We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in Luang Prabang”
Review of Khammany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khammany Inn
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in a dorm room at Khammany for three nights and had a fabulous time. I stayed in a six bed ensuite mixed dorm which was well cleaned plus there were extra showers and toilets on the same level. The location is good, it's only about a 5 min walk from where the night market starts. The staff are absolutely lovely and always on hand to help sorting out trips to the waterfall or onward travel. If you're lucky, you'll get to meet their mascot Lana! The wifi is a bit patchy at times, but I always found one spot that had good connectivity. There's a common area at the front to meet people and a TV area in the back if you're looking for a chill night. Breakfast is included! Happy travels and have fun in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovelanapuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Note: I stayed in a dorm room.

Facilities:
- Shower/ Toilet: Filthy, the shared toilets were covered in mud and hair. It was quite far from the room. I saw them cleaning it by simply throwing a bucket of water. It was therefore very dirty. The shower had reasonable water pressure and was warm but not hot.

- Bed: Ok. The sheets were not immaculate but it was ok.

- Air Con: There was a non-functioning air-conditioning unit in the room. It was boiling hot everyday and only one fan to cool down all ten people.

- Internet: The internet was incredibly slow and constantly kept crashing. It took around 3 minutes to run a simple Google search.

Services:
- Breakfast: No breakfast included

- Security: Terrible. When I checked in, there was a guy using a screwdriver trying to open a locker. I wasn’t sure if he was supposed to be there or nor, but when I told reception, they asked him he stayed there and he said no, and then she didn’t ask him to leave, she just walked off. Shocking.

- Staff: Incompetent. They had a lot of over-bookings and nobody seemed to know if anyone had paid for rooms or not. A complete mess, mainly due to the fact that the internet is so slow that they have no idea about who has and has not booked a room.

Other:
- Cleanliness: It was dirty, humid and not very nice.

- Location: Good. It is not in the middle of town, but a 10 minute walk to the centre.

- Price: I paid 40,000 Kip a night for a dorm room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EternalWrath26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The room was really large, with aircon and ensuite. Very clean and great value for money as it included breakfast.
The manager was very friendly and booked us bus tickets to Vang Vieng (despite eventually ending up on a bus not minibus- probably not his fault).
Location is a bit further out than most places but for the price, the 10minute walk, still made it good value. Can't speak for the dorm rooms, but heard from friends they were a little smelly but otherwise fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

On one hand I really loved this place and ended up staying 4 nights. But on the other hand on the last night I got som suspicious bites (bed bugs?) on my arm...

The hostel was really nice with a nice common area as you enter, a good vibe and small but nice and airconed rooms during night time. But sadly as I recieved the bites my last night I won't be returning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked a superior 6 bed dorm. It was a small room, with dubious cleanliness (reports from other guests that the sheets are not always changed between guests.) air con only turned on at 8pm and not control for changing temp. Two (staff) men walked in without knocking onto what was at the time an all girl room (and one girl only just grabbed a towel in time). facilities not explained (I learn from other reviews that there was breakfast). No town info available. Patchy wi-fi.

Some of the staff were very cheerful though, and the atmosphere is certainly open and welcoming. First ever problem with mozzies in 10 months of travelling in SE Asia. Had much much better hostels for this money.

Room Tip: Go to a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSRScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Cheerful staff girl saved the day. Other employees were somewhat short and even lied when asked directly over e-mail if they had a microwave (maybe they thought I meant toaster oven, which is where they wanted me to make my oatmeal). Location pretty good, handicraft market nice. Chill town but not much going on. Heard waterfall is great but skipped to go to VV earlier. Rooms subpar and sheets hadn't been changed. However, each bed had a socket and light so that was nice. Lockers, too. Wifi worked great!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived with the daily stream of backpackers after the two day Mekong cruise. Knowing it would be crowded, we had booked our four-bed superior garden view room in advance. However, when we arrived, we were kindly informed that the room had unfortunately been given to other guests. No big deal we thought, as they offered us two separate double rooms instead. While one of the rooms seemed to be okay and clean, the other one, which was located in the basement of the hostel next to the dorms was certainly not. I had never been in a room before that smelled so tremendously moldy. There was no way we could have slept in there. Besides, it was dark and had the some kind of AC generator in front of the window, which was pretty loud. In the end two of our friends decided to look for another hostel and found a very nice one with an even nicer room just around the corner for the same price (forgot the name though).

What was positive about the hostel was the friendly staff, the free and rich breakfast and the location, just about a 10 min. walk from the center. If you book it, make sure you get one of the nicer rooms on the upper floors. In case you don't do the Mekong cruise before, make sure you arrive until afternoonish to avoid the crowds of people that arrive around 6-7pm, as you may then freely choose the nicer rooms at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Tony Central Hostel
Tony Central Hostel
#4 of 159 in Luang Prabang
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabai Sabai
Sabai Sabai
#23 of 159 in Luang Prabang
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
#41 of 265 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The World Guest House
The World Guest House
#56 of 159 in Luang Prabang
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 265 in Luang Prabang
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vongprachan Guesthouse
Vongprachan Guesthouse
#16 of 159 in Luang Prabang
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khammany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khammany Inn

Address: Phothisarath Road | BanThatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £13 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Internationally staffed hostel located on the main street in Luang Prabang, only a 5 minute walk from the night market and 15 minutes from Utopia, the airport and bus stations. We have completely refurbished Dorm rooms as of September 2014. These dorms range from 6 bed female en-suite, 10 bed, 14 bed and 16 bed(has a balcony). All beds come with a locker, a power point and reading light and come standard with air condition and WiFi. All guests get a delicious free breakfast. We have a range of private rooms, twin, double, triple. All come with mini-fridge, A/C, Mosquito net, TV with Cable channels, toilet and shower with hot water. We have just opened up a brand new movie room(with A/C) featuring up to date movies and TV shows, the perfect way to relax after the party atmosphere of Vang Vieng and Thailand. We do daily, affordable tours to Kuang Si Waterfall and our knowledgeable staff can help you plan the rest of your trip around Laos and Asia. We also supply bus tickets and tours, laundry service, towel rental, guest computer and printer(free to use) etc. We have a puppy named 'Lana', who can get a little hyper, but if you're a dog person, you will love her friendly, playful nature. Please keep this in mind when booking if you have a fear of dogs, as Lana is always around the reception area and 'playful' is just a code word that she will jump up on you. She is very friendly and has never bit anybody, she will however enjoy chewing on your bracelets. We have 24 hour reception so you don't need to worry about security, or been locked out at night. If your feeling artistic, we would love you to leave your mark on the hostel and we can supply paints and other benefits for anybody willing to put in a little bit of time and effort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Khammany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing