the very nice French boss.
The food is varied and good with Asian and European dishes there, I recommend particularly the chocolate fondant.
Very good memory(souvenir) of our regular passage in this establishment with a terrace along the river Nam Khan River.
Cyril et Patrick

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyril78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i like”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Good food good location amazing staffs
Enjoy with lao food and good service
Overlooking the river
Good choice of tea and wine

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cartoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing